We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
13
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
13
2
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2019

We stayed for 4 nights at Bay Cliff Cottages. There are tow cottages, and we were the only guests at this time. The owner and people who work there are very friendly and welcoming. The cottage is lovely and clean with all amenities required. Nice comfy bed, ceiling fan, AC, kitchen, tables, sun longer outside and great bathroom with shower.

The owner arranged a taxi for us from Kochi to Bay Cliff Cottages. When we arrived it was late at night and as we hadn't eaten they arranged for take out food to be brought to us.

You can have what you want made for you for breakfast. Kerala dosa's were so nice! They bring it to your cottage at your requested time. We also ate our evening meal there, which they cooked for us, on two nights.

The cottages are about a 30min walk along the cliff road to the centre where the restaurants are on the north cliff. You can also walk there on the road which was a nice walk in the daytime. We walked back along the cliff at the night, but just made sure we had a torch!

The cottages are set in a nice coconut plantation, which is great for wildlife spotting.

They also arranged a tai to take us to Trivandrum airport last at night to catch our early morning flight. It is around 1hour 20 mins from the airport.

Great stay, would recommend!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lauraj_mcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 April 2019

We had a fabulous 8 days staying in Jasar's villa. It was roasting hot and the air con worked perfectly. There is a lovely verandah, kitchen area and it is very spacious and clean. It is located a good 40 min walk from the town but a gorgeous walk across the cliff top to get there is you wish or arange a tuk tuk.

The service though is the most exceptional part.

Jamil is the manager and every request was met with a 'no problem'.

He arranged two fabulous dinners, whatever we asked for was provided, massages, tuk tuks, laundry, cookery, tailoring, money changing. Everything was done with a smile and was reasonable.

His groundsman was delightful, little english but so keen to please.

We had such a special time here and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone who would like to experience true Keralan hospitality.

Thanks so much, Naomi and Sally

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Naomi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2018

We had the large cottage on the premises and enjoyed it a great deal !
The caretaker was mostly around to bring us tasty spicy or non spicy south-indian breakfast , help arrange rickshaws , clean the room daily and work on the surrounding land.
We met with the owner , Jasar Hakeem , a couple of times ; he is a warm , helpful man .
His grandparents owned the coconut-farm , after years of no interest from siblings he took over a couple of years ago and started renting out cottages.
You can feel he grew up here .
When we were there some coconuts were harvested by guys climbing the tall trees .
We saw weasels , squirrels , lots of birds and the nearby temple provides you of the occasional drumming and songs , loved it .

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Iris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

We have just spent 7 days at bay cliffs cottages we stayed in the royal cottages which had a huge bedroom and bathroom it is set back overlooking the cliffs about a 5 minute walk to two small beaches the main beach is a 10 minute tuk tuk ride away and very beautiful the owner of the cottages is avery kind man who speaks excellent English I would highly recommend this accommodation for people looking for a quiet spot but within easy access of great beaches and restaurants

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank simonpalmer446
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Bay Cliff is located on the Varkala Cliff with a good view of the horizon. This place offers a comfortable stay and is away from the Varkala town. Its an ideal getaway for a relaxing holiday, to laze around and do nothing. There is no in house Restaurant so food has to be ordered from outside. There are no nearby eat-outs as well.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank viveksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews