We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, probably the best in Thekkady” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spice Village
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, probably the best in Thekkady”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed in Spice Vilage for 2 nights (Dec 20-22, 2011) while touring Kerala. This hotel has nice bungalows set in beautiful grounds (including its own spice garden). Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Bathrooms are also specious, plenty of hot water. All very clean. Nice touches like rose petals placed on the bed one of the evenings. The property is very green and has lots of areas to chill out (pool, gardens, coffee area etc). The central location allows you to walk to town shops and even to the park entrance, but despite this, the property is like an oasis of peace. There is free wifi (from reception and restaurant/pool area). We ate the restaurant twice. The food was very good and while more expensive than in town, the quality was better. Besides, none of the places in town can match the atmoshere. There are various free activities on offer: spice garden visit, cooking lessons, Indian dances. Like in most places, room prices increase considerably around Chritmas, but all in all, we were extremely pleased with our stay. Good base to explore Periyar park and soroundings. We try both, a bamboo rafting + guided walk day trip and a boat ride in the park. I can highly recommend the bamboo rafting day trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    231
    40
    13
    5
See reviews for
190
376
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

This was a fantastic property in a freat location we wished we had 2 nights on our tour so we could relax in the fantastic surroundings.

Fantastic spice gardens close by and fab visit to tea plantation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heaven83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

we stayed at Spice Village last year and liked it a lot, but we found that some things have changed for the worse. The welcome drink was only a simple herbal tea. There was no kettle in the room, you had to call the restaurant for hot water. There were no activities for children any more, e.g like paper making, prbably due to the fact that the average age of the guests was 55+. There were busloads of international tourists constantly coming and going which spolit the atmosphere of the place and seems to be at odds with the ecological concepts CGH advocates. As the parties had to leave at certain times, it was difficult to even get toast at the breakfast buffet sometimes. The choice of food and beverages is average, but the prices are comparable to Western Europe. The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Being in Spice village (18-20 Dec) was a bliss.It was our second hault after Munnar on course of a wonderfully executed 5N/6D tour to Kerala.Our tour operator Antilog Vacations arranged this hotel for us.The low rates + services offered by our tour operator were truly professional which is hard to imagine from Indian travel agents.After many troubles with other tour operators in the past, it ws a wonderful change.

To be in one of the rooms of the Spice Village in Thekkady is like a lavish, luxury tainted, yet infinitely peaceful dream come true.
The bungalows are spacious and furnished in a home-like manner, and it is all very welcoming.
The bathroom too is nicely designedThere is wood everywhere, and so many framed pictures that common rooms are delights for curious people like me.

The resort is very green, and the design has been kept beautifully concise. To be in the garden is a wonderful experience, it is so green! That, coupled with the birds chattering in the background makes it a very easy and sweet place to willingly lose track of time and do nothing.

Yet it is a chic and cozy place, and the nature, the staff, and all the comfort provided makes anyone feel welcome. The hotel often uses organic processes in its functioning, and it is a nice consideration from them, being settled in what i would call one of God's earthly heavens, Kerala.

The hotel offers or provides informations about loads of nature-related activities, such as visits to the Spice Gardens or to the Periyar Tiger preserve, Jungle safaris, boat-ride in the Animal sanctuary, elephant rides, and also cultural happenings.

The place is very calm and relaxing, so i would recommend this place if you want to be pampered in Kerala, and to enjoy the beauty and rhythm of nature.

The food served in the restaurant, local and other cuisines, is tasty, and overall, a good experience. It sometimes might be too spicy but one can always ask to get a less spicy meal when ordering.

Wi-fi connection is available in the restaurant and in the rooms closest to the restaurant.

This place is definitely good and while some might find it overpriced or overrated, I believe that the ratio price-quality is more than fair and if I ever have the opportunity to come back, I am sure I will take it!

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ashok R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Spice Village Hotel reminded my husband and I of Disneyland; we loved it though! The grounds are gorgeous and the buildings are bungalow style with thatched roofs. The service here wasn't quite as impeccable as at Brunton Boatyard or Coconut Lagoon, but the experience was still nice. We loved the location, right in the heart of town, because we could walk to so many things (perfect since we were visiting when the state of Kerala was on strike and no one could drive anywhere). The highlight of our time at this hotel was planning Snooker (think billiards); one of the hotel staff member, Francis or Franbis or Frandis (we didn't quite catch how to spell his name) taught us the game of Snooker by playing along with us. My husband and I were terrible, and Franbis had fun laughing at us, yet remained patient and seemed genuinely sad when we said we were ending and going to sleep for the night. Prices at this hotel - food, drinks, and even the room itself, are comparable to Western prices, so we were a little surprised; we enjoyed our time here anyway.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleCobleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
3.6 km away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
3.4 km away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
5.7 km away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
3.4 km away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
2.9 km away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#18 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spice Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Village

Property: Spice Village
Address: Kumily Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,795 - ₹ 18,210
Hotel Class:4 star — Spice Village 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spice Village is an eco resort in the hills(thekkady) near the Periyar wildlife sanctuary. A cluster of tribal style huts set in a beautiful spice garden is a great escape for most tourists from the heat of the plains, and also a great place for some adventure activities. We have a comfortable pool, an ayurvedic spa, we organise treks into the forest, bamboo rafting and many more. A walk through the property itself is a great way to explore many aspects of nature and the green initiatives undertaken at this eco resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Spice Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Village Hotel Thekkady
Spice Village Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing