We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people at Shiva Garden!”
Review of Shiva Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shiva Garden
Ranked #12 of 103 Varkala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 November 2014 via mobile

Shiva Garden in Varkala was my first stop this time in India, and I stayed there for almost two weeks. I absolutly loved the place. I came alone and the staff took good care of me.

Every morning I had yoga classes with Sonia. I'm a beginner in yoga and she has really inspired me to continue. After two hours class of meditation, pranayama ang yoga with her, I was always happy and peaceful rest of the day.

The rooms are clean and cheap, food is really good and all the staff are lovely. You meet other travellers here and you will definetly have a good time! I know I did.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank mirandakarelind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2014

Stayed here with four children in march this year. We had spent about half a day looking around for the right place to stay, knowing little about Varkala. When we stumbled upon this place we knew we'd found it. We didn't take advantage of much of what this place has to offer- yoga and the like but it was a beautiful and relaxing place to stay with lovely, helpful hosts. The woman who runs the place even got up at 5:30 to give us breakfast before we left as the kitchen didn't open until later! There's s great tame of accommodation. We stayed in an apartment/ bungalow but of we hadn't been with the kids might well have stayed under the stars on the roof. Half the time we just hung out at the hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simongroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2014

Really helpful staff. Lovely garden full of puppies and hammocks! Great breakfasts as well. Clean rooms with towels and complimentary soap and loo roll, even in the cheap rooms. I enjoyed staying here - thank you very much.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

I was visiting Varkala during off season, rainy season, so there where not many people staying at the home stay. Nevertheless the owners very nice, very hospitable and very open to a conversation! In season this place must be buzzing with good vibes! Accommodation was simple but quite clean for Indian standards.

Solo traveler, August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anarod2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very nice hostel on a big garden: cool and friendly atmosphere with hamacs and big chairs in the shadow of big trees. Prices are very low, especially if you take a bad in the orginal dormitory (only 200 INR per night). Beaches are not so far (possible to access after 5 min of walk).
Free wifi available but very low.

Very young and international atmosphere. So if you want to meet young peoples from around the world, it will be the perfect place. If you want to meet only local people, it's perhaps not the best solution but you won't regret the stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gewaltig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1 km away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#11 of 52 in Varkala
144 reviews
0.1 km away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#27 of 52 in Varkala
148 reviews
0.3 km away
MK Gardens Surf & Yoga House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Lost Hostel, Varkala - Helipad
0.6 km away
Black Beach Resort
Black Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Varkala
138 reviews
0.4 km away
Bamboo Village
Bamboo Village
#48 of 103 in Varkala
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Garden

Address: North Cliff Kurakkanni | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: ₹ 828 - ₹ 3,631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHIVA GARDEN is one among the most reputed home stays in Varkala. Perched near a majestic red cliff overlooking the Arabian Sea, this charming home stay offers many warm hospitable services as well as a fantastic garden view. Here we have a magnificent garden growing many famous Ayurvedic plants and trees, surrounding the resort. Guests are only minutes away from the famous 2000 years old Janardhana Swamy Temple, Kappil beach and Angengo Fort built by the British East India company in the 17th century. Shiva Garden is the perfect base for leisure and you may never forget this in your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Shiva Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Garden Hotel Varkala
Shiva Garden Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing