We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget hotel, budget experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rockholm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trivandrum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rockholm
Ranked #28 of 102 Trivandrum B&B and Inns
South West
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Budget hotel, budget experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel is actually in Kovalam and not in Trivandrum. It is conveniently located up a hill just a few minutes from the main lighthouse beach and itself has a stunning location next to crashing waves. Unfortunately that is where my positive comments finish.
We travelled with friends and as we were unsure of what the accommodation was going to be like we initially booked one night. We had every intention of extending our stay if the hotel was satisfactory. Unfortunately it wasn't. I had booked an a/c room. On arrival we were told there was not one for us but with the windows open and the fan on it would be cool......Wrong. No apology was forthcoming for the lack of a/c room. It was humid, unbearably warm and, as a result of windows open, visited by mosquitos. We did not sleep at all.
On arriving in our room the electricity was not working and there was no water in the shower of our friends room. The electricity was fixed 45 mins or so later, but meant we could not operate the fan in the meantime.
The room was basic, clean enough. The bathroom was dark and depressing.
I know this is a budget hotel but the next day we went down the beach to the Jeevan Resort and got a much better air conditioned room for just 800 rupees more (about £10).
With decent service and upgrading to rooms this place could be so much more. We would have been willing to extend to 5 nights but didn't. It is a wonderful location and I don't think the owners realise what potential they have on their hands.

Room Tip: If you insist on staying get a room in the main hotel and not in the property across the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verity44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    19
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at Rockholm in December 2011 and truly enjoyed our stay.
We were not at all impressed with Kovalam Beach, but Rockholm has its own beach (shared with a neighbouring hotel only) we made our stay very good. Sunbeds and umbrellas could be rented on the beach, although quite expensive for being in India. Beach was clean and quiet.

Our room was simple but very clean, and we had a terrace overlooking the sea, perfect place to sit in the evening and watch the sunset. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

In our opinion this must be the best choice of (budget) hotel in Kovalam, secluded beach yet only a few minutes to the restaurants of Kovalam beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bellsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

This hotel is a funky place situation just behind and slight south (100m) from the lighthouse. It's tucked in nicely away from the main beach but less than a 5 minute walk to get there.
The staff is very nice and the rooms were very clean. This place looks like it's out of the 80s with a dash of south beach pastel colours. The bathrooms are average as per India but the views and rest of the hotel are worth the stay.
No breakfast is included which is rare in India but there are plenty of cheap options.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cozziad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for a night on Nov 29, 2009.. It was a double bed, sea-facing, non A/C room... the location of this hotel is simply superb.. Except the roaring waves, you cannot hear any other unnecessary noise.. this is probably located 0.25 kms away from the mainstream Kovalam Light house beach, but that distance helps in peaceful holidaying.. In terms of the room, it is very spacious (with a TV, mini refrigerator), neat and tidy.. the beds and pillows were comfortable.. there was also a mini balcony, from where you can watch the sea quietly.. At the same time, the building seems to be a bit old and the furnitures can be renovated for betterment..

We had breakfast in the hotel.. no complaints.. The owner was very friendly.. as this is off-season, he was flexible in the check-out time (we took about 2 hrs beyond the normal check-out time).. The rent was INR 2300 (incl. lux tax).. Compared to so many other resorts/hotels along the beach (and amidst the commercial area), I felt that the stay in this hotel is worth the money spent.. may be, a bit more "modernized" room will make it wonderful..

Note:
(1) In Trip Advisor, this hotel's reviews are given under "Trivandrum Hotels/B&B". This should come under "Kovalam Hotels".
(2) I posted this text in 2009 December itself, but missed to confirm the email from TripAdvisor and hence reposting this.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IndianTraveler010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

A true get-away. The rooms have incredible views. You're so close to the beach that the waves of the sea sound thunderous at times! It's further away from the thick tourist beaches down the hill. Rooms are simple but spacious and perfect for coming and going down to the rocks and sand. Food is just OK but with so many good restaurants available on the boardwalk it's not a big deal. Staff very helpful. Despite the fact that the town revolves around tourism, its a gem and relief from the madness of India. Internet access at little tourist booking office just down the hill with friendly face of "Sufiyan" ready to help you.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank INDIAVISITOR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trivandrum
6.6 km away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
6.5 km away
Maharaju Palace
Maharaju Palace
#11 of 51 in Kovalam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
6.6 km away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#21 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
5.9 km away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
7.1 km away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rockholm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rockholm

Property: Hotel Rockholm
Address: Light House Road | Vizhinjam, Trivandrum 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Trivandrum
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Trivandrum
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,358 - ₹ 5,175
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Hotel Rockholm Trivandrum, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing