We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The best location, great property and even greater people...!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orion Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orion Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Trivandrum
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best location, great property and even greater people...!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We just finished a 10 day trip of Kerala. We stayed at Orion for 3 nights and we are still rueing the fact that we did not stay at this hotel for our entire trip.

Positives: 1. Great great great location. Just sit in the balcony and watch how the world goes by before you.

2. This property is run by some great people. Leelamma is just awesome. A great person to chat with, share your thoughts. We were unfortunate to not be able to met George personally. Hopefully on our next trip we will.
A small example of why she is such a lovely person: We had a train to catch at 6 in the morning. The night before we were so deep asleep we did not hear her knocking at the door. She was trying to enquire about how we are planning to reach the station. Anyways, the next morning we were all ready by the time its 5am. It was completely dark outside and there was not a single cab/auto visible anywhere near (though we were told by others that transportation won't be a problem so early in the morning). But she already figured out the fact that we won't be able to catch our train so she was sitting near the reception all dressed up to drop us at the station by her own car and we somehow managed to catch our train that day. I just can't thank her enough for this gesture.

Negatives: Can't think of any about the property.
But there is this issue that almost all the restaurants in kovalam down their shutters a bit early.

Overall a great location and when we visit again we will surely be in Orion only.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor. It will provide a wider view of the sea and the unblocked view of the lighthou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pradeepkr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    27
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
15
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights - George responded to emails immediately and collected us from Airport at Midinght. Room was upper floor/front with balcony overlooking the sea/lighthouse - western bathroom and double bed/wardrobe/3xmains points. sound of crashing waves was therapeutic - but maybe earplugs for dogs (many in Kovalam) barking? Clean and tidy - free wifi in reception. No breakfast but many cheap options on the strip. Helpful staff. Great location - if you can get it at the right price - there is much competition in Kovalam. Recommended.

Room Tip: Balcony at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherylpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Booking :- I contacted the owner via email for the room reservations and received prompt responses for every little question that I asked. Since the booking was requested for the Christmas week, which is a peak season, I was asked to deposit the full amount to the proprietor's bank account, for which I received an immediate booking confirmation.

Location :- The hotel is located right on the Lighthouse beach and has fantastic sea facing rooms. As per my understanding, all the rooms are sea facing and come with a balcony, but it is always better to check with the owner once before making the actual booking.

Experience with the owner :- Simply fantastic. Both George and his mother Leelamma went out of their way to make the stay comfortable. The Lighthouse beach area is a sharp drop from the main road level and the road is narrow with very little parking or turning space available at the extreme end of the road ( near the beach). We were a large group and travelled in a tempo traveller, which is a large vehicle. We called George on his phone and he guided our driver, arranged a make shift parking in another hotel's premises and personally came to the spot to receive us and take us to his hotel. He even arranged for porters to carry our luggage. Really appreciated this gesture.

Also on the 2nd of Jan 2012, we had to stay in a hotel in Trivandrum and came to Kovalam to take a swim. Leelamma was gracious to offer us a room for sometime so that we could change our clothes after the swim, at no extra charge.

Will definitely return to this hotel and recommend the same to all my close friends.

Room Tip: This is a comfortable property but not a luxurious one - do not expect a phone or a tv. However bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debadatt2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puttaparthi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Oriont is brilliant: I get answers to all emails quickly. Pick up at Air Port and warm welcome.
Breakfast buffet in front of room. Generous package for a day trip. Elephant washing and ride. Manager Mother Leela and son Georg offer excellent service for moderately price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Urs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

For second time I stayed at Orion with friends. We all liked it. It is close to the sea and it is very easy to talk to the owners if you have some problems. They always want your best..

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marit570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trivandrum
0.3 km away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 km away
Hawah Beach Resort
Hawah Beach Resort
#25 of 87 in Trivandrum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.9 km away
Sun Tara Beach Resort
Sun Tara Beach Resort
#57 of 87 in Trivandrum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#24 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.9 km away
Golden Turtles Beach Resorts (Homestay)
27.1 km away
Palmleaves Beach Resort
Palmleaves Beach Resort
#29 of 87 in Trivandrum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Beach Resort

Property: Orion Beach Resort
Address: Lighthouse Beach, Trivandrum 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Trivandrum
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Trivandrum
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,362 - ₹ 2,520
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 rooms with 6 additional suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayzilla so you can book your Orion Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Beach Resort Trivandrum, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing