We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Homestay Gem.”
Review of Casa Eva Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Eva Luna
Ranked #2 of 103 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Perfect place to stay in Varkala. Esther and Katrina are fabulous hosts and the house is so beautiful it's a great place to hang out between excursions. Easy walk to the beach, shops and amenities etc. Great food too. Comfortable rooms. No mosquitos. Cannot praise highly enough.

Room Tip: Any room will do as there are great balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IvorS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2017

I spend a week in January 2017 with my two children and their grandparents at Esther and Kathrin's fantastic homestay. It is a real gem. Peacefully, green and with so many small details taken care of by the hosts. For example, I personally love the fact that you can get filter water (also ice cold!) all the day free of cost. It is great for the environment as well as for us guest. We truly had a wonderful stay. Playing in the hammocks in the garden and getting many good advices and a helping hand whenever we needed it. We felt so much at home. And the place is really value for money. You have a little way to walk to the beach, but it is worth it all. I have been a frequent traveler to India for almost 20 years now - Eva Casa Luna is now top on my favorite list of places to stay in Varkala! I hope to be back in a not too far future.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sanna_Schliewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

First time in Asia, having travelled extensively elsewhere, this was my very first stop. Not sure I could've picked better.

Lovely clean double room with en suite at a price affordable for solo travellers. Mixed crowd at the homestay, which here was a villa set in the jungle right between the temple and the beach, perfect for all the amenities.

WiFi, free water, excellent travel and medical advice (with assistance if requested), will break high denomination notes for you (very useful at the start of a trip) and provision for drinks/ meals if desired. Friendly people, lent me an iron and ironing board and were able to very affordably wash clothes had I needed it.

It's a beautiful enough place that many simply sit out on the terrace in the garden in the evening instead of going out. I had some great conversation there myself. An aryuvedic practice is inside with a separate room so if necessary you can be seen there. One guest used it and spoke highly of it for price and quality. Only downside I could see is that the mosquito net had some holes that I sealed with tape, but that's it. Enjoy!

Well recommended.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank SKR332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

If, like us, you value daily housekeeping, a spotless room, hot showers, unlimited drinking water, great coffee, cold beer and toilet paper (!!) you won't be disappointed. Casa Eva Luna lives up to the excellent reviews and is a super homestay well managed by a friendly English/Spanish couple. It's in a nice quiet (hard to find!) back street and the 10 minute walk to the beach was a nice stroll. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kath m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

This was my second stay at CEL, first time solo, this time as a couple. Little has changed. It is spotlessly clean, has friendly and helpful owners, the best breakfast I have had in India, lovely dinners, a peaceful location yet only five or so minutes from the hustle and bustle at North cliff. It attracts a nice clientele, it is inexpensive and if I get the chance I'll come for a third time. Thanks Esther and Katrina.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dearauntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.7 km away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
398 reviews
0.2 km away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#11 of 52 in Varkala
144 reviews
2 km away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
MK Gardens Surf & Yoga House
0.6 km away
Ashiyana Cliff & Beach Resort
0.9 km away
Keratheeram Beach Resort
Keratheeram Beach Resort
#15 of 103 in Varkala
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Eva Luna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Eva Luna

Address: Off Kurrakkani Road | Near Krishna supermarket, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: ₹ 1,338 - ₹ 2,166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Eva Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Eva Luna is the name of Kerala Konnections homestay, located a short distance from the beach and cliff. We offer a total of seven well appointed rooms in two different categories, three Standard and four Superior. Each room category is located in a different building but on the same plot of 3000m2 land. The standard room building two floors and all rooms have marble floors, ceiling fans, attached bathroom, fitted shelves, desk, chair, hanging space, and come with mosquito nets and towels. There is also two large lounges and two communal terraces on each floor. We also have an ayurveda treatment and massage room where guests can enjoy a wide range of treatments and massages. The superior rooms are housed in a separate one story building with rooms on each side and two large lounges and a communal terrace. All rooms come with modern attached bathroom with hot water in the shower, ceiling fans, soft mattresses, wardrobe, desk, chair, bedside table, mosquito net and towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Casa Eva Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Eva Luna Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing