We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”
Review of Orion Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Orion Beach Resort
Ranked #44 of 95 Hotels in Trivandrum
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I stayed at Orion Beach Resort in Kovalam for 8 nights. It's location is a gem and is situated right on the beach strip. Both George & Leela are truly amazing individuals who go out of their way to accommodate you and make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. My room was a seafacing room on the 1st floor which was clean, very spacious and has the best sea view! Both George and Leela was always on hand to offer advise and help with any questions and / or onward travel. Being a solo (female) traveller I felt safe and secure and was treated as family. I will certainly return to Orion with friends and family.

Room Tip: Request Sea Facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy_ACapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2017
Thank you sir, we are happy to hear that we made your trip memorable in Kovalam with the accommodation. we expect to see you in the coming years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    28
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
16
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

This place is right on the beach in a great position. We had the top floor which was big enough for a family, and the view over the water was incredible. For what it is, the price is also reasonable. You're in the middle of the good restaurant area, and really don't need to walk much more than 100m for anything, including the lighthouse. The room was very clean, and view over the walkway from the balcony was great for people spotting (there's always something going on below to entertain). We found the owner to be a friendly lady who was honest and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdsaMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2017
Thank you sir, we are happy to hear that we made your trip memorable in Kovalam with the accommodation. we expect to see you in the coming years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2010

we had a wonderful experience in this sea facing resort. reasonable rates and very good n prompt service of the staff. the owner n staff 're polite and genuine. strongly recommended for good hospitality. will give it 9/10.

good job orion. n thanks for looking after us.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hunter89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2017
Thank you sir, we are happy to hear that we made your trip memorable in Kovalam with the accommodation. we expect to see you in the coming years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOLKATA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

I had paid advance of Rs. 3000 almost 3 months prior to my stay and my reservation was also confirmed by the hotel owner Mr George Joseph.
However, on arrival with my family members I was told that no rooms were available. They had my contact number and email but did not even bother to inform me beforehand. They did not even bother to apologise.
My advise to fellow travellers is to consider carefully before making reservations with this hotel.

  • Liked — No such opinion to give
  • Disliked — Carefree attitude of the staff
  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank nabarunghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejoseph, owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 December 2009
It happens to be that the guest which came there had booked three rooms and we were able to offer them two rooms. The hotel was fully occupied and one of the guest who had to check out couldn't check out due to illness. So we offered them the two rooms and told them that we would arrange the third room in our near hotel.They didnt agree to the offer and told that they want the three rooms in one place. So we arranged there accomadation of three rooms in an other place in our cost as it was our fault. These things were done for them because we were really sorry for them and we could't keep our word due to the illness of the guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

My whife and me ware planning for this November our ~ 12th trip to Kovalam and we always spent our time at the Orion. The family atmosphere is unbeaten and we appreciate the friendship of the owners. They are more than care taking. They offer rooms in the "old" wing of the hotel (all rooms facing the sea) at modest rates and the new rooms are equiped with air condition. So for us it is a holiday destination where we love to go to. At night it is a quiet place provided that you like the sound of the waves.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SagIchNicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2017
Thank you sir, we are happy to hear that we made your trip memorable in Kovalam with the accommodation. we expect to see you in the coming years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trivandrum
12.5 km away
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
#27 of 95 in Trivandrum
20 reviews
0.1 km away
Hawah Beach Resort
Hawah Beach Resort
#23 of 95 in Trivandrum
64 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Sun Tara Beach Resort
Sun Tara Beach Resort
#59 of 95 in Trivandrum
44 reviews
0.4 km away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
217 reviews
11.6 km away
Hotel Galaxy Inn
Hotel Galaxy Inn
#51 of 95 in Trivandrum
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Beach Resort

Property: Orion Beach Resort
Address: Lighthouse Beach, Trivandrum 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Trivandrum
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Trivandrum
Price range (per night): ₹ 707 - ₹ 2,763
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 Rooms With 6 Additional Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Orion Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Beach Resort Trivandrum, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing