We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my soul place.”
Review of Shiva Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shiva Garden
Ranked #12 of 103 Varkala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I came back to shiva garden for the third time this season. what can I say? it is my soul place in india. I go there when I want to connect with myself and meet my "shiva garden family" - that is a group of people who return every year and the owners, jaian, sonia and their family.
shiva garden is a place about the inner. about a certain vibration, a feeling, a meta theme of healing and wonder and well being.
it is about the smiles you exchange with the people you meet when you go get a chai. it is about the hugs you give and receive. the jokes you make, the laughs you create, the feeling you can allow yourself to relax and just be, in the now.
it is jayans smiley "good morning" when he asks you if you want your chai as usual. it is the caress sonia gives you passing by, with her beautiful daughter divia on her arm, who is such a radiant being, opening everybodies heart. it is the peace you feel when you're "hammocking" with your friends, listening to the palm leaves bristle. it is the talks you come to pass unexpectedly which lead you to a better understanding. it is the small and big miracles that happen when you are there.
shiva garden is about belonging and realness and love. this is why I go back every now and then, to sense this freedom and bliss and to remind myself that all is well.

Room Tip: the big house. "my" room 107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marianna7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

Wow, what a place is this. I would have never left this place. Even though I stayed here for very less time but the memories are deep rooted. Probably I can say the best place to be in varkala.
Special thanks ato Jayan and sonia. These guys are doing amazingly good to keep thier guest happily at thier stay.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. More over you might never stay at the rooms since they have such a lovely garden area between the coconut trees.

I am just awaiting for my next Kerla trip and I would definetely stay here for a week.

Room Tip: Previously I opted for a tree hut thinking it would be a fancy stay but not an option for couples as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shiv_Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Wow wow WOW!!
What can I say, I absolutely love this place..
Full to the brim of good vibes.
You come, and you never want to leave.
The traditional keralan breakfast is amazing, among the other food choices.
Set out in between a garden of coconut palms, banana trees and papaya...this place is paradise.
Jayan and Sonia have done really well to make this a beautiful family homely vibe, with little baby Divya adventurously walking around and a pet dog, among the beautiful people you meet here. It is hard to not have your heart stolen.
Also I really enjoyed Sonia's morning yoga classes. Her teaching approach is so caring and warming.

Like many, I stayed longer then intended.
Highly recommend to anybody visiting Varkala.
You join a ever growing family here.
Looking forward to returning :).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricky v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

In fact we only visited Shiva Garden for dinner (as recommended by locals) that resulted to be one of the best ,and most original meals we had in Kerala. Therefore, I would like to take the opportunity and recommend the restaurant of the place. Fresh and traditionally homemade food served in their very peaceful garden.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Athanasia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The moment I entered Shiva Garden, everything felt so peaceful and relaxed. I had planned to stay just a few days, but ended up staying almost a month. I loved the big garden, with its coconut trees, banana trees, hammocks, swings and tree huts. Every morning I started my day with yoga. I really liked Sonia's way of teaching and her guided meditations. Also an astrology / numerology session with her gave me a lot of insights. Varkala is a perfect place to find the balance between self development, relaxation and social time. Almost everybody who ends up at Shiva Garden, stays much longer than they originally intended. Therefore you really get to know each other and it's so nice to spend time together. Varkala, and especially Shiva Garden, is a place which is pretty difficult to leave...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marjolijn1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1 km away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#11 of 52 in Varkala
143 reviews
0.1 km away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#27 of 52 in Varkala
147 reviews
0.3 km away
MK Gardens Surf & Yoga House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Lost Hostel, Varkala - Helipad
0.6 km away
Black Beach Resort
Black Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Varkala
138 reviews
0.4 km away
Bamboo Village
Bamboo Village
#48 of 103 in Varkala
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Garden

Address: North Cliff Kurakkanni | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: ₹ 893 - ₹ 3,638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHIVA GARDEN is one among the most reputed home stays in Varkala. Perched near a majestic red cliff overlooking the Arabian Sea, this charming home stay offers many warm hospitable services as well as a fantastic garden view. Here we have a magnificent garden growing many famous Ayurvedic plants and trees, surrounding the resort. Guests are only minutes away from the famous 2000 years old Janardhana Swamy Temple, Kappil beach and Angengo Fort built by the British East India company in the 17th century. Shiva Garden is the perfect base for leisure and you may never forget this in your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Shiva Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Garden Hotel Varkala
Shiva Garden Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing