We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
143
41
9
6
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
41
9
6
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect place mosquito net highly recommend this place sonia dorm india yoga homestay therapies soul retreat
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Budget accommodation but clean. Outside shower and toilet but perfectly pleasant to use. Beautiful garden with lovely communal seating area. Drinks and meals available to buy. Very welcoming staff. 5 minutes from beaches, shops and restaurants. If you are happy to go simple, look no further and book!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank laj_graffiti_dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I visited Shiva Garden in November when I was on holiday in Varkala, when I returned in late December it was a no brainer that I was going to stay here. So for two months Shiva Garden was my home, the rooms offer everything you need, I had an en suite bathroom (cold water only, but this was no issue, as it was so hot outside) and a balcony. What makes Shiva Garden so special is the lovely people who run it and the beautiful garden, that encourages guests to socialize. It just has a very chilled and relaxed atmosphere, I made fantastic friends here and it was ridiculously hard for me to leave. Try Yoga lessons with Sonja, you won't regret it. A big special thank you to Afzal for always being happy and attentive. I can't wait to stay here again! Thank you Sonja and Jayan, until December ;-)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Lulu_Magpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed in Shiva Guest House for one night in Febraury. The room was really nice but a little expensive if i compare it to the rest of the trip. Also there was a fight between the locals and tourists which went on through the night. Overall the place is really good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vibhor_Goyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Cool place where it's easy to meet people. Had a great weekend here, stayed in the dorms which were on a lovely rooftop. Friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend this place to anyone but especially solo travellers. Was recommended this place by friends.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Krissy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Cool place with hippie atmosphere good if you want to meet some people and chill out outside your room in the "garden".

Rooms are not at all as clean and made up as the photos of the direction in trip advisor.
You may ask for your sheets and towels, no hot water.

Much more like a pension and not a proper hotel because the quality of everything is quite low or less professional than same standard hotels.

Food is good.

This place would really win to be refreshed cleaned and more professional hostellery service that it is to deserve all the overated comments here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xdd187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews