We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wildernest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spice Village(Thekkady)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White House(Thekkady)
View Hotel
Michael's Inn(Thekkady)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ambadi(Thekkady)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
153
107
30
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
107
30
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bplum cakepeanut butterjack fruit treeupstairs terracefruit batscontinental breakfasttea coffeerooms are largebamboo forestwithin easy walking distancethe ground floorno air conditioningperiyar national parkthe location is perfectwild elephantsspice village
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely enormous room (with twin beds and a roll down futon) on the ground floor with a small private patio area, it was also immaculately clean. It's within a tourist area but within easy walking distance of the main town as well as the meeting point for walks in the Periyar National Park. The staff, all young, are very friendly and welcoming but, after reading the reviews of the plum cake, I was very disappointed that it was just a slightly dry fruit cake – nothing special ☹!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tipishca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildernest, Owner at Wildernest Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for that amazing review.Sorry about the plum cake though as this is the first time we have had a negative feedback.
Will surely look into it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Fairly central to town. Great room. No air-conditioning but none needed [March]. Breakfast simple, but satisfactory. Only problem was no hot water (rely on sunshine, and it rained). Good Wi-Fi in rooms and reception.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonC4624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildernest, Owner at Wildernest Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the feedback.Will definitely rectify the hot water problem and sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Friendly staff large room with very firm bed. No tea or coffee making facilities available in the room which was a disappointment especially as its surrounded by tea plantations. Very good food a short walk at another hotel down the road. Went and saw a demonstration of the local martial arts. If you weren't in the front row you couldn't see much. Good base for trip to National Park but boat ride lasts only an hour and a half so make plans and go for a jeep safari as well.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildernest, Owner at Wildernest Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the feedback.Sorry about the lack of tea or coffee making facilities in the room as we encourage our guests to walk a few steps to our dining area for a free cup of either beverage as our property is small and intimate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We spent 2 nights in this B&B. We had a large upstairs room with a small terrace which was clean and cool upon which the resident monkeys provided an evening cabaret. Breakfast is simple with the best Marsala omelette in India! Staff were delightful, very friendly and helpful. We found the situation to be very good - within walking distance of the town and national park. Accommodation is simple and (I wish some others that have left more negative reviews would read) a B&B - this is not a hotel. Plenty of eating options nearby. Felt we were wasting water as it takes an age for the hot water to come through the system. Excellent for what it is and would highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildernest, Owner at Wildernest Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for that amazing review.Sorry about the hot water though.We are in the process of upgrading our hot water system
and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

The place is OK for a night's stay.
Pros:
Rooms are big.
The staff is courteous.
Location is good. Nice other options nearby.
Cons:
The upper rooms accessed via spiral staircases. Bit difficult for seniors.
Breakfast option too limited. Only English breakfast.
No room service and no lunch/dinner options.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnkitTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildernest, Owner at Wildernest Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback.We have no lunch and dinner options as we are a Bed & Breakfast.
We encourage our guests to try various options just a short walk on either side of the Wildernest
depending on their budget and cuisine preference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews