We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
143
41
9
6
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
41
9
6
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner basket ball perfect place home away from home dining table laid back mosquito net double bed highly recommend this place off season varkala cliff sonia dorm hammocks chill volleyball india
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Really relaxed spot.
There is a sort of courtyard in the middle of the premises, we're they've build a roofed place with comfortable cushions and low tables, with nice lighting. Good speakers, nice mellow (Indian) music.
Besides plenty of hammocks, they also have a massive swing, attached to two palmtrees...
The guys running the place are nice and relaxed and the rooms are clean.
I went out for a couple of days on a motorbike in the countryside and it was OK to leave my things there, they looked after them.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVSFTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

i will suggest any of you with out any doubt because it's good place for all budget travellers.good value for money.
nice staff ,good atmosphere with an excellent courtyard.
Afzal was so helpful during our stay.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matrix533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Inside the courtyard is a wonderful refuge for travelers. Guests gather in the communal hut to enjoy delicious simple food and free wifi. There is a play area for children and sports enthusiasts offering basketball and badminton. The highlight of the place is the manager Afzal who warmly and enthusiastically takes wonderful care of all the guests giving each his personal attention. We felt so taken care of. It was a nice relaxing casual atmosphere in which to escape the busy beach and tourist strip on the top of the cliff.

Date of stay: January 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank ladykanawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Casual friendly atmosphere make this place a delight! Great food served in communal eating area. Try the Chapati and Dahl. Wonderful place to hang out and meet other travellers. Simple and basic but the best.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 424robm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I came back to shiva garden for the third time this season. what can I say? it is my soul place in india. I go there when I want to connect with myself and meet my "shiva garden family" - that is a group of people who return every year and the owners, jaian, sonia and their family.
shiva garden is a place about the inner. about a certain vibration, a feeling, a meta theme of healing and wonder and well being.
it is about the smiles you exchange with the people you meet when you go get a chai. it is about the hugs you give and receive. the jokes you make, the laughs you create, the feeling you can allow yourself to relax and just be, in the now.
it is jayans smiley "good morning" when he asks you if you want your chai as usual. it is the caress sonia gives you passing by, with her beautiful daughter divia on her arm, who is such a radiant being, opening everybodies heart. it is the peace you feel when you're "hammocking" with your friends, listening to the palm leaves bristle. it is the talks you come to pass unexpectedly which lead you to a better understanding. it is the small and big miracles that happen when you are there.
shiva garden is about belonging and realness and love. this is why I go back every now and then, to sense this freedom and bliss and to remind myself that all is well.

Room tip: the big house. "my" room 107.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marianna7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews