We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
143
41
9
6
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
41
9
6
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner basket ball perfect place home away from home dining table laid back mosquito net double bed highly recommend this place off season varkala cliff sonia dorm hammocks chill volleyball india
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We were directed to an another homestay but fortunately the wheel of the autorishaw exploded just in front of the entrance of the Shiva Garden! Very nice place, friendly people, good food and perfect prices! I would suggest to evryone to spend some nights in Varkala and especially in this place. Room was really clean and we loved the balcony, perfect place where having a rest after a day spent surfing the waves of the indian ocean!!

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucadalfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Shiva Gardens in Varkala was our first stop of many in India. Jayan the owner is very helpful and easyily approachable although very quiet and keeps himself to himself.
We enjoyed our time here as it's close to the beach/cliff front and our room was clean and spacious with no insect trouble at all.

Jayan offers biycly rentals at 100rps a day, which we took full advantage of and went on rides along the cliff and into Varkala town.

Varkala town isn't to great to be honest but the cliff edge is full of lovely restaurants and bars with free wifi (just ask for the password) our particular favrourite was ABBA! Lovely food and great views for the sunset.

I would recommend Shiva, it's a quiet and easy frst place to ease you into the Indian way of life. I've also heard the food here is great but we never tried it as we found many places on the cliff realy nice.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HippyHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This is a great place to stay with small children. The owner and his staff are very friendly and helpful. The apartments are well equipped, clean and priced fairly. It is only a few minutes walk from the cliff and beaches. All amenities needed are within short walking distance.

Room tip: The apartments at the back of the property will give you a lot of privacy and are in a peaceful setting.
Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgvargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Decided to stay in this guest house because we could book the room in advance and arrange the pick up from the airport in the midnight.

This was a livery place with independent travelers. We met the people who are backpacking in India or learning the yoga or marshall arts in Verkala.

Our room was very simple, but nothing bad. Guest house people took care of us very well and their food was awesome too. Also they organize small backwater tour almost everyday.

We did not have any problem during our stay, but only the issue was the street in front of the Shiva Garden was flooded after the heavy rain.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Junko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Very good and nice place. Food is very very GOOD. A little bit expensive, but not so compare the other others restaurants on the cliff. Anyway the quality was here. !!!!
This hotel is very quiet, room are clean, and Managers: lovely.
The only problem with Varkala....the cliff is full of trash...pitty!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tworoupies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews