We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, leaking bathrooms, old rooms but a good restaurant”
Review of Highland Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trivandrum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Hotel
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Trivandrum
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I had a quick overnight stay at highland when I was on my way to kochi. I chose this hotel because its just some 100 meters away from the railway station. Sadly, the rooms turned out to be old and musty, and my room's bathroom was leaking. My friend complained to the reception and they sent a plumber to look into it but he too mumbled something in malyalam and watched helplessly. The guy at the reception refused to transfer us to another room because they were allegedly packed. But the restaurant "City queen" turned out to be a pleasant surprise and the waiters were more polite that the hotel staff. But beware that they use coconut oil to cook something like papad etc which is an essential malyali tradition.
Overall the hotel is not value for your money and you may find better trendier hotels around highland for the same price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ultimix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 85 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2010

I stayed at the hotel with friends for a leisure trip. The stay was overall good to be fair.
The staff were courteous and didnt face any issues at all. The food was VERY good.
The hotel was neat and clean, it seemed like an old establishment though.
Overall i find it suitable for short stays or if you have a budget to fit into.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaxSumesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Our stay at hotel highland was from 22.12.2009 to 29.12.2009. The service was good but the service in the hotel restaurant was very slow. We stayed in Delux Room. The second of our stay we went to visit Kanyakumari and on rturning back the manager of hotel informed us that their was no vacant room for us. we were puzzled & were suggested to find some other hotel.As we were thinking we happen to meet a person who helped us getting a A.C.Delux room and supported us in every way. When we reached in the room and asked the service boy about that person, we were surprised to know, he was the owner himself named Mr.Siyaudin. He was very humble and nice person. we stayed for next 4 days in trivendrum and enjoyed the hotel.

Sunil Kumar from Amritsar,Punjab, Ph.No.[--] email.id- sksharma27674@gmail.com

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sksharma27674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

This place was basically a place to crash for our last two nights before flying out. We weren't after a flash place but we did want clean and opted for what they called a "Deluxe Suite". It was not luxurious however.

The room had cockroaches in plentiful supply.

Reception were dithering and slow: if there are two people behind the counter how about the guy doing nothing answers the phone instead of the guy dealing to us being distracted from the task of checking us in?

Our so called luxury suite had a nasty bath tub with a revolting sealer around the edges that had turned black with filth. There is no way you would actually use it. Hot water was only available from the shower in the mornings, at night you had to order a bucket of hot water with which to wash.

On our second (and final) night management saw fit to arrange renovations (renovation, not emergency maintenance) to be carried out at 1 am. Absolutely ridiculous. At a time when pretty much every guest there would want to be sleeping they are hammering away and using grinders and other power tools! I'm sorry, but any hotelier that thinks that is even remotely acceptable should not work in this industry.

The Vegetarian Restaurant there is very good it would be fair to say and we did eat there three times during our stay. That would probably be the hotel's only saving grace.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoki_man_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trivandrum hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
#25 of 97 in Trivandrum
22 reviews
0.6 km away
Samrat Hotel
Samrat Hotel
#77 of 97 in Trivandrum
24 reviews
0.8 km away
Trivandrum Hotel
Trivandrum Hotel
#30 of 97 in Trivandrum
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Treebo Adrak
Treebo Adrak
#15 of 97 in Trivandrum
97 reviews
0.3 km away
Classic Sarovar Portico
Classic Sarovar Portico
#11 of 97 in Trivandrum
214 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Galaxy Inn
Hotel Galaxy Inn
#45 of 97 in Trivandrum
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel

Address: Manjalikulam Road | Thampanoor, Trivandrum 695001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Trivandrum
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Trivandrum
Price Range: ₹ 1,042 - ₹ 1,563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Trivandrum, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing