We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bakers Hotel - Kovalam”

Bakers Resort Kovalam
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trivandrum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bakers Resort Kovalam
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“The Bakers Hotel - Kovalam”
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We booked thru Expedia.co.uk and paid around 20.00 sterling per night, even thou this was cheap, we did however find much better accommodation down at lighthouse beach for the same price.

There is no breakfast area, and I did find the rooms a bit gloomy. I have travelled to India on 2 previous occasions, so I am well aware of wat the rooms are like, I have had better.

The pool seemed to be cloudy, really didnt fancy a swim, and there is no room for chairs or sunbeds, no sunbeds were found at hotel.

Please take a torch and some candles with you, its a must, as u will be in darkness due to power failure, this can happen quite a few times a day.

Each day we went down to Hotel Seaface and paid 300 rupees each for the use of pool, sunbeds and towels are provided.

Some great food near the beach, the curries are excellent, so enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sindylouDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We had a nice suite of rooms, and we were received with the greatest hospitality and helpfulnes. Abu Baker and his staff are wonderful people, making you feel "part of the family" from day one. No restaurant, but you can have your breakfast served in your room, and Mr. Baker runs a great restaurant closer to the beach. A very open-minded place, and we had some great talks with mr. Baker, who is a truly extraordinary person. This is the place if you want a family-like, relaxed place and can do without a bar and loud music.. With a possibility for self-catering it is an ideal place for long-time stays in Kerala.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remme-Knudsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2008

We stayed in the Maharaja Suite Non A/C. For a family of 6 persons, this is a perfect retreat. The Asoka Beach is walkable ( around half Kilo meter). The path to the beach is not a paved one. but in the daytime when it is not raining, it 's good to take a walk to this beach. The Eve's beach is 1.5 Kms. We took auto rickshaws for Rs 30 oneway which is not that expensive. Eventhough the beach is not closeby, that is actually an advantage as the hotels near beach are kind of crowded with tourists. Fully equipped Kitchen helps you unwind with some cooking skills. There were some glitches getting hotwater in the tap. There were sometimes wood smoke smell ( may be somebody in the next house was cooking?).

Overall, it is an excellent place to stay. I would strongly recommend.

  • Liked — Suite, Food, Location
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SwamyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2008

We recently stayed three nights at the Baker's Hotel. The manager and hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was large but basic, although we really were not wanting for anything. Breakfast was great. This hotel is about a 1-2 km walk to the beach.
Although we had a very pleasant experience here, next time we would likely stay directly on the beach.... probably at Sea Face.

Sea Face was slightly more expensive but had a great beach front view, fantastic restaurant, spa, and very nice rooms (either with airconditioning or not...your choice!)

However, if you are traveling as a family this hotel is likely the best bet for your money as you can get very inexpensive suites with two bedrooms, living room and (very basic) kitchen!

  • Liked — Great price, friendly/helpful staff, had everything that we needed
  • Disliked — We would have preferred to be directly on the beach and could do so for not much more money
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Saved_by_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2007

I found this accomodation excellent...it is far from a hostel...rooms serviced every day...hot showers....air con if required (no need if in cooler period as all rooms have fans and ample windows and balconies.

The accomodation is good for single travellers and families alike, would be a great alternative to more expensive digs as all rooms have kitchens etc.

The family who run the hotel live on site and are available as required for good local information or assistance with traveling arrangements to other destinations (info. accurate and honest)

The surrounding shops are great and the little cafe next door serves good breakfasts and can supply most products required.

Also nearby ISD phones and grocery store.

6 - 8 min walk from Kovalom Beach or 20 to 30 rp. auto rickshaw ride. The distance from the beach is actually a bonus as the beach area can get pretty hectic.

30min (10rps.) bus ride to Trivandrum for larger shopping trips or temple / palace visits.

All in all an excellent experience......would visit again.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Pralahda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trivandrum hotels
11.4 km away
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
#27 of 94 in Trivandrum
19 reviews
11.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
#4 of 94 in Trivandrum
912 reviews
11.3 km away
Hycinth By Sparsa
Hycinth By Sparsa
#1 of 94 in Trivandrum
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Beach and Lake Ayurvedic Resort
12.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
#2 of 94 in Trivandrum
664 reviews
12.5 km away
Uday Suites
Uday Suites
#3 of 94 in Trivandrum
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakers Resort Kovalam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakers Resort Kovalam

Property: Bakers Resort Kovalam
Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Trivandrum 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Trivandrum
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Trivandrum
Price range (per night): ₹ 966 - ₹ 6,374
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Bakers Hotel Kovalam
Bakers Resort Kovalam Trivandrum, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing