We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Restaurant......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clafouti

Clafouti
Ranked #2 of 85 Restaurants in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Chinese, Indian, Seafood, Asian, Thai, Tibetan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
france
2 reviews
“Excellent Restaurant......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Great restaurant in varkala.me and my friends our 2 days evening time spent with clafouti restaurant.caun't imagine such a delicious food they served us.dont forget try butterfish tikka and curry.live fish they displayed,we can select as your choice.rate is affordable.super location with nice breezy wind.

Highly reccomond this restaurant ........

Shut down your thirsty and hungry from this nice restaurant.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank helenamarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    184
    58
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tomsk, Tomsk, Russia
1 review
“Clafouti - a consensus on quality, friendly and "sun" of personnel and accessibility for all travelers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I think this place can truly be called a restaurant.
Always friendly and smiling staff, all meals are freshly prepared and insanely delicious.
Very pleasant, positive energy
Magnificent views of the ocean
Especially from the second floor
I advise everyone to visit Clafouti
And you do not want to look for another place!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
157 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Delicious fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We came here for dinner and had blue marlin cooked tandoori style. It was very busy but service was good (not always the case in Kerala) and the fish was delicious. It wasn't especially cheap but the portion size was enormous.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Clafoutis is a nice restaurant, great food, a nice selection of the menu .
excellent location and very good and nice service.
One of the rare places where you don't have to wait an hour for your food..

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank colomba63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venezia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Avoid this place! Fish poisoning!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Fierst we came to this place for a breakfast. Banana lassi was undrinkable, it seemed they'd forgotten to add lassi at all. But I didn't know yet that terrible banana lassi was a mere nothing comparing to what happened after.

We came back to this place for a dinner. I chose a red snapper. The fish looked quite fresh, with clear eyes and red gills. The smell was also ok'. My husband ordered another dish. In the taste I also didn't feel anything strange.

Already in the night I felt strong stomach ache. And all the next day I had high fever up to 39' and strong diarrea. The problem was that we needed to leave that day and make 10 hours by night train. So in stead of enjoying last day in Varkala the whole day I spent in the bed on the pills, cause I couldn't even walk, had strong vertigo. In the evening about to fall apart I arrived to the train station and fell on the berth without energies.

It was the strongest poisoning I had during my 5 trips to India.

My advise - stay away from Claufouti. Sometimes it's better not to risk. There are tens of other places in Varkala where to eat.
For example, the next door Hungry Eye Kitchen is much better.

Take care/

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bondik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clafouti also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Clafouti? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing