We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for the price this is a gem of a value property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Classic Sarovar Portico
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Trivandrum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2012

the only flip side of the hotel is its location in one of the small lanes in thampanoor called manjalikulam road. but for that this is one solid value for the price they charge. they have a rooftop swimming pool, goo buffet breakfast spread, fitness center, really good room, on call options like iron box, hair dryver and tea/coffee maker etc. make it truly good. only issue is the wi-fi which simply did not work across my stay somehow. except for that absolutely nothing wrong about the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jxpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 195 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

Very average rooms, poor service. Only respite was that we paid only 1500 inr for our delux room, thanks to Agoda. For that price, this is a nice place. But then again, only for that price - which in our case was a heavily discounted price.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kunalpareek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights. The first two were booked thru' makemytrip. I got a good price and the experience was ok.
The check in is fast, the room at the first glance is good. The amenities provided on the first evening were good.
But the difficuties started the next day onwards. I am sure the washrooom was not cleaned - only the towels were replaced. The light bulb over the chair and table has a switch somewhere which was not traceable even to the bell boy.
The complimentary fruit dish was only on day of arrival.
The gym for some reason is closed at 7pm. How can a person who attends office/works return back by 7pm? So, in a way, it is not useful.
The break fast is the same everyday and it is also not exciting or enticing. The dosas/utappas are not served hot. The toaster concked off, so even simple bread toast was not available. The Pineapple juice though was very fresh and nice.

The worst experience was the 3rd evening. It took any where between 40-60 minutes to bring the menu card, the drink and the dinner. Apparently the br is not functional or ready yet. The prices of alcohol are very high. Serving ice cubes takes an hour. The food quality is okayish. All this puts you off especially after a hard day's work.

I am sure there should be better options available in Trivandrum at the price paid here. I dont think I will go back to this place and I am likely to be in Trivandrum almost every month! Need to find a good place -may be next time I will be lucky.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjayicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I am surprised that this is listed as a fours star hotel. It should have 2.5 stars or 3 at the very best but DEFINITELY NOT 4 stars! The rooms were clean + comfortable and the location is very good (five minute walk to the central railway station. The entire hotel's security (room lock/key system) was down for my entire stay and so, every time I had to get into my room, the hotel had to send someone with the master key to unlock my door.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingNut1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I am writing my first review ever, never though of writing ever. THis is very nice hotel I used to stay here every time I would go to Trivandrum. But this time it was terribe, none of the key was working; you have to come down every time if you are out of your room. Service desk was no where close to as use to be. Just by having swiming pool you can not write 4 Star property.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLASSICAVENUEHOTEL, Director of Sales at Classic Sarovar Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you for notifying us of your complaint. We strive to provide you with the best possible service but unfortunately it failed to meet your expectation.

We are sorry that you received service that prompted you to inform that you did not meet expectation, and we regret for all the inconvenience and frustration that you had experienced.Our engineering department has notified and rectified the Key problem which occurred during your stay with us and we really apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you will continue to give us opportunities to serve you.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention.


Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trivandrum hotels
0.5 km away
Hycinth By Sparsa
Hycinth By Sparsa
#1 of 97 in Trivandrum
771 reviews
0.5 km away
Keys Select Hotel Thiruvananthapuram
4.3 km away
Uday Suites
Uday Suites
#4 of 97 in Trivandrum
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Apollo Dimora Hotel
Apollo Dimora Hotel
#3 of 97 in Trivandrum
205 reviews
1.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
#2 of 97 in Trivandrum
706 reviews
1.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
#5 of 97 in Trivandrum
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Sarovar Portico? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Sarovar Portico

Address: Manjalikulam Road | Thampanoor, Trivandrum 695001, India (Formerly Classic Avenue)
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Trivandrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Trivandrum
Price Range: ₹ 3,042 - ₹ 5,242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Classic Sarovar Portico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Yatra, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Ostrovok so you can book your Classic Sarovar Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Sarovar Portico Trivandrum, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing