We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 108
Taj Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 21
US$ 20
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 48/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 89
US$ 51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 42
US$ 30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clafouti Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$ 25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Akhil Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$ 25
US$ 23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$ 27
US$ 22
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
142
41
9
6
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
41
9
6
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect placemosquito nethighly recommend this placesoniadormhammocksswingaccommodationindiayogahomestaysolotherapiessoulcliffsretreat
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed in Shiva Guest House for one night in Febraury. The room was really nice but a little expensive if i compare it to the rest of the trip. Also there was a fight between the locals and tourists which went on through the night. Overall the place is really good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vibhor_Goyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Cool place where it's easy to meet people. Had a great weekend here, stayed in the dorms which were on a lovely rooftop. Friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend this place to anyone but especially solo travellers. Was recommended this place by friends.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Krissy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Cool place with hippie atmosphere good if you want to meet some people and chill out outside your room in the "garden".

Rooms are not at all as clean and made up as the photos of the direction in trip advisor.
You may ask for your sheets and towels, no hot water.

Much more like a pension and not a proper hotel because the quality of everything is quite low or less professional than same standard hotels.

Food is good.

This place would really win to be refreshed cleaned and more professional hostellery service that it is to deserve all the overated comments here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xdd187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I came to shiva garden in October and didn't leave until December. Coming to shiva garden was the best thing I could do. There I found a home an a family.

I started doing yoga with Sonia and for me it was the best introduction to yoga. Sonia respects everybody's limits and guides you through the secuences gently. Two months of yoga with Sonia inspired me, who was a complete beginner, to take a teacher training course which I will do soon.

Shiva garden is a place for meeting good people and there I found friends for life. I am happy to call shiva garden my second home in Varkala and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banananita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed here in January after recommendations from a few travellers I had met. Although the location is not right on the cliff top, a quick five minute walk and you are there! It was actually very nice not staying right in the middle of the hustle and bustle as it gave you time to relax and absorb the wonderful surroundings. Shiva Garden had a lovely homely feel to it, which is great when you are travelling! The guest-house is surrounded by wonderful gardens, palm trees and hammocks - perfect for chilling out. The staff were very sweet and helpful and definitely contributed to the wonderful energy of the place. We stayed in a treehouse on the first night which was lovely and comfortable, we then moved to a double room with a little balcony which was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious - lots of fresh fruit and Masala tea! The communal area was great to relax in, either talking to other travellers or checking emails. My overall experience was a very positive one and I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Varkala. It was extremely good value for money! And the owners baby daughter is so adorable (an added bonus!) Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews