We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and clean.”
Review of El-Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El-Paradiso
Ranked #66 of 132 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here for one night and the owner was very nice - he even served us a coffee from his own plantation!

The rooms are basic but clean and this was the cheapest place we stayed in Kerala (I think it was about 1700 rupees) but it was one of the best.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FraserDoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed 4 nights in El Paradiso and really enjoyed it. Very clean and spacy room and bathroom, nice view and very hospitable family. We were welcomed with fresh cardamon tea - so delicious and unforgetable! Babu helped us to fill our days, and took great care of us. We felt like home. This is place to come back again.
Daiga & Maris from Latvia

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daiga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We visited Kerala in Aug 2009 and stayed at this place for 3 nights. It offers basic comforts and is quite economically priced and very close to the areas big attractions. Early mornings could be slightly noisy due early trade in the Spice Market, which is in vicinity but that did not bother our sleep. An ideal place for tourist. There are plenty of attractions which are not so popular as well. This hotel is close to some of the scenic places in Kerala. The owners are very welcoming and cordial. They serve authentic breakfast early morning. The staff is helpful and cordial. The owners offered us spare boots for our jungle walk. Our overall stay here was very pleasant. I strongly recommend this homestay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sight-Seers-IND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Very clean, spacious, comfortable. Breakfast is basic and not prompt, but safe. No A/C, but not needed. Fan and blanket. Hot shower. Owner seems grim, but quite nice when he has a chance to talk to you (i.e. not trying to serve 10 people). No reception, you need to knock on the door but they take care of you. Chandrit is the worker and he smiles nicely and is a good careful driver. Location is a bit on the edge of the main drag and close to some quieter, nicer shops. A bit dark walking for a couple minutes off the main street, but I felt completely safe as not far from people.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whirledgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

November 2011. Myself and my travelling companion stayed here for 2 nights. Clean comfortable room and the welcome coffee was brilliant! The only problem was that we were not told where the dining room was or the breakfast arrangements so didn't have anything bar coffee either day as by the time we sorted it was time to leave! Would return if ever staying in Thekkady again though.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neet753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0 km away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#28 of 45 in Thekkady
262 reviews
0 km away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
0 km away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#18 of 45 in Thekkady
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
903 reviews
0 km away
Periyar Woods Homestay
Periyar Woods Homestay
#11 of 132 in Thekkady
112 reviews
0 km away
Suresh Green View Homestay
Suresh Green View Homestay
#10 of 132 in Thekkady
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El-Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El-Paradiso

Address: By Pass Road, Thekkady 685509, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range: ₹ 1,549 - ₹ 3,421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to El-Paradiso, a family run homestay situated at the heart of Periyar (Thekkady), the Wildlife Destination of Kerala. We are ideally located in a quiet and peaceful part of Periyar on the by-pass road, near Taj Gerden Retreat. Rooms at El-Paradiso are well appointed and tastefully decorated. Rooms are with their own private balcony and en-suite bathroom. Piping hot water is available 24 hours a day. Ground floor rooms overlook our pretty garden, whilst those on the upper floors have stunning, far-reaching forest and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with OYO Rooms, MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your El-Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El-Paradiso Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing