We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Destinia.com
Trip.com
StayForLong
eDreams
Priceline
View all 6 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
52
29
9
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
52
29
9
10
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

We booked this place for the New Year experience via Booking.com and the ratings of 8.5 misled us to book this place.

Pros:
1. Looks great on the exterior
2. Is located near to the beach, other restaurants on the cliff and Varkala Aquarium
3. Clean and decent size swimming pool however no one to manage it so many we jumping into the pool coming from the beach wearing non swim-wear
4. The reception staff is approachable and helpful.

Cons:
1. We booked one villa which had a French window that we couldn't open as there was no mosquito net so it felt claustrophobic. The bathroom door had no handle. There was beer bottles below the sink. The other room we booked was a double bed room which was so tiny. Again couldn't open the windows as there was construction material outside.
2. Do not fall for the free breakfast trap as they don't have any spread. You can choose to have bread toast (stale bread) and plain omelet and fruit platter plus fresh fruit juice (diluted as ever) after a long wait of over an hour. It's better to skip and enjoy good breakfast at restaurants near the cliff. On 1st Jan they conveniently denied breakfast stating late night party and then suddenly said Restaurant is open. The staff is so lethargic and clueless to what we ask forward.
3. The WiFi is so bad that it's better to use local data plans
4. There's no private beach to this resort. You need to walk down the road for few mins to reach the edge and then walk down the rocks to reach the beach

It's better to review lot of other good hotels on the cliff which have good restaurants too.
4. Do not make a mistake of ordering any meals here. Pathetic taste after waiting for over 1.5 hours. Plus half the items on a big fat menu book doesn't exist here.
5. They do not clean the rooms or replace with water everyday. Only if you ask you get water. We stayed for 3 days and the bins were overflowing in our room.
6. There's no coverlet on the bed only a think blanket which was stinking.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Averyl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2019 via mobile

We stayed at the end of our trip in this amazing place. The room was super clean and cozy and the hotel offers everything that you might need :) the stuff is simple amazing, very helpful and lovely guys. I would highly recommend to stay in this lovely place and will be back soon! Thanks to all for this amazing stay!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank glorigru
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 April 2019 via mobile

We stayed two days in the sweet cottage, in front fot the cottage is a cosy hammock!
We loved our stay in Thiruvambadi beach retreat! We had a really great time there and all of the people are so so nice, really friendly and lovable!
I can really recommend this hotel!
Thank you all for this nice stay!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lisapendl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 March 2019

We holiday in Kerala nearly every year for at least 6 weeks and this was our 4th visit to Varkala, Going for a month this time we wanted to try somewhere new. We don't look for high end, luxurious accommodation, just somewhere comfortable, friendly and with a pool... and that's what we got.
After a few initial issues we ended up in a very nice room thanks to the concern and help from Anandhu and his staff. Suffice to say that we had a long relaxing holiday despite damaging my foot badly at the beginning, eased considerably by the support from the staff and our auto rickshaw driver.
The food at the hotel was good; however, unfortunately on the first night the manager introduced us to the nearby JaiRam Cafe on the cliff and we almost never left!
We understand people may have there reservations about such hotels and probably higher standards (or are just fussy) but for us this was almost perfect and we intend to return next year.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MikeEKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2019

Like others on here I am loathe to give a poor review but given the amazing holiday we had overall wanted to give an honest picture of our stay over Xmas. Firstly some pro's
1. The hotel is in a really good location and is a lovely building (outside)
2. Its near to the black beach and the aquarium but is only two minutes from the north cliff
3. Air con worked a treat
Cons
1. We had the breakfast on the first day and didn't go back - really poor. The 'eating area' was under construction and not set up at all for catering in any way. Basically it was table and chairs under a cover outside the hotel. Floors were being put down and walls painted during our stay.
2. The pool whilst a fair size was murky and looked odd - the kids used it a couple of times but I didn't trust it
3. We had a deluxe room but it was really spartan - towels were really stained, shower didn't work, no hot water - no pictures on the wall etc
4. Ambience - none. We seemed to be the only guests there in December. On our last night another family arrived at short notice they had been travelling and were looking for accommodation.
5. Assistance - almost none. No offer to bring (already paid for) breakfast to room when the dining area was clearly non existent, asked for help to buy train tickets "just go and buy them".Barely said hello and goodbye.Most of the staff were on their phones.
We tried to find other places to stay after a couple of nights but couldn't find one as it was December 25th by this point.
Would we go again ? No.
Not sure who is writing these amazing reviews.

To sum up could be amazing due to its location and the building but desperately needs to up its game

Room tip: Find a different hotel
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KCW132
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews