We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,055)
Filter reviews
1,055 results
Traveller rating
717
274
43
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
717
274
43
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paper making elephant grass cgh earth mile restaurant coconut lagoon thatched bungalows snooker table cgh group deluxe villa tiger club cgh property brunton boatyard eco hotel main restaurant cooking demonstration solar panels individual cottages
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 1,055 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Staying in the hustle bustle of city life in Bangalore, I went Munnar for a getaway and realised Thekkady is nearby so after going through many pics, booked a villa for first day and second day, they upgraded to deluxe villa much to my excitement. The whole resort was kept so clean and the silence which you will find here is just so soothing. The rustic feeling which you will get looking at the old cupboards almirahs beds and chairs took me back to my childhood :). Gazing at the lawn in that old chair from deluxe villa was blissful. Spice Village did make me lazy as I felt so calm and peaceful inside this place that I procrastinated to visit any place around for trekking. Such was the tranquity I enjoyed in this place. Their staff was so helpful and I loved that they were depicting their culture by wearing traditional attires. Any staff from the desk people to the ones who come to clean room greets you which really makes your spirits positive. Had a flat tyre while checking out and their staff made sure they only fixed it fast as it was a Sunday and they couldn't find anyone from outside to fix it. Hospitality at its best !
Had a fun time playing basketball and also a game of chess while having a drink inside their property.
For suggestions sake, I would say I wish the snacks in room was complementaryband also some imported liquor was there.
Definitely planning to go back here with family.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank josehilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Spice Village!!!!!

First of all let me thank you for choosing Spice Village for your holiday. We are honored with your presence and very much delighted to know that you have experienced the true essence of cgh earth. We at Spice village take great pride in our service and happy guests are the greatest source of motivation for all of us. Once again thank you so much for choosing us and am sure we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Johny Tom
General Manager
Spice Village Resort

a cgh earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

it gives feel as a village.Excellent customer service and room keeping...The cottages are very lovely and very good climate The staff is very helpful, courteous and attentive.The Ayurveda center is excellent with lots of different treatments according to your needs. You can also consult an Ayurveda doctor who is very knowledgeable.he best is the rooms have no television. So you stay contented with nature. There is an organic vegetable and spice garden, paper making unit,compost plant,bio gas plant, water purification plant, drinking water plant , all within the property.

Room tip: higher floor have less A/C noise
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mithutheresajames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Spice Village!!!!

It has been our great pleasure to welcome you at Spice Village and we thank you for sharing feedback on your stay with us.It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we are humbled by your compliments on the hotel and its services.We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again and the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Spice Village in the near future.

Warm regards,

Johny Tom
General Manager
Spice Village Resort

a cgh earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This is an exceptional place - from the bedroom bungalows to the mineral swimming pool to the very friendly staff to the dining room and food and to the stunning grounds where all trees are named. And where else in the world will you come across a couple of mature Nilgiri Langars cavorting about the grounds? Just sensational - they remembered my sister had stayed there once a year earlier and brought out a cake and song!!

Date of stay: September 2017
1  Thank hewiewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Spice Village!!!!

It has been our great pleasure to welcome you at Spice Village and we thank you for sharing feedback on your stay with us.It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we are humbled by your compliments on the hotel and its services.We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again and the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Spice Village in the near future.

Warm regards,

Johny Tom
General Manager
Spice Village Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

First of all, hats off to CGH group in having such a great, well-maintained property. It is true luxury with minimal aspects of the modern world as there is no tv or air con which could divert you from the experience. But still it had luxury embedded in many ways and in all aspects. You get to experience nature in person and in your immediate surrounding like none other. It is a 12-acre property with a wide variety of fruit-bearing trees all around. There are no words to describe the feeling and experience of being in such an environment. There are so many activities which you can enjoy and be part of and that will definitely make time fly by. We never stepped out to visit other attractions in Kumily or Thekkady as everything you want is at this resort. What you also need to experience is the food from the restaurant - oh it is amazing. They have lot of cuisine which involves local grown spices and vegetables in their property and try to bring out different flavour. The staff really need to be mentioned with utmost importance as they were true to their service and they were really helpful in understanding our requirements. There were no formalities but yet there style of service is unique and friendly in nature. You also need to experience the Bar which is unique in its own way with its history. I highly recommend to visit this property and get a feel of what I have mentioned. I can 100 percent assure that you won't forget this experience.

Room tip: Families with kids - it is better to select rooms near the restaurant and pool. Else you would need to walk a lot.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Awadh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Spice Village!!!!

Thank you so much for taking out your precious time to post a fabulous review about our resort. It has been our privilege to have you stay with us and I am glad to know that you had a wonderful stay and were thoroughly impressed with the hospitality and service.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Spice Village soon.

Warm regards,

Johny Tom
General Manager
Spice Village Resort

a cgh earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We have been seduced by this wild place...

Unfortunately we only stayed there for a drink ! The wine menu at the bar is very nice and the service was perfect...

Next time we'll stayed there few days for sure !! Good saoul .-)

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CamilleZ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,

To hear about guest experiences at Spice Village is of utmost importance to us.Thank you for relating details of your quality time with us. We are happy that you had a wonderful time and would await for your booking in Spice Village next year.

Warm regards,

Johny Tom
General Manager
Spice Village

a cgh earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews