We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$72
Agoda.com$65
eDreams$65
Tripadvisor$65
StayForLong
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
105
10
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
105
10
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful property home away from home varkala beach caretaker homestays fan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2019 via mobile

Lovely little homestay away from the busy Varkala area. Beautiful quiet beach 5 mins walk away. Gorgeous spacious rooms nicely decorated, with high ceilings and a lovely outdoor shower with flowers growing around it. The breakfasts and dinners were beautifully presented and very tasty. Sharma is a great host as were Nebin and Bema too. There’s not much else around the area as in restaurants etc but Varkala cliff is probably a half hour walk away along the beach then a cheap rickshaw trip back at night.
I highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SueD580
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2019 via mobile

Outstanding! We enjoy from the first moment. This is the place there you can relax. Wonderful staff, breakfast served on your own veranda, short walk to a uncrowdy beach, wonderful garden, quite and away from trafic. Tasteful and convenient rooms with openair shower. Can't ask for more!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AgnetaSusanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 February 2019

Our stay at Villa Akasa was perfect. The cottage we had was spacious and very clean comfortable with a lovely design and the semi-outdoor shower is something special. The terrace was private and a great spot to start the day with breakfast being served at a time to suit - and there is lots of choice too. The location at the south end of the beach is quieter than other areas, and although we had a scooter, it was not far to walk to anyway.
One evening we had our evening meal here too, which was delicious - and if we had more time we would have eaten here a lot more. The staff at Villa Akasa are really lovely & are a real pleasure to have around. Thank you all - we will be back next season for sure.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank 446charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa A, Owner at Villa Akasa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2019

Charlotte, thank you so much for your review ! You and Nick are always welcome here any time. It was nice to meet you both and it was our pleasure to have you here.
Looking forward to your next visit - a longer stay we hope :))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2019 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Akasa.
The design of each room was elegant, thoughtful and homy. We enjoyed a delightful breakfast each morning served by smiling staff.

It was also a blessing to be able to walk to the beach within 5 minutes... the heat can be exhausting so it was easy to dash down to the surf for a dip!

The owner Shama made our stay very special with her kind hospitality and ability to accomodate our needs.

I would recommend her place to anyone venturing to India.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank katherinemichell2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa A, Owner at Villa Akasa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2019

Thank you for your positive review and it was a pleasure having you stay with us. The team and I wish you well and hope you come back soon !!
Most of all keep doing the good volunteer work with the kids !
Good luck !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2019

We spent 12 nights at Villa Akasa and we truly wish we could stay even longer. We stayed in the upstairs room with a private balcony and the room was beautifully decorated, comfortable, spotlessly clean and has a big, beautiful bathroom. Villa Akasa is located just minutes from the beach on foot and walking distance to the town and North Cliff or you can take a quick rickshaw ride. The Villa is tucked away in a peaceful garden where you can hear birds chirping all day - the perfect place to relax.

Now let's talk about the food - the BEST we've had in India, maybe in the world! Breakfast was included and it was amazing - fresh fruit, fresh watermelon or cucumber juice, delicious coffee and porridge or masala dosa. We ordered dinner here most nights and ate it on our balcony by candlelight. The meals were better than any restaurant in the area and we will miss it so much when we leave!
Shama is such a wonderful host and everyone who works for her is super friendly, warm and accommodating. And we can't forget Yakko, the sweetest dog ever! We loved our time here at Villa Akasa so much and if we ever make it back to Kerala, we will definitely be staying here. Nothing but wonderful feelings about this place.
If you're coming to this area, this is the place to stay!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amanduhdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa A, Owner at Villa Akasa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2019

We too wished you had stayed longer with us and be part of the Villa Akasa family for a longer while. The team and Yakko too loved having you around. It was a pleasure to serve you both.
You have been very kind to us in your review - Thank you so much !!
Hope you have a good time traveling onwards and enjoy your time in Bali / Lombok !
Take care
Shama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews