We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place and people”
Review of Shiva Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shiva Garden
Ranked #12 of 103 Varkala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 May 2015

Words can't express how wonderful my time was at Shiva Gardens. I arrived intending to stay for 3 days at the beginning of March 2015 and stayed for 7 weeks! The place has a beautiful atmosphere, the hosts and staff are amazing and made me feel at home, looked after me when I was ill and always had a big smile. I practiced yoga here, gained my Reiki 1 and 2 attunement with Sonia which has been a huge blessing in my life, I also received a course of Reiki (another life changing experience) and received life coaching.

My stay here was life changing and I loved every moment. I cannot recommend it highly enough and I too will be returning again in July :).

Oh and Lila's food is divine - particularly her prawn curry. I will return just for that :)

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2015

Have stayed at Shiva Garden three times and have always experienced true family hospitality. On the second visit my daughter was recovering from a motorbike accident and Jayan really made sure she was looked after.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank JohannesburgPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2015

I was traveling in south india last summer and spent about 1 week at the Shiva Garden Homestay. The homestay is beautiful, has good food and is close to the beach. Sonia and her whole family provide a warm atmosphere, and you can have Yoga every morning on the rooftop, which is just amazing.

But the most important thing was the Life Coach Sessions. During Yoga once in the morning, Sonia asked me if I am interesting to get to know me better and want learn how to help myself getting what I want in life. I was quite interested so we started the Life Coach training.

Having access to Sonias knowledge was a huge privilege. Those days in Varkala were some of my happiest and clearest in my life. The life coach sessions opened my eyes and I am still drawing on the energy and ease she shared with me. I am still working on myself, doing meditation every day, preparing myself for my life´s work.

Thank you very much Sonia and I wish you and your family a life full of happiness and good fortune!

Room Tip: Rooms are typically indian, Backpacker style, but with bathroom in most of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Silvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Made my trip a dream! The staff are friendly, there's badminton, rooms are enormous considering price, dogs are cute, great for local knowledge, friendly travelers, easy access to the beach, food is malayali, there's a convenience store opposite, nirvana yoga next door. My only complaint is that the WiFi is patchy, but this will be the case literally everywhere. Buy an MTS dongle if you want decent internet. There is some bureaucracy, but it's definitely worth it.

Room Tip: the 800 INR room is incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Prabhath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2015

I visited this hostel for 2 nights in March 2015 and, as the other reviewers have said, it was lovely.

Pros:
-Really nice energy in the garden
-Friendly guests and a welcoming common area (with wifi)
-The staff went above and beyond to ensure that we had a room we liked and felt comfortable during our stay
-Walking distance to the cliff
-Daily yoga classes
-Great value for price
-The biggest pro, though, was the life coaching session with Sonia. She radiates positive energy and wisdom, and created time in her packed schedule to share that wisdom and help me get clarity on a situation I was facing. She went above and beyond, sending me other resources and links so I could continue to benefit from her perspective after the session was over. I highly recommend her.

Cons:
-The rooms are locked by a sliding lock and padlock and have only one key, which means that if you're sharing a room, you'll need to coordinate with your roommate so the other person doesn't get locked in or out
-No air conditioning in the rooms, which can get stuffy if you don't have the windows/door open
-There's also no wifi or hot water in the rooms, which aren't essential at all (you don't want hot water in Kerala in March), but thought I'd mention

Other:
-The area between Shiva Garden and Varkala Cliff gets extremely dark at night and can be a bit isolated if you're returning home when the restaurants around the cliff close, so bring a flashlight (or keep your cell phone charged)
-You should also bring sunscreen and bug spray

Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank joyb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1 km away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#11 of 52 in Varkala
143 reviews
0.1 km away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#27 of 52 in Varkala
147 reviews
0.3 km away
MK Gardens Surf & Yoga House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Lost Hostel, Varkala - Helipad
0.6 km away
Black Beach Resort
Black Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Varkala
138 reviews
0.4 km away
Bamboo Village
Bamboo Village
#48 of 103 in Varkala
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Garden

Address: North Cliff Kurakkanni | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: ₹ 893 - ₹ 3,638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHIVA GARDEN is one among the most reputed home stays in Varkala. Perched near a majestic red cliff overlooking the Arabian Sea, this charming home stay offers many warm hospitable services as well as a fantastic garden view. Here we have a magnificent garden growing many famous Ayurvedic plants and trees, surrounding the resort. Guests are only minutes away from the famous 2000 years old Janardhana Swamy Temple, Kappil beach and Angengo Fort built by the British East India company in the 17th century. Shiva Garden is the perfect base for leisure and you may never forget this in your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Shiva Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Garden Hotel Varkala
Shiva Garden Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing