We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation, fantastic food and friendly staff.”
Review of Shiva Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shiva Garden
Ranked #16 of 97 Varkala B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accomodation, fantastic food and friendly staff.”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We found Shiva Gardens by chance and end up staying for 7 days. The room was clean and had all that we required, including a mosquito net. Jayan, the manager and his staff made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The resteraunt served the most authentic Keralan food in town with everything cooked fresh. The beach was only a short walk away and the garden was a welcome relief from the heat of the day. I'm not sure when we'll get back to Varkala but when we do we would definetly stay at Shiva Gardens. We would happily recommend this guest house to anyone looking for a relaxing good value place to stay. Chances are you'll end up staying longer than you expected.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    41
    8
    5
    16
See reviews for
15
49
70
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We were directed to an another homestay but fortunately the wheel of the autorishaw exploded just in front of the entrance of the Shiva Garden! Very nice place, friendly people, good food and perfect prices! I would suggest to evryone to spend some nights in Varkala and especially in this place. Room was really clean and we loved the balcony, perfect place where having a rest after a day spent surfing the waves of the indian ocean!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucadalfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Shiva Gardens in Varkala was our first stop of many in India. Jayan the owner is very helpful and easyily approachable although very quiet and keeps himself to himself.
We enjoyed our time here as it's close to the beach/cliff front and our room was clean and spacious with no insect trouble at all.

Jayan offers biycly rentals at 100rps a day, which we took full advantage of and went on rides along the cliff and into Varkala town.

Varkala town isn't to great to be honest but the cliff edge is full of lovely restaurants and bars with free wifi (just ask for the password) our particular favrourite was ABBA! Lovely food and great views for the sunset.

I would recommend Shiva, it's a quiet and easy frst place to ease you into the Indian way of life. I've also heard the food here is great but we never tried it as we found many places on the cliff realy nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HippyHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This is a great place to stay with small children. The owner and his staff are very friendly and helpful. The apartments are well equipped, clean and priced fairly. It is only a few minutes walk from the cliff and beaches. All amenities needed are within short walking distance.

Room Tip: The apartments at the back of the property will give you a lot of privacy and are in a peaceful sett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgvargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Decided to stay in this guest house because we could book the room in advance and arrange the pick up from the airport in the midnight.

This was a livery place with independent travelers. We met the people who are backpacking in India or learning the yoga or marshall arts in Verkala.

Our room was very simple, but nothing bad. Guest house people took care of us very well and their food was awesome too. Also they organize small backwater tour almost everyday.

We did not have any problem during our stay, but only the issue was the street in front of the Shiva Garden was flooded after the heavy rain.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jtrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.7 km away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#22 of 52 in Varkala
143 reviews
1.7 km away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
247 reviews
1.1 km away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
1.3 km away
Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff
0.0 km away
Heavenly Breeze
Heavenly Breeze
#32 of 97 in Varkala
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Garden

Property: Shiva Garden
Address: North Cliff Kurakkanni | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price range (per night): ₹ 770 - ₹ 3,144
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHIVA GARDEN is one among the most reputed home stays in Varkala. Perched near a majestic red cliff overlooking the Arabian Sea, this charming home stay offers many warm hospitable services as well as a fantastic garden view. Here we have a magnificent garden growing many famous Ayurvedic plants and trees, surrounding the resort. Guests are only minutes away from the famous 2000 years old Janardhana Swamy Temple, Kappil beach and Angengo Fort built by the British East India company in the 17th century. Shiva Garden is the perfect base for leisure and you may never forget this in your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Shiva Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Garden Hotel Varkala
Shiva Garden Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing