We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Resort, But Avoid Cooking Class” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kerala Bamboo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kerala Bamboo House
Ranked #35 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort, But Avoid Cooking Class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We would give this resort an excellent rating if it were not for the lousy cooking class. The bamboo cottages are charming, well-made, clean and most of them face a truly lovely garden. To top it off, the resort is right on the edge of the cliff where it takes only minutes to walk to the beach as you go by several cliff-side restaurants and vendor stands. A really magical setting. I have taken several cooking classes (Mexico, Vietnam, Thailand, and 2 others in India). This was definitely very inferior. The teacher, if you want to call him that, did not teach at all. He merely barked out directions for me to chop veggies without ever telling me what I was cooking. The kitchen was really drab and dirty. The food in the end was very tasty, but the experience was really awful

Room Tip: Do not take the cooking class!!! We were there 4 days and talked to several other people who took th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    42
    29
    11
    13
See reviews for
13
55
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

I stayed there a couple of years ago, and going through the pictures on Tripadvisor, it reminded me of this beautiful place! Kerala Bamboo House has an excellent value for money, the location is paradise-like, a few steps away from the beach and central Varkala. Very quiet location. Rooms were basic, but clean, big enough and comfortable. They offered Ayurvedic treatments, though not the best received, the staff was very nice, and the Ayurvedic food, of high quality. Would defenitely go back to stay there!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiafromMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
141 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed at Kerala Bamboo House for one week in July. The room in which we stayed was basic but did the job very well. The room was spacious and tidy when we arrived.

The only quarms that I had with this place was that we didn't have fresh towels given to us and our room wasn't cleaned once whilst we were there. Perhaps we should have asked?

There were plenty of places to eat and drink along the coast - all within walking distance. The beach was also very close - maybe 5 mins max walk.

As it was low season there was not much going on at Kerala Bamboo House but none the less we had an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahSchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Stayed in Kerala Bamboo House for 6 nights in February. We loved the place. Our bungalow was very clean, the staff cleaned the room 3 times during 5 days! Interior of the room is quite basic, but all necessary is just there - mosquito net, fan, mirror etc. It would be better if there were air-conditioner as well, but actually I was more afraid of staying without air-con then the reality was. Despite not having air-con the sleep was very good. As there was a mosquito net we were able to keep windows open during the night. The staff readily provided us anti-mosquito tablets.
The bed was comfy. The bathroom was clean and with hot water 24h. No (bed)bugs, no mould - perfectly clean.
It was a real pleasure to sit on the terrace in the morning enjoying sea-view (we had a sea-view from our bungalow) or drinking a cocktail in the evening. The staff cleaned the terrace from sand every morning.
There was only one disturbing thing - the walls of the bungalow are quite thin so every noise from the adjoining room was hearable. It got a little noisy then a family with 2 little children stayed next door. Fortunately the manager asked them to keep more quiet in the evenings.
There were no breakfast included but it was not problem at all as there are plety on very nice places to eat along the cliff. We liked Kerala Coffee House and several others. It was even good not to have included breakfast because it allowed us to try different places.
Location is very good - right on the cliff with steps down to the beach nearby. Sea-view available from the garden and some bungalows.
I liked their ayurvedic massage. The girl (unfortunately don´t remember her name) was very nice and skillful. I slept like a baby after massage.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got everything we needed in few minutes.
We absolutely enjoyed our stay in Kerala Bamboo House and would like to stay there again if in Varkala.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JullyTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

After staying in a homestay in Varkala we spent two nights at Kerala Bamboo House, just to stay somewhere more beachy for a while. It was low season when we were there so prices weren't that bad, although no food included so more expensive than elsewhere. The huts themselves are basic and clean, ours had an open- air bathroom at the back, nice for a sunny shower! Mosquito net over the bed and a fan meant we could keep the door open overnight and we were actually able to sleep considering the heat. It's less personal than other places we stayed but the staff were around if you needed anything - we quite enjoyed the time to ourselves. Very good location for the beach, so if you're not expecting 5* accommodation (they are bamboo huts of course) then this is a good choice in Varkala to be in amidst everything.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eshort22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 km away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#21 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.5 km away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.2 km away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#19 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.0 km away
Savithri Inn
Savithri Inn
#18 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.6 km away
Zion Villa Beach View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerala Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerala Bamboo House

Property: Kerala Bamboo House
Address: On The Cliff, Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Price range (per night): ₹ 654 - ₹ 3,665
Hotel Class:2 star — Kerala Bamboo House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra so you can book your Kerala Bamboo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kerala Bamboo House Hotel Varkala
Kerala Bamboo Hotel
Kerala Bamboo House Varkala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing