We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
410
21
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
21
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests walking tour orientation walk themed rooms chinese room your bearings rooftop terrace the owner morning walk local festival canoe trip the cliff fish market local life real kerala house is beautiful local fishing village
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

If you go to Kerala book Kaiya House - it was the highlight of our 3 week trip. Debra and all the staff are awesome. Amazing breakfasts, unlimited tea/coffee. It’s near the beach/shops/restaurants. A home from Home. Debra also helped us with excursions, gave recommendations and gave us a free tour of Varkala. Thank you! We’ll be back x

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Z3820MThannahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiyaHouse, Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you so much for taking time to do a review for us, so happy you had fun here and I look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Our 3 night stay at Kaiya House was the perfect end to our holiday. Throughout our short stay Debra made us feel so welcome and very much at home. The rooms at Kaiya are spotlessly clean and beautifully presented. The large & covered roof top area is a perfect place to relax and yoga sessions can be organised. There was plenty to see & do locally, Debra organised it all. I particularly enjoyed the coastal walk, the early morning boat trip, visiting the Temple at the start of a festival and not to forget the ayurvedic treatments. A good selection of restaurants, with great atmosphere were a short walk from the house.Thank you Debra, for looking after us so well.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sjw162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiyaHouse, Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

It was my pleasure to meet you and so happy you felt looked after. It's lovely that you said yes to many experiences. Thank you so much for taking time to do a review for us. I look forward to meeting you again sometime in the future, perhaps for festival season. Monsoon regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Kaiya House is a beautiful house with comfortable and lovely decorated rooms. The roof terrace is a wonderful space to sit out in for breakfast, yoga, evenings under the stars. What makes it really special is Debra the fun and friendly host. Debra's suggestions for things to do, places to eat, places to visit and organising tickets for us really made our time in Varkala very special. Not just the standard tourist stuff - we really feel like we sampled real life and enjoyed spending time with everyone we met. It was a joy to stay here and I would highly recommend Kaiya House

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emmacH8789MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiyaHouse, Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you so much. I'm so happy to know you feel you had a real India experience. Thank you for taking time to do a lovely review for us. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights with my dad and sister during our two week holiday in India. Firstly Debra makes you feel completely at home and is so friendly and knowledgeable it really helps you feel comfortable but also means you get the most out of your stay. I wasn't very well when we arrived and Debra was so accommodating and went above and beyond making sure I was ok.

Her rooftop communal area is great for relaxing, meeting others and generally unwinding.

It's about a ten min walk to the main restaurants / beach and the house is decorated with such interesting artworks.

We did a few of the tours Debra organised and we also did yoga on the rooftop which was fabulous.

I will be returning for sure :)

Thanks Debra x

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Natasha_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiyaHouse, Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

So nice to have your family here and just loved that you traveled together. I'm happy you'll likely return sometime in 2018 and look forward to updates about your adventures. Thank you so much for you lovely words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Right from the start, the booking process was hassle free and smooth,Debra, our host pencilled down the dates we were supposed to arrive on.. And just like that it was done.
We reached really late, however Debra received us warmly and took us for a short guided tour of the nearby restaurants etc.It was due to Debra's great advice that we had great food throughout (we would have been lost otherwise, there were so many restaurants there).
The house was awesome,especially the rooftop which has a closed area as well as an open one (to enjoy the starry nights) and is decorated tastefully.Our breakfasts were served there (choice of traditional keralite cuisine or continental, cereal, egg breakfast).
Debra as a host is wonderful, helping yet giving u ur space, always up for a friendly chat, ready with any advice u ask for.I loved the impromptu jig we all did on her front porch one evening while coming back from the beach which is 10 to 15 minutes walk away.
Also special mention to her staff who are helping and courteous and to Appu our auto driver who Debra arranged to take us around Varkala (to the local fish market, island temple tour, sight seeing, authentic keralan tea etc.)We d never have been able to see Varkala like that, had we not had a local guy to take us around.She even arranged a great taxi drop to our next destination.
Wow... The list is endless... Guys its a lovely place.. Stay there, it doesn't burn a hole in ur pockets, our family loved it ,the kids never wanted to leave.Wished we'd stayed longer. Shall be back Debra.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank khushboo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiyaHouse, Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you so much. It was fabulous to meet your family and your girls brought great energy and joy to the house. And yes, the impromptu dancing was too much fun, the whole family suddenly rockin' on the porch. I so hope you will come back or perhaps we will meet in your city and have chocolate together. Again, many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews