We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights 4 days Spicy trip to thekkadi”
Review of Spice Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spice Village
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2012

It was an amazing experience @ Spice Village resort, thekkadi - the team is very friendly, place is amazing (the best ive been to ever), food is perfect, got a good discount - so in all worth the money and best in thekkady - we did this in aug'11

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SriviKannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

567 - 571 of 886 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here during our Honeymoon days..We had two very nice nights at the spice village with a relaxed mind..Its a good place with lots of specialties..We feel like we are in the middle of jungle and service is really excellent. Food quality is just amazing..also watched many cultural programs..Swimming Pool is really a clean and hygienic one.Would like to recommend this property for all Honeymooners..:)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VarunYadev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Interesting safari/tribal -type village hotel close to the entrance of the Periyar Tiger/Elephant Reserve in the Spice hub town of Thekkady in the mountains. Ideal spot to learn more about spices.

Service: Very friendly and professional staff!

Price/Rates: Quality mid-range accommodation. Restaurant/Bar reasonable.

Location: Good and quiet location walking distance to spice and souvenir shops, restaurants and Periyar. Short driving distance to various Spice Farms.

Food/Restaurant: Good although somewhat limited menu – very good service. Very nice and atmospheric bar from yesteryear with snooker table.

Facilities/Activities: On-site activities include cooking demonstrations, paper making classes, cultural dancing. Pleasant grounds with lush gardens and plenty exotic monkeys. Family orientated pool and small Ayurveda facility. Most activities/ attractions off-site, but easily accessible.

Rooms: Tribal-style bungalows - spacious, clean and very comfortable.

Ayurveda: Definitely not the focus of the property, tucked away and seemed like an after-thought. Also did not notice any Yoga classes, or fitness programmes.

What I liked most: Good and comfortable base to visit Periyar, Spice Farms and Tea plantations. Did a 1 hour elephant ride through the “forest”, which was fun. Spice garden visit a must – very interesting and not touristy.

What I liked least: It is a long and curvy 5 hour drive to get to Spice Village – be prepared. Do not expect an encounter with a Tiger at Periyar Park – or an elephant. Long queues to enter Periyar Park, with basically no chance to see a Tiger, and a remote chance to spot an elephant. We saw some buck and pigs- this excited the jam-packed boat of life vest wearing spectators on a shallow manmade lake.

Special Tip: Stop en-route for tea plantation tour - interesting.

Would I return to this hotel: If you have never done this then this is a Must Do – interesting, educational, different. But once done I would not return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WEALLLUVTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed in one of the bungalows which was simple but very pleasant and comfortable. The ammenities were very good. the restaurant was buffet style with a good selection of local food. The a la carte restaurant was closed unfortunately so we don't know how that was. The bar was good and a nice place to relax. the staff were very helpful and considerate. a nice little gift shop worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Spice village is a unique resort supporting the cause of "save environment save planet earth"The moment you enter the resort you can sense their concern to save environment.The staff is very courteous..they try their best to make your stay as peaceful and as homely as possible.The stay is very comfortable.They offer you only cottages.The food is real good everything fresh...all vegetables are organically grown in their own farms which is inside the property.They have an English style bar which has some real antique stuffs.They offer swimming pool though it lacks privacy.Resort has a large dinning area and offers buffet.but on request the chef is ready to prepare something that you prefer.The resort do not offer room service.
The resort is a great place to relax and loosen yourself of all the worries.,surrounded by lush greenery.They have a recreation room which has tabla tennis,carom board,chess etc facility.During the evening a walk through a local market of kumily will do good but sometimes it can become too noisy with all transport buses etc.
The resort can help you to arrange for a morning or night trek at near by periyar reserved forest area which is advisable only if you are a true nature lover coz you will not get to see animals may be wild elephants..but yes i enjoyed it its so calm so serene to be close to nature listen to the bird chirping...
Apart from this one can also go for a boat ride at the periyar river which we didnt try.But we preferred going to a day long trek to Periyar wildlife reserve forest area which is atleats 45 min to 1 hr drive away from resort but once again i ll say a must go for nature lovers.
Some cultural program during the evening at around 7PM. is also organized by the resort for the guest.
We went during the month of Oct - November 2011 and the resort had organized Cake Mixing Ceremony..they invited all the guest and it was a nice experience for me to be a full fledged part of it.
This is the second property of cgh Earth where we stayed after Maison de Perumal at pondicherry and i must say something unique about the staff at cgh they make you so comfortable that you just fall in love with them and long to come back once again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadhaSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
2.0 km away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
2.4 km away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
973 reviews
0.5 km away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,127 reviews
0.5 km away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.2 km away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spice Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Village

Address: Kumily Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: ₹ 16,477 - ₹ 23,030 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spice Village 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spice Village is an eco resort in the hills(thekkady) near the Periyar wildlife sanctuary. A cluster of tribal style huts set in a beautiful spice garden is a great escape for most tourists from the heat of the plains, and also a great place for some adventure activities. We have a comfortable pool, an ayurvedic spa, we organise treks into the forest, bamboo rafting and many more. A walk through the property itself is a great way to explore many aspects of nature and the green initiatives undertaken at this eco resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Spice Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Village Hotel Thekkady
Spice Village Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing