We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean and efficient hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trivandrum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trivandrum Hotel
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in Trivandrum
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean and efficient hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The hotel was modern, clean and efficient. The air conditioning was inbuilt and so very good and quiet. The free internet access was great for planning the next part of the trip. The double bed had two single sheets on which did not cover me very well through the night. As with the majority of hotel (even very expensive ones) in Trivandrum, the room did not have a safe.

The restaurant was canteen like and served only indian food, no continental breakfast etc. Also attached to the hotel was a take away and ice cream parlour; very different! The ice creams were lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    55
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
46
30
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here when we first arrived in India. Nothing wrong with the rooms - reliable wifi throughout hotel and basic but clean bedroom and bathroom. Good location, slightly off the busy main road.

But we have since realised it was very overpriced for what you get. The atmosphere amongst staff was awkward. The food in the restaurant was good but having not eaten in India before we weren't offered any guidance as to what we should order or what things even were on the menu. Staff at desk were helpful but I would not recommend this hotel to other travellers, especially if this is where you arrive into India.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globerunner90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Went to Trivandrum in very recently in April, 2012 for some work. Had booked it reading the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, was not disappointed :). The outside of the hotel didn't look as grand as in the pictures but it was ok. It is a very old hotel with a lot of history, has been recently renovated a year or so ago. The online booking gave us a good discount which made it value for money. We paid around 1700 rs for an AC Deluxe double which was a good bargain. The check in was smooth for us but for our friends who arrived some time later, they were made to wait as some VIP was still vacating the room. No elevator though- was quite surprised, my friend was heavily pregnant and it was difficult for her to go up n down the stairs. Also there was a strong smell of fish in the corridor, specially during the lunch hour, may become difficult for the veggies.
Our room was good, quite spacious actually with a double bed, a flat screen tv with a set up box and a couple of chairs and table. There was even a small area which served as a dressing room (no screen though), there was a mini fridge in the room which didnt work. The bathroom was small but clean, we got running hot water 24hrs, no problems there. Overall really liked the room. They have power back up!
The restaurant service was extremely slow, i Have yet to see slower service in my life.How can they manage 15 or more tables with just 2-3 waiters is beyond me, the food was actually getting over in between. Having said that, they serve an authentic Kerala thali (if u have the taste for it and for coconut oil), i liked it, it was the most popular item during lunch with lots of rush. There was no North Indian served during lunch despite of an extensive menu, only during the dinner. The other cuisines were just so-so, they mainly specialize in Kerala food. Tea and coffee were bad, the Kerala style snacks were good. The food was very reasonably priced though.
The waiters and staff were very polite, so were the guys at the reception.
One thing i want to mention which is the most important part of my review i think, as we traveled as a group of 4 and got a chance to see different deluxe rooms, i realised that there is a lot of difference even among the same category of rooms, that took me by surprise! For example, the AC Deluxe double on the 2nd floor was much more smaller and not so well maintained as the 1st floor one. Even on the 1st floor, our room (No- 110) was bigger and better than the one my friend had on the same floor (109)! I think thats the reason people r giving such varied reviews about the room.
Will give it 3.5 stars. Overall it was worth the money i paid, would go there again if i get my choice of room. :)

Room Tip: Try to get 109 or 110. They r much better and more spacious AC deluxe rooms as compared to their con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Please be wary of booking directly on the hotel website as that resulted in an over billing on my part. I had booked for a 2 night stay for the first week of April 2012, but ended up in my credit card company billing me for 4 nights. My emails to the hotel in an effort to rectify this error has since fallen on deaf ears. On a positive note, the restaurant staff were very friendly and gave good service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrezO52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hotel was a nightmare. It really is the worst hotel that I have stayed in ever. Photos look good but different in reality. Was our first visit to India and was not a good introduction.
We did not want to spend a lot of money as I had a late night flight from Singapore to Trivandrum arriving at 1am in the morning. Planned to go to Kochi and flight was early the next day. So was looking for a budget hotel as we could not justify the extra money.

Check in was ok - no issues. Passed a old mattress lying in the corridor up to the room. Not a good sign. The corridor up to the room was dirty and looked like it had not been swept for a while.
Key to the door was fiddly to open and lock. Turned on the bathroom light and saw about a dozen small cockroaches scampering. I did not say anything thinking that my wife would not notice. Sorry - too many for her not to notice. We put up our bags to avoid cockroaches infesting our luggage. Bed sheets looked stained and we refused to use the blanket. I slept with my clothes on. The aircon worked well though. We did not use the pillow and used a jumper for the pillow as the pillow looked dirty. Tried to go to bed at 2am and did not sleep well. Got up at 5am. No hot water. Called reception - Told to wait for 2 buckets to flow. Waited for 4 buckets - no hot water. Went down to Reception. Was told that he would be up. 15 minutes later no sign of the staff member. It was almost as if he knew that the water would not work.
Came with a free breakfast. Saw a huge cockroach walking outside the kitchen. The food was left open on a shelf inside the kitchen. There was no way we were having breakfast.

Not in a good location either. Run down street. Close to the airport though - about 7km.
We have stayed in a lot of hotels around the world. This was the worst. We will be telling stories about this hotel for a long time.

Not sure how this hotel got a good rating on Trip Advisor. When looking for a hotel on trip advisor - look for reviews that are 100 reviews or more.

Advice - pay the extra and get a clean budget hotel. This is not a budget hotel. It is a hole.
I suspect that the excellent reviews have been made up.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneyJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trivandrum hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trivandrum hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
#28 of 88 in Trivandrum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.4 km away
Keys Hotel Thiruvananthapuram
0.7 km away
Hycinth By Sparsa
Hycinth By Sparsa
#1 of 88 in Trivandrum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Town Tower
Hotel Town Tower
#32 of 88 in Trivandrum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
#2 of 88 in Trivandrum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
#3 of 88 in Trivandrum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trivandrum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trivandrum Hotel

Property: Trivandrum Hotel
Address: TC-26/1571,YMCA Road, Trivandrum 695 001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Trivandrum
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Trivandrum
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,671 - ₹ 2,340
Hotel Class:3 star — Trivandrum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trivandrum Hotel is located at the doorstep of Kerala’s power center, the Government Secretariat, is more than its enviable street address; it’s a leading pillar of civility that offers accommodation merged with world class restaurants serving the finest ethnic Travancore cuisine for its discerning clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelGuru, ClearTrip and Hotels.com so you can book your Trivandrum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trivandrum Hotel Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing