We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
13
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
13
2
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2018

We had the large cottage on the premises and enjoyed it a great deal !
The caretaker was mostly around to bring us tasty spicy or non spicy south-indian breakfast , help arrange rickshaws , clean the room daily and work on the surrounding land.
We met with the owner , Jasar Hakeem , a couple of times ; he is a warm , helpful man .
His grandparents owned the coconut-farm , after years of no interest from siblings he took over a couple of years ago and started renting out cottages.
You can feel he grew up here .
When we were there some coconuts were harvested by guys climbing the tall trees .
We saw weasels , squirrels , lots of birds and the nearby temple provides you of the occasional drumming and songs , loved it .

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Iris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

We have just spent 7 days at bay cliffs cottages we stayed in the royal cottages which had a huge bedroom and bathroom it is set back overlooking the cliffs about a 5 minute walk to two small beaches the main beach is a 10 minute tuk tuk ride away and very beautiful the owner of the cottages is avery kind man who speaks excellent English I would highly recommend this accommodation for people looking for a quiet spot but within easy access of great beaches and restaurants

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank simonpalmer446
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Bay Cliff is located on the Varkala Cliff with a good view of the horizon. This place offers a comfortable stay and is away from the Varkala town. Its an ideal getaway for a relaxing holiday, to laze around and do nothing. There is no in house Restaurant so food has to be ordered from outside. There are no nearby eat-outs as well.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank viveksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Don't get it wrong - the "Cottages" mean exactly two cottages at the time of writing it. The third one is just being built. This means you need to book ahead in season. Take the cottage further from the gate as it has much better view towards the garden with palm trees and the sea seen from the cliff. The cottage itself is a treat, it's really large with huge bed on eleveated floor and the bathroom size is a record on its own. It's got everything you need - aircon, wifi, fridge, kettle, amenities, not to mention delicious local breakfast. It's little bit off the beaten track and you need around 20 min to walk to main Varkala beach. The host, Jasar, is super-friendly and will help you with everything you may need. Just next to this spot there is Samsara resort where you can have a good and quiet dinner just on the seashore.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tomasz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We booked to stay at Bay Cliff Cottages over Christmas and ended up staying at the cottage for 10 days. It was wonderful! The cottages are to the north of Varkala cliff which is perfect for escaping the busy bars and restaurants. Jasar and the caretaker were very helpful and organised a scooter for us as soon as we arrived which I would definitely recommend for going to and from the beach. You can also get a tuk tuk and book through them. Every morning we were served traditional Indian breakfasts, our favourite being the curried eggs, but you can have a western breakfast if you'd prefer. The location of he cottages is stunning and we spend many hours relaxing in the hammocks enjoying the peace and quiet. I definitely recommend staying here!!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank VerityM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews