We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
143
41
9
6
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
41
9
6
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect place mosquito net highly recommend this place sonia dorm india yoga homestay therapies soul retreat
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2014

Stayed here with four children in march this year. We had spent about half a day looking around for the right place to stay, knowing little about Varkala. When we stumbled upon this place we knew we'd found it. We didn't take advantage of much of what this place has to offer- yoga and the like but it was a beautiful and relaxing place to stay with lovely, helpful hosts. The woman who runs the place even got up at 5:30 to give us breakfast before we left as the kitchen didn't open until later! There's s great tame of accommodation. We stayed in an apartment/ bungalow but of we hadn't been with the kids might well have stayed under the stars on the roof. Half the time we just hung out at the hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simongroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2014

Really helpful staff. Lovely garden full of puppies and hammocks! Great breakfasts as well. Clean rooms with towels and complimentary soap and loo roll, even in the cheap rooms. I enjoyed staying here - thank you very much.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

I was visiting Varkala during off season, rainy season, so there where not many people staying at the home stay. Nevertheless the owners very nice, very hospitable and very open to a conversation! In season this place must be buzzing with good vibes! Accommodation was simple but quite clean for Indian standards.

Solo traveler, August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anarod2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very nice hostel on a big garden: cool and friendly atmosphere with hamacs and big chairs in the shadow of big trees. Prices are very low, especially if you take a bad in the orginal dormitory (only 200 INR per night). Beaches are not so far (possible to access after 5 min of walk).
Free wifi available but very low.

Very young and international atmosphere. So if you want to meet young peoples from around the world, it will be the perfect place. If you want to meet only local people, it's perhaps not the best solution but you won't regret the stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gewaltig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Excellent relaxing 2 weeks after a hectic whistle stop tour Delhi area. I loved the hot sun but my partner preferred February last year ,not as hot and no rain on three occasions in the late afternoon/evening .back next Jan/ Feb. We arrived 5th April,be advised it's near end of season then.Some nice people at Shiva and hosts Jayan & Sonia were great .Looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms seem cooler
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews