We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Kerala”
Review of Spice Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spice Village
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2012

A wonderful location and situation but I did not appreciate the over eco friendly nature of this hotel with no tv in the rooms and food which you are told will be good for you and food you should not eat. We all like to do our bit to save the planet but this is taking it a little too far for me when I want to spoiled on a lovely trip to Kerala. We only stayed the one night and I was grateful for that not my favourite style of hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GerryScotland49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 592 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

Of the seven hotels we stayed in during our tour of India this was the least satisfactory, and in the end we were glad we were only there for one night. The publicity photos would lead you to believe that the setting is rural, but in fact it is in a small town. The cabins are set fairly close together and are not particularly spacious. They have deep overhanging eaves and the internal lighting is poor (no light at all in the suitcase area), making for a gloomy feel inside.
Despite the nightly efforts of the man with the fumigator and two electric insecticide devices, the cabin was plagued by mosquitos. The insect screens did not close fully leaving a gap for mosquitos to enter (also through the bathroom ventilator).
Dining arrangements were unsatisfactory. The main restaurant is based on a buffet which may be acceptable in this class of hotel for breakfast and lunch, but not IMHO at dinner. When we insisted on cooked to order, the waiter, to be fair, responded eagerly - indeed overly so, hovering by the side of our table throughout the meal. The alternative waiter- service is in the '50 mile diet' area with locally produced food, which sounded OK till we found out it was outside on grass with the attentions of all the local wildlife - mosquitos, ants monkeys etc.
Pool uninviting with floating leaves from overhanging vegetation, and used as a washbasin by the monkeys.
Service variable. Reception staff more interested in plugging the hotel's own activities than in providing information on other things to do. When we asked about visiting the Periyar National Park (just 1km away), they seemed to think this was very eccentric and provided minimal information or assistance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pra51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Overall excellent! Another brilliant establishment by the same people who own Maison Perumal, CGH earth.These people specialize in customer service! We had a couple of mis-communications about tours aranged through another company and these people were right there to help! Also loved the dance performances, especially the first night by the teacher of South Indian dance. . She was excellent! The buffet had great food but we also treated ourselves to the 50 mile dinner ( ie, the food came from the local area) and it was wonderful! The dinner was outside , and we were chilled, no need to go back to our luxury hut, they bundled us up in beautiful shawls. CGH does pound a little hard on the green eco thing..preaching to the choir .. I wish they'd get that message out to the locals, most likely the hotels clients are already living the message that they preach.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This is a villa hotel with a very nice eco friendly concept. It is obviously not brand new but maintenance is good.
the place is very peaceful, the service is genuine and it is in a good location in the center of the village.
I would recommend the hotel for anyone going to tekkady 2/3 days !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was a resort that everyone heading to the south of India must stay in. From the moment we entered andup until the time we left we were refreshed and re-united with nature. We had a bungalow to ourselves and the room spaciousness, cleanliness and aromatherapy helped us to relax and enjoy every moment spent indoors. Everything about this resort is eco-friendly starting from the envelope that holds the key. The food and dining area were also close and comfortable, and I have to admit that for the first time in 2 weeks, we noticed that the food was not overly spiced. We enjoyed the freshness and the elegance in how the food was prepared and served to us. The staff were friendly and there was something of interest for everyone staying at the resort. They had a daily brochure of planned activities. The pathways were well lit at night and the walking space adequate. It is too bad that we spent only one night here. Perhaps 2-3 nights would have been nicer. Worth staying here!

Room Tip: Plan to spend a few relaxing days here, well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
2.0 km away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
2.4 km away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
870 reviews
0.6 km away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
443 reviews
0.5 km away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.2 km away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spice Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Village

Address: Kumily Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: ₹ 16,611 - ₹ 23,712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spice Village 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spice Village is an eco resort in the hills(thekkady) near the Periyar wildlife sanctuary. A cluster of tribal style huts set in a beautiful spice garden is a great escape for most tourists from the heat of the plains, and also a great place for some adventure activities. We have a comfortable pool, an ayurvedic spa, we organise treks into the forest, bamboo rafting and many more. A walk through the property itself is a great way to explore many aspects of nature and the green initiatives undertaken at this eco resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Yatra, Expedia, MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Spice Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Village Hotel Thekkady
Spice Village Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing