We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“best in ayurveda, kalari marmma treatment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varkala Beach

Varkala Beach
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
varkala
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“best in ayurveda, kalari marmma treatment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

i come to varkala since 7 years watching out for good ayurveda treatments. this year i found the aswani brothers. i have hardly words to say how thankful i am. dinesan and veneesh are both kalari martial art masters. i never experienced so much skills and divine touch on my body before. they have been trained from childhood on. there knowledge is beyond words. their touch is a combination of total respect, love and spiritual guidance. the healing results are amazing on all levels.
their place is clean and full with stillness and divine healing. for me, they are the best! thank you veneesh, thank you dinesan, thank you dyvia and all the helpers..
p.s. they also just recently opened their own kalari martial art school!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank anu romy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    822
    585
    187
    44
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful beaches in Kerala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Beaches may all look the same, but the spectacular view of this beach leaves one in awe and wonder. This is the cleanest beach I have ever seen among the coastal lands of Kerala. The bright blue sea in the morning, surrounded with cliffs and greenery is a nature lover's feast. A must visit, if you are keen on visiting beaches in Kerala.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Seena_Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenic beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

One of my favourite beaches in India. I love Goa beaches, and have been there 10 times...but the cliff, the rocky edges and the beautiful and sometimes enormous waves of Varkala beach, will make me return to Varkala pretty soon!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Saurajit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Basic beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

A section of the beach is always filled with locals performing rituals for the departing souls. Plenty of stray dogs roaming the beach. There is provision of sun beds/chairs at a cost of 100 rupees per day but these are very dirty and sticky. A few beach cafes which are ok. Did not find the beach comfortable or relaxing

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SapphireAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederikshavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The waves are so nice and big... it is not possible to swim very good.. but you can play and have fun with the waves..The beach are very clean... and even their are dogs.. they are happy and nice.. their are securitypeople to take care of the weather...stream .. and it is very safe... understream can be very importen to take notice of.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank snubbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Varkala Beach also viewed

 

Been to Varkala Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing