We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Simple rooms, near to beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mummy Bamboo House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mummy Bamboo House
Ranked #12 of 95 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Simple rooms, near to beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I stayed here for three nights and Rani was an excellent host. We stayed on the ground floor on the first night after which she recommended us to shift to the first floor as the "rooms are nice there" and it was indeed. We arrived at 6 pm from Kottayam and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Varkala and at Mummy Bamboo House. Only thing we wish is that if the room was cleaned every alternate day would have been good. The pillows were also quite hard specially for me. We had a lunch thali once and it was one of the most delicious we ever had. The place is just next to the beach but not the oceanfront surrounded by of course coconut trees. The price of Rs 650 per night was quite reasonable for the accommodation and I won't mind revisiting Mummy Bamboo House on my next trip to Varkala. Of course, if I have a higher budget, I would choose to take one on the oceanfront.

Room Tip: For me, the rooms on the first floor were better than those on the ground and offered more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santanurocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    42
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
63
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Mummy Bamboo. Rani is a warm and welcoming host - perhaps the smiliest person I've ever met! The buildling is a little blockish and doesn't sit on the oceanfront, but I still love the atmosphere of the place; you can chill out on a hammock or have a cup of tea in the family's rustic kitchen. Rani's cooking lessons are good fun too! Overall, a good-value, friendly guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We just got back from Varkala and spent our first night staying on the Mummy Bamboo "strip" of hotels.
We booked a room in advance but when we arrived were taken to another hotel 3 tightly packed hotels down the "alley" owned by her brother. We are traveling with children so any unforeseen reservation changes (especially when arriving at night) can not be disputed after dark. We were not happy as we had booked to stay at the "Mummy Bamboo", we were told that a driver was picking us up at the train station and dinner would be ready when we arrived (we set all of this up in advance) Not one promise was kept...we were left wondering where our driver was and told to wait at the train , we had no dinner upon arrival (over 5 hour train journey) and the room that we expected was not what we got. I would recommend Mummy Bamboo for folks that want a clean, inexpensive and very basic room to sleep (600 rupees a night). It is not the best spot as the ocean breeze is completely blocked by the tightly packed buildings off the impenetrable cliff shops. The rooms are cheap with working fans and mosquito nets...just don't depend on your reservation!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank familyfieldwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed at Mummy Bamboo House for 4 nights this December and can whole-heartedly recommend it. Rani gives a warm welcome to everyone and her cooking is amazing. I'm still thinking about those lovely breakfast banana pancakes and she does a great Thali too.

The rooms are great value, just tucked off the main strip so a little less noise and a little more relaxing. We enjoyed sitting on our veranda with the smell of drying coconut and chili in the air.

Rani is happy to help out with anything, ordering rickshaws, renting bikes etc. Always with a smile. The only caution I would give is that I had an ayurvedic massage at a place three doors down (towards beach) and I wouldn't recommend it - not worth the money and not really any good.

Best value and nicest place we stayed during our whole Kerala trip

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evamay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

I stayed here in September 2011 just after the monsoon season ended. The prices were incredible! The rooms were basic but clean, with a shower (no hot water but the weather was so hot it didn't matter), beds with a mosquito net and fan. Rani and her family were lovely, cooking a very tasty banana pancake (with honey and coconut) for breakfast and a huge Thali for dinner. She also called a rickshaw for us to get back to the train station when we departed. The hotel itself is down a quiet alley quite close to the cliffside, close to everything interesting. Did I mention hammocks out the front of the rooms? They were great!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.9 km away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.3 km away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.2 km away
Hill-Top Ayurvedic Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 km away
Kerala Bamboo House
Kerala Bamboo House
#34 of 49 in Varkala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.0 km away
Heavenly Breeze
Heavenly Breeze
#36 of 95 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mummy Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mummy Bamboo House

Property: Mummy Bamboo House
Address: Cliff Papanasam | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,100 - ₹ 1,500
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mummy Bamboo House is set back from the popular North Cliff at Varkala, which is a minute’s walk away. The hotel offers good accommodation – and food - at reasonable prices. It is also quiet.The hotel has been built in the traditional Keralan manner and has seven comfortable en suite double bedrooms, four of which are at ground level and three are upstairs, each with its own balcony and hammock ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mummy Bamboo House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing