We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chrissie's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chrissie's Hotel
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel has a fantastic atmosphere. The owners and reception staff could not be more helpful. They had excellent suggestions for local restaurants and activities. Chrissie organised a day of bamboo rafting for us before we even arrived and the reception staff arranged rickshaws to take us to the nearby spice plantation, tea factory, and finally to the bus station when it was time for us to leave. I had a third floor room with a lovely balcony. One of the highlights was having the entire yoga studio to myself first thing in the morning so that I could do my own practice. The rooms are spacious, spotless, and tastefully decorated. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    72
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
48
126
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, South Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed for two nights on our recent holiday to India. We would thoroughly recommend it. We received a lovely warm welcome and the staff we were very friendly. The room was a good size and very clean. I was not well whilst staying here and Chrissie and her husband could not have been more helpful and caring. Did not have an evening meal there but the breakfast was lovely. You can watch the monkeys in the trees whilst you are eating. Thekaddy is a nice place and there are some nice shops and eating places.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmaygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otago
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is a really top hotel and great value for money. We loved the cafe that is part of the complex and having WiFi available free in a comfortable space was also really appreciated. The rooms are immaculately clean and the service could not be faulted.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margreet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My title means a LOT when you are traveling in India, especially Kerala - even at the most highly promoted tourist spots!
Why?
Because it is next to impossible to find all of this packaged together at a hotel unless you are willing to shell out mega $$$.
Granted you have to climb a few steps to get to your room (a little excercise in good fresh air is a plus when you are on vacation :)) - but the cosiness once you get in, makes up plenty.
I would have given 5 stars - but for the fact that the lighting in the room could do a little more in the way of wattage, there was only hand soap in the bathroom, no drinking water and the restaurant service was slllooow...we ordered tea and got it 45 minutes later.
Remember to keep your doors closed - so that the pesky mosquitoes stay OUT... easy to do if you can drag yourself away from the beautiful balcony!
Chrissie is great at corresponding with you, so if ask her , or any of the friendly staff there - about the place beforehand if any of the above bother you.

Room Tip: If you can climb - ask for rooms on the third floor. We went to the terrace - and it is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eSutras-Organics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Chrissie' is the best budget hotel in Thekaddy. The other places are exorbitant or too shabby. Rooms were cosy and good value for money. There were extra thick blankets to keep you warm in the cool mountain nights. I would have mind staying there a few more days. Chrissie, the owner, was really thoughtful. I got my booking mixed up and she was concerned enough drop me a note to check in I was OK. I really appreciated that, when it was my own fault that I got the dates wrong.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.5 km away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 42 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.5 km away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 42 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.9 km away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#19 of 42 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts
6.7 km away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#24 of 42 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.8 km away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#31 of 42 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrissie's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrissie's Hotel

Property: Chrissie's Hotel
Address: By-Pass Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
#9 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,224 - ₹ 3,287
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chrissie's is a small, friendly hotel set amidst gardens and natural teak forests in a quiet part of Thekkady village, Kerala, South India. Its well-appointed rooms, pretty garden and the relaxing ambiance of its rooftop vegetarian restaurant provide the perfect, peaceful location from which to explore the Periyar Tiger Sanctuary and the beautiful surrounding countryside. The yoga studio with its wooden floor and reaching mountain and forest views, combined with moderate temperatures make Chrissie's a wonderful place for retreats and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Chrissie's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chrissies Hotel Thekkady
Chrissie's Hotel Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing