We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Palace -a heaven to be in.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jungle Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jungle Palace
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Jungle Palace -a heaven to be in.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Jungle Palace Homestay is a complete homestay, very close to the Periyar Tiger Reserve. This palace, is a welcome homestay for those wanting to explore the mysteries of the periyar tiger reserve ,
We stayed here for two days on 1st Sep,2012 and 2nd Sep,2012, booked it through stayzilla.com for a discounted price.The climate was cool. It drizzles ,suddenly the sun shines and then the cool wind makes you sleep . We were able to watch various birds from the balcony and then we sighted few mangoose and wild boars from the balcony of Jungle Palace ,
Nearby shops sell spices and we can bargain for good price for spices and massage oils.

We had a good walk to the 3 km periyar tiger reserve from the Jungle Palace homestay . this close proximity gave us a choice to choose this homestay . Also you can also walk down to the bus stand that is just 1.5 kms from here .

We had food at Thekkay Cafe opposite to Jungle Palace and Ananda Bavan next to bus stand are best ones for non veg at reasonable prices .

24 Hour running Hot and Cold water is not provided here and we had to use cold water in the chill climate for most of the time. There is no room service and no kitchen for your use . So please help yourself . Hot water is provided only in the morning hours .
The cot is clean and dry .Keep your doors closed since there are few musquito peeping in.

Room Tip: Room Number 5 and 6 are good one choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skarthikeyanece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    51
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
52
51
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chennai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Our family of 8 with 4 kids stay at Jungle place in the 3rd week of Aug 12,.. Excellent place to stay in Thekkady. Very friendly host, clean, great view & spacious rooms. Good space for kids to play... Madhu Boppana

Room Tip: try your luck for 2nd floor rooms for great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boppana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Al Manamah, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We had an enjoyable 3 days at the Jungle Palace. The rooms were first class, facilities close to 5 star and hospitality excellent. Being located right at the edge of the Periyar wild Life sanctuary had it's own thrills. The kids also had a great time as there was enough space for them to move around. The owner Rajesh is a gentleman, highly knowledgeable about the area and treks with him into the Jungle and the mountains was simply superb. We had a great time and would love to go back for another holiday.

Room Tip: The room facing the wildlife sanctuary has the best view and most spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Su_Nair7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

I've booked 4 rooms for my marriage function. But people who all stayed there said, it was a beautiful place to stay and enjoy the thekkady climate and places. The person named Rajesh is the care taker and owner of the homestay. He is very ploite, decent, adjustable and helpful person. I must thank and appereciate his character and smiled face. Rooms are very neat and clean and tooooo big. You dont find this kind of rooms in that reasonable price. Not simply superb, it's really really superb. It's one of the best place to stay in thekkady and hospitalization is really good. the view of the back side will make you feel, you are in the jungle..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kasipandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here for 4 days and enjoyed our stay to the hilt. The rooms are well maintained and neat. The host Mr. Rajesh was very helpful and made sure that we had a comfortable stay. All in all a great place for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
4 Thank latharavindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.9 km away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#13 of 42 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#30 of 42 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 km away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#18 of 42 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#23 of 42 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.0 km away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 42 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.1 km away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#3 of 42 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Palace

Property: Jungle Palace
Address: Puthuparambil House, Lake Road | Kumily, Idukki Dist, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
#8 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,225 - ₹ 2,382
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jungle Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Jungle Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Palace Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing