We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Shiva Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shiva Garden
Ranked #14 of 99 Varkala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I visited Shiva Garden in November when I was on holiday in Varkala, when I returned in late December it was a no brainer that I was going to stay here. So for two months Shiva Garden was my home, the rooms offer everything you need, I had an en suite bathroom (cold water only, but this was no issue, as it was so hot outside) and a balcony. What makes Shiva Garden so special is the lovely people who run it and the beautiful garden, that encourages guests to socialize. It just has a very chilled and relaxed atmosphere, I made fantastic friends here and it was ridiculously hard for me to leave. Try Yoga lessons with Sonja, you won't regret it. A big special thank you to Afzal for always being happy and attentive. I can't wait to stay here again! Thank you Sonja and Jayan, until December ;-)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Lulu_Magpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed in Shiva Guest House for one night in Febraury. The room was really nice but a little expensive if i compare it to the rest of the trip. Also there was a fight between the locals and tourists which went on through the night. Overall the place is really good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vibhor_Goyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Cool place where it's easy to meet people. Had a great weekend here, stayed in the dorms which were on a lovely rooftop. Friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend this place to anyone but especially solo travellers. Was recommended this place by friends.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Krissy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Cool place with hippie atmosphere good if you want to meet some people and chill out outside your room in the "garden".

Rooms are not at all as clean and made up as the photos of the direction in trip advisor.
You may ask for your sheets and towels, no hot water.

Much more like a pension and not a proper hotel because the quality of everything is quite low or less professional than same standard hotels.

Food is good.

This place would really win to be refreshed cleaned and more professional hostellery service that it is to deserve all the overated comments here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xdd187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I came to shiva garden in October and didn't leave until December. Coming to shiva garden was the best thing I could do. There I found a home an a family.

I started doing yoga with Sonia and for me it was the best introduction to yoga. Sonia respects everybody's limits and guides you through the secuences gently. Two months of yoga with Sonia inspired me, who was a complete beginner, to take a teacher training course which I will do soon.

Shiva garden is a place for meeting good people and there I found friends for life. I am happy to call shiva garden my second home in Varkala and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banananita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 km away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
399 reviews
1.3 km away
Magnolia Guesthouse
Magnolia Guesthouse
#26 of 52 in Varkala
89 reviews
0.1 km away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#23 of 52 in Varkala
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.4 km away
Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff
0.7 km away
Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat
Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat
#17 of 106 in Varkala
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Garden

Address: North Cliff Kurakkanni | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: ₹ 847 - ₹ 1,758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHIVA GARDEN is one among the most reputed home stays in Varkala. Perched near a majestic red cliff overlooking the Arabian Sea, this charming home stay offers many warm hospitable services as well as a fantastic garden view. Here we have a magnificent garden growing many famous Ayurvedic plants and trees, surrounding the resort. Guests are only minutes away from the famous 2000 years old Janardhana Swamy Temple, Kappil beach and Angengo Fort built by the British East India company in the 17th century. Shiva Garden is the perfect base for leisure and you may never forget this in your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Shiva Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Garden Hotel Varkala
Shiva Garden Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing