We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A peaceful clean spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 95 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A peaceful clean spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We spent 4 nights in January 2012 in a a/c cottage Rs 4500 per night.
It was a very clean and a comforatable room. The owner is very nice and helpful, the garden very well kept, with shade and sun throughout the day. Hardly any barking dogs around. You can take private yoga lessons (the teacher is good, not excellent) in the garden....which is a beautiful spot to do yoga.
It would have been nice if breakfast would have been with more choices. Four days in a row, fruitsalad, curd, toast with the same jam, gets a bit boring. This is not to place to be if you are after many shops and restaurants next door. If you don't mind a 15min pleasant stroll on the beach and like a quiet erea, this is perfect. Although I must say I would not be willing to pay more (especially as we did not use the a/c). Minor things: the door to the bathroom is very heave to open/close. The hot water was not always working very well.

Room Tip: The bottom cottage on the left side (when facing the sea). You'll have a hammock in front of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    40
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
30
114
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here in September and Varkala & the Seashore Resort were one of the highlights of our trip. Having come from Delhi, the Seashore Resort was the perfect retreat - it was spotlessly clean, the only sounds you could hear were the waves of the Arabian Sea and the view from our room was beautiful - the sunset from our balcony was amazing. Breakfast was brought to our room every morning (the freshly squeezed pineapple juice was a highlight) and Shine and the staff couldn't do enough for you (including giving me a lift to the train station on the back of his scooter). Perfect location as its away from the main cliff but close enough to walk or a short tuk tuk ride to all the bars/restaurants. You can access a beach from a path leading down the cliff and this was probably the nicest beach I saw in Varkala, however, be careful as the waves are lethal. I would definitely recommend Varkala and definitely recommend the Seahore Resort, we really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: 1st floor cottage with balcony if you want the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is my second time staying at Seashore resort and it just gets better and better. Everything at the resort is run smoothly and the whole place exudes peace and tranquility. The breakfast is just perfect and the rooms are cleaned daily with fresh sheets and towels. Nobody could stay here and not come away feeling like they found a piece of heaven. I will be going back again and again and again...It is without doubt one of the best places I have found to stay in India.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saramc_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Helder, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed in january- february for almost two weeks in sea shore. It was a wonderfull stay! The staff is very kind. I was hid by a riksja en needed to stay in a hospital for a night. Shine (owner) came and visit me and brought me fresh pillows, food and stuff. So nice and kind! Sea Shore itself is on a great location, only 10 minutes walk from the more busy part North clif. The garden is very comfortable with lots of hammocks between palm trees, got sea view and you can reach the beach by walking down the stairs from the garden.
Breakfast is very nice and healty. Rooms are spotless clean and comfortable. The more expensive ones are a must to stay in. I would defenitly come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wietske W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is a very pleasant, attractively priced place to stay in Varkala. Our cottage was very clean, spacious, and had a nice view of the ocean (the cottages and rooms are set back from the cliff, so you don't get a view of the waves. The best views are probably from the top floor of the cottages (which I presume are the AC ones?). Our non-AC room had two ceiling fans, which more than sufficed to ward away the February humidity.

The location is nice in that you have a small beach more or less to yourself. It is much less crowded than the main beach, but there are no life guards here -- and Varkala's beaches can have strong and potentially fatal rip currents. (Also Google pollution and Varkala beaches -- reports we found dissuaded us from actually going in the water.)

The location was somewhat a drag for food though, as most of the decent restaurants are all about a 15-20 minute walk away.) The breakfast at the Seashore Resort also seemed a bit perfunctory.

All in all, we highly recommend this place. However, we did have one negative experience. About $100 were stolen from hotel room. The owner, who was greatly distressed by this, kindly offered to reimburse us.

Room Tip: Our non-AC cottage was spacious. The top floor of the northern most cottage seems like it would hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dieWelt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 km away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 km away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.6 km away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#8 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.0 km away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
2.6 km away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort

Property: Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort
Address: South Cliff | West Janardhana Swamy Temple, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,353 - ₹ 5,919
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a very beautiful piece of paradise. It's a guest house (I couldn't call it something so cold as a resort) that delivers excellent service with a low key spirit of wanting to make your experience as enjoyable as possible. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the higher-end suites are exceptionally lovely and all for prices that make this the very best value I have almost ever experienced in all my travels. 'taken from guest review'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelGuru so you can book your Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashore Hotel Varkala
Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing