We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
StayForLong
CheapTickets
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
115
37
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
115
37
4
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2019

This was a perfect December holiday at Blooming Bay with our large extended family. The place is perfect - away from the hustle and bustle, lovely views and extremely gracious and accommodating hosts and staff. The food was also superb and the chef is very flexible. We will come back.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Dnakum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbrahamL285, Owner at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2019

Dear Guest

Good evening and thank you for taking the time to review us!
It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay here. I have passed on your good wishes to all the staff and we look forward to your return to Varkala and to Blooming Bay!

Best regards
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

They say “Travel does the heart good” and there are very few places that does my heart good better than Blooming Bay, Varkala. An ideal and idyllic resort to spend some quality time with family.

The rooms were neat and the staff were extremely courteous and warm. The views from the room and the resort itself is simply spectacular. There are quite a few hammocks where you could just lie down and laze around for most part of the day. And to top it, you could almost have the beach to yourself. Don’t forget to soak in the breathtaking sunset.

Good food options but you could also try some of the local restaurants.

My second visit this year and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Sharing a few scenic clicks.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank praveen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbrahamL285, Owner at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2018

Dear Praveen

Thank you for taking time to review us. It was great to have you visit us for the second time.
We look forward to seeing you back at Blooming Bay in the near future!

Best regards
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Amazing resort with beautiful, clean rooms! The property has a hammock and dining area, and breakfast was delicious.

The resort is close to a beautiful unspoiled beach that is just a five minute walk away. We visited in September and were the only people on this beach - it was like having your own private beach. The resort is a secret gem for people looking for a quiet unpeopled beach.

The more popular but touristy Varkala Beach is a 20 minute walk/5-10 minute car ride away, with lots of restaurant and bar options on the cliff top.

Highly recommended!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Umair A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbrahamL285, Owner at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to review us. It is wonderful to note that you enjoyed your stay at Blooming Bay!
We look forward to seeing you back at Varkala and at Blooming Bay in the near future.

Best regards
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

I planned a Mini-Family Reunion from the United States with the Blooming Bay Staff and had a gut feeling Blooming Bay would be the resort of choice in Southern Kerala. Blooming Bay's online pictures reveal only a small amount of great experiences that await you and your Family. And speaking of Family, I found Blooming Bay went above and beyond to satisfy the needs of children and the elderly, from dietary needs to keeping kids active during their stay; the table tennis center was an added plus!

We also decided to celebrate our Son's Sweet 16th Birthday while at Blooming Bay, and there was no disappointment. Blooming Bay Owner Mr. Abraham even organized a private fireworks show for our group and the timing of that event alone was impeccable.

The staff there was always working on something and made sure the guests were happy and comfortable. If you need chai, mid-day snacks, assorted fruit, etc......just ask and the staff will be happy to get it for you.

Varkala is a small, quaint Kerala town on the coast of the Arabian Sea. If you want complete tranquility during your stay, look no further than your hotel balcony. You can see miles and miles of sea side fair like commercial fishermen casting for their catch to lovers walking on the beach to people meditating towards the sea. If you get a chance, go to the Heli-Pad side of Varkala Town; there you'll find so many cool things to do.

Blooming Bay was a hidden gem and got even better when we left and pondered back in time. Thank you Mr. Abraham & Staff for your kind hospitality. Definitely a 'must return resort' for sure!!

Room tip: You'll pay a little bit more for the AC Room, but get it. It'll be worth it.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JohnsonsWorldTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham L, Owner at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Dear Mr Johnson

Firstly thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule and writing such an elaborate review about your stay at Blooming Bay.
It was an absolute pleasure hosting you all for the three days that the group stayed and I had a wonderful time interacting with the members of your family who were a real fun bunch. It is great to know that that they enjoyed their stay and also the serene surroundings.
I shall pass on your good wishes to the entire staff and we look forward to your return to Varkala and of course to Blooming Bay!

Best regards
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this place for 3 days. The property is beautiful and well maintained. Rooms are quite big with sea view balconies. There were no basic amenities provided and it didnt have a TV. TV is available in the common area which is a very nice sit out, ideal for morning/evening tea. Food was good too. Overall, it was nice and relaxing. Will definitely recommend this place.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank surjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham L, Owner at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Surja

Thank you for taking the time to review us here. It was great to have you and your friends stay at Blooming Bay. We do not have TV in the rooms and also no Room service. We encourage our guests to step outside the rooms as often as possible and enjoy the beautiful location, sureal settings and the greenery in which the resort is located.

I shall pass on your good wishes to all at the kitchen. We look forward to your next visit to Varkala and ofcourse to Blooming Bay!

Best regards
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews