We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Signature Residence, Good for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Signature Residence
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Signature Residence, Good for the Price”
Reviewed 7 January 2010

I stayed for three days at the Signature Residence on the North Cliff of Varkala Beach. My major complaint is that the room was not cleaned once during the entire three days, even though the notice on the inside door stated that the rooms are cleaned daily. I should have complained to the staff; but couldn't be bothered. I breakfast was OK; but nothing speacial. I recommend having breakfast at any of the restaurants on the North Clif. It wil only set you back RS100 and is much better than hotel fare. Whilst I liked the Signature Residence, I recommend that tourists spend a bit more and book a hotel right on the North Cliff as the Signature residence was set in the back from the beach through a maze of foot paths. That's fine in the day; but navigating unlit fot paths at night in India is scary, if not dangerous (rats, snakes, and surprsingly motor scooters!) Varakala Beach is by far the best both the best beach in Kerala and the best area to stay whilst in Kerala.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    20
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
5
28
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We arrived after have received a confirmation on our booking online, however the staff couldt find our reservation when we arrived. Not the best start...

The room was very nice, large and comfy, and our initial impression was very good.

On the second day our doorknob broke, so the door couldn't be locked from the outside, and despite all the staff's promises to fix it, it was never fixed for the entire week of our stay. On the 5th day, the whole handle broke of, so that we had to barricade the door with the coffee table at night to shut the door.

Our room was not cleaned once for our entire stay, despite asking the staff to get it clean, and get us clean towells, this never happend, and our toilet started to smell of elephants in the end, because the toilet leaked to the bathroom floor.

The restaurant didn't have a menu, so when we had to order something, you just had order something and hope they had it. Despite ordering the same menu on several occasions, it was never quite the same, that was served to us, but otherwise, the restaurant staff was very helpfull.

When my husband fell ill, the staff was very helpfull, when we were forced to stay in our room all day, to take care of him. However in the end the bad communication with the staff and lack of cleaning drove me mad, and we moved 10 m down the street to another hotel, for the remainder of our holiday.

I would recommend this hotel, if you only have to stay for a night or two, despite all our difficulty the rooms were very nice upon arrival.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigge29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Signature is a very pleasent hotel. We enjoyed this new place - the quietness and the beauty, the very friendly staff and the five star restaurant with its good food and complete service. Lal is a brilliant cook and Sri the perfect waiter and guide. John is helpfull in the reception and all the other emplyes are so fine and kind!
The rooms are spacius and nice and the view and sorroundings are nice and lokal. Very short to all the crowd at the cliff - but nice quiet in behind!
Ole & Rie from Denmark

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RieDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2009

We stayed at Signature Residents for 11 nights in January 2009. This is a fantastic little hotel in Varkala, clean and safe with a lovely small friendly atmosphere. The location is great as it is only 3 - minute walk from restaurants, shops and about 5 - minute walk from the beach.
We stayed at non a/c cottage which was very well furnished and comfortable. Our cottage was cleaned to perfection every day. There were no problems with hot water at all.
The staff is very - very helpful and friendly. You will never experience such friendly service!!!
We would highly recommend the Signature Residents, it is very good value for money.
We look forward to one day going back to Varkala and going back to the Signature Residents. Thank you for making our stay so special!

Nanni very much once again!

Anneli & Raul

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneliEstonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We booked this hotel having read other reviews on trip advisor and I have to say I don't fully understand why it is amongst the top 5 hotels in Varkala. We stayed here for 3 nights and yes the staff were very friendly and we have no complaints there but the accommodation is very basic and doesn't have much character. The main thing that lets this hotel down for us was the fact that in the whole 3 days we were there our room was not cleaned once which left our room and the open shower full of sand! We also had to ask for fresh towels which was not acceptable really as the notice on the room door states rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels. The hotel is in a good location for quietness but if like us you enjoy eating late it's a bit of a pain to get back to later on as you have to walk down dark pathways which can be hazardous. Having wandered around Varkala on our return 10 days later we found there is far better accommodation along the cliff which was cheaper, cleaner and had more character.

  • Liked — The staff were friendly!
  • Disliked — The room not being cleaned
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebecJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 km away
Dreams Beach Resort
Dreams Beach Resort
#47 of 50 in Varkala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.6 km away
Zion Villa Beach View Resort
0.2 km away
Kerala Bamboo House
Kerala Bamboo House
#34 of 50 in Varkala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 km away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.1 km away
Ayur Theeram Ayurvedic Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Signature Residence? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Signature Residence

Property: Signature Residence
Address: North Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,500 - ₹ 3,500
Hotel Class:3 star — Signature Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, quiet and peaceful place with comfortable, clean stylish rooms and independent cottages, nicely situated in a tropical garden to relax and enjoy - that is Signature Residence at North Cliff Varkala, Kerala. With a choice of three unique cottages or well appointed hotel rooms, Signature Residence aims to offer you luxurious comfort and security. Only 2 minutes walk from Varkala's stunning Papanasham Cliffs and beach to Signature Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Signature Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signature Residence Varkala, Kerala
Signature Residence Hotel Varkala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing