We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
143
41
9
6
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
41
9
6
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect place mosquito net highly recommend this place sonia dorm hammocks swing accommodation india yoga homestay solo therapies soul cliffs retreat
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Shiva Garden is a really lovely place with lots of different options for rooms. It's a great place to meet people and it's close to the beach. The staff were all really helpful and friendly! You can easily spend all day relaxing in the garden drinking masala chai.

Room Tip: There was free wifi available but my room was too far away to reach it so if you definitely need wifi in your room check that your room can get signal.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Clementine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Accommodation

We were a huge and enthusiastic (read raucous) group of 8 and we found Shiva Garden the best to accommodate us. We had booked two apartments over phone and contrary to quite a few reviews on Tripadvisor, we got our apartments as soon as we arrived. The apartments felt like home. The wash rooms were spacious and clean. There was a well equipped kitchen as well (which we did put to good use).
There was a spacious garden just in front of the apartments which was part of Shiva Garden. There were hammocks strung to trees. There were provision for every sport to be played. You name it and they had it. For a sport enthusiast like me, it was a huge plus. We had a memorable game of volley ball on our second day of stay. There was a huge hullabaloo over the game but the staff had no qualms whatsoever which is worth mentioning.
The dining arrangements were in the garden itself.
There was a small library adjacent to the dining place (amongst the trees) as well.
There were a lot of activities that Shiva Garden offered (though we were out of time to try them out) including boating trip to Golden Island. They even gave bicycles/scooties for rent.
The whole set-up in the garden had an aura to itself which made our stay in Shiva Garden so memorable.
(*There are different kinds of accommodations within the Shiva Garden premises which fits all group sizes and pockets. There are tents, dorms and tree houses as well that you can avail).

Food

The food was on the expensive side (taking into consideration the quantity) and service was a bit slow which we considered given the fact that it is a small, family-run business. The food quality was good though.
Tea and coffee served weren't really up to the standard I must say.

Staff

The staff here needs special mention. They tended to us with a smile all the time. They were gracious and courteous to say the least and they had no complains in spite of us testing their patience at times.

Room Tip: Choose according to your taste. thee are lot of options.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank NiveditaBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

A very warm welcome from Manor. A place I will defo be travelling back too! A great place to meet people. Lovely rooms suited to your needs, great activities and helpful information. Very comfortable place to chill, a home from home.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank lucylulu1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015 via mobile

A friend of mine and I stayed at Shiva Garden for 2 weeks in January 2015.

You hear beautiful things about Shiva Garden, but none of them cannot compare to the feeling you get the first time you step into the garden... Calm, green, comfy, beautiful are just some of the words that come to your lips.

All the staff is extremely nice and helpful and will cater to your every need (one day jackfruit fell from the tree and they gave everyone to try it). There are all types of lodging available, for all pockets: from rooftop tents (we stayed in one) and dorms, single and double rooms, tree huts, apartments... But the best thing in Shiva Garden is it's garden with fruit and palm trees, all the shade, hammocks to be lazy in or talk to many other nice guests staying there, big living room, badminton/volleyball field, basketball... You don't even need to go out and you will have fun the whole day and you won't be hungry because there's a little kitchen that serves delicious south indian food.

Two weeks passed quickly and we were sad to leave our new home and new family, because that is how you feel if you stay there! :)

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
8  Thank marioz962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

I reserved a room here and at the time of arrival they said they were fully booked and showed me to a resort close by, which was not nice a all. They didn't even bother to apologize. Unfortunately I didn't pay any attention to former warnings who reported the same. Shiva Garden seems to have a deal with the Guest House next door, which was confirmed by other travellers. Do not support this commercial handling of travellers!

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
5  Thank Matheo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shivagarden, Manager at Shiva Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Shivagarden is a small family run business. We have experienced many no show ups and it put us in a very difficult situation. At times we gets over booking (not on a usual basis) and in situation like that we help our customers to find another place. It is not a business but only a service. No one is forced to stay the alternative place and this service is free of charge. Hope you would understand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews