We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, grumpy ignorant and stingy owner”
Review of K R House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
K R House
Ranked #59 of 101 Varkala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Owner was ignorant and abrupt from the beginning. His rate increased on checkin from our initial call to him. Had to pay for loo roll, our first in India. There are nicer places and nicer people in varkala.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garvangallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2011

Located high on Varkala's south cliff KR House has an amaizing view and a steep funky steps right down to a deserted beach. Although it has a premium location, it is a budget guest house. The rate was 1000 Rupies and we felt that that was equal to the quality of the room - the only major complaint was that the pillows were quite lumpy and very musty and we had to purchase toilet paper and soap for the room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnandalison604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed in K. R. House for 3 nights at the end of July. it was surrounded by gorgeous gardens, and had its own private beach at the bottom of the cliff. The view was completely unspoilt, and the rooms were fine. Although the rooms were nothing special for the price we were paying (We paid 600Rs pn). After three nights we did actually move to the north cliff as we were staying during low season, and therefore nothing was open over on south cliff and it was quite a walk to north cliff. The owner was amazing though, he knew everything and was so helpful. Thank you for letting us stay :)
Harriet and Ben, Travelling July and Aug 2011.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrietF-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: je n'ai pas vu beaucoup de différences entre les chambres, à part une pseudo vue latérale mer po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatever_669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WuppertalLisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.0 km away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
0.0 km away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#24 of 52 in Varkala
287 reviews
0.0 km away
Heavenly Breeze
Heavenly Breeze
#28 of 101 in Varkala
51 reviews
0.0 km away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K R House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K R House

Address: Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Also Known As:
K R House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing