We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to chill out”
Review of Shiva Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shiva Garden
Ranked #12 of 103 Varkala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Really relaxed spot.
There is a sort of courtyard in the middle of the premises, we're they've build a roofed place with comfortable cushions and low tables, with nice lighting. Good speakers, nice mellow (Indian) music.
Besides plenty of hammocks, they also have a massive swing, attached to two palmtrees...
The guys running the place are nice and relaxed and the rooms are clean.
I went out for a couple of days on a motorbike in the countryside and it was OK to leave my things there, they looked after them.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVSFTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

i will suggest any of you with out any doubt because it's good place for all budget travellers.good value for money.
nice staff ,good atmosphere with an excellent courtyard.
Afzal was so helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matrix533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Inside the courtyard is a wonderful refuge for travelers. Guests gather in the communal hut to enjoy delicious simple food and free wifi. There is a play area for children and sports enthusiasts offering basketball and badminton. The highlight of the place is the manager Afzal who warmly and enthusiastically takes wonderful care of all the guests giving each his personal attention. We felt so taken care of. It was a nice relaxing casual atmosphere in which to escape the busy beach and tourist strip on the top of the cliff.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank ladykanawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Casual friendly atmosphere make this place a delight! Great food served in communal eating area. Try the Chapati and Dahl. Wonderful place to hang out and meet other travellers. Simple and basic but the best.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 424robm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I came back to shiva garden for the third time this season. what can I say? it is my soul place in india. I go there when I want to connect with myself and meet my "shiva garden family" - that is a group of people who return every year and the owners, jaian, sonia and their family.
shiva garden is a place about the inner. about a certain vibration, a feeling, a meta theme of healing and wonder and well being.
it is about the smiles you exchange with the people you meet when you go get a chai. it is about the hugs you give and receive. the jokes you make, the laughs you create, the feeling you can allow yourself to relax and just be, in the now.
it is jayans smiley "good morning" when he asks you if you want your chai as usual. it is the caress sonia gives you passing by, with her beautiful daughter divia on her arm, who is such a radiant being, opening everybodies heart. it is the peace you feel when you're "hammocking" with your friends, listening to the palm leaves bristle. it is the talks you come to pass unexpectedly which lead you to a better understanding. it is the small and big miracles that happen when you are there.
shiva garden is about belonging and realness and love. this is why I go back every now and then, to sense this freedom and bliss and to remind myself that all is well.

Room Tip: the big house. "my" room 107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marianna7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1 km away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#11 of 52 in Varkala
143 reviews
0.1 km away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#27 of 52 in Varkala
147 reviews
0.3 km away
MK Gardens Surf & Yoga House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Lost Hostel, Varkala - Helipad
0.6 km away
Black Beach Resort
Black Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Varkala
138 reviews
0.4 km away
Bamboo Village
Bamboo Village
#49 of 103 in Varkala
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Garden

Address: North Cliff Kurakkanni | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: ₹ 893 - ₹ 3,638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHIVA GARDEN is one among the most reputed home stays in Varkala. Perched near a majestic red cliff overlooking the Arabian Sea, this charming home stay offers many warm hospitable services as well as a fantastic garden view. Here we have a magnificent garden growing many famous Ayurvedic plants and trees, surrounding the resort. Guests are only minutes away from the famous 2000 years old Janardhana Swamy Temple, Kappil beach and Angengo Fort built by the British East India company in the 17th century. Shiva Garden is the perfect base for leisure and you may never forget this in your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Shiva Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Garden Hotel Varkala
Shiva Garden Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing