We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 68
US$ 64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 71
US$ 60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 74/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 70
US$ 66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 58
US$ 51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 60/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 73
US$ 58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 62
US$ 58
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 89
US$ 84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 109
US$ 93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaumont Plantation Retreat(Thekkady)(Great Value!)
US$ 41
US$ 33
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 38/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveller rating
658
267
43
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
658
267
43
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaper makingcgh earthelephant grassmile restaurantcoconut lagoonthatched bungalowsguinea fowlcgh groupsnooker tabletiger clubcgh hotelsbrunton boatyardeco hotelmain restaurantcooking demonstrationeco friendlyorganic garden
Filter
Updating list...
687 - 692 of 987 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This was a fantastic property in a freat location we wished we had 2 nights on our tour so we could relax in the fantastic surroundings.

Fantastic spice gardens close by and fab visit to tea plantation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heaven83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

we stayed at Spice Village last year and liked it a lot, but we found that some things have changed for the worse. The welcome drink was only a simple herbal tea. There was no kettle in the room, you had to call the restaurant for hot water. There were no activities for children any more, e.g like paper making, prbably due to the fact that the average age of the guests was 55+. There were busloads of international tourists constantly coming and going which spolit the atmosphere of the place and seems to be at odds with the ecological concepts CGH advocates. As the parties had to leave at certain times, it was difficult to even get toast at the breakfast buffet sometimes. The choice of food and beverages is average, but the prices are comparable to Western Europe. The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Being in Spice village (18-20 Dec) was a bliss.It was our second hault after Munnar on course of a wonderfully executed 5N/6D tour to Kerala.Our tour operator Antilog Vacations arranged this hotel for us.The low rates + services offered by our tour operator were truly professional which is hard to imagine from Indian travel agents.After many troubles with other tour operators in the past, it ws a wonderful change.

To be in one of the rooms of the Spice Village in Thekkady is like a lavish, luxury tainted, yet infinitely peaceful dream come true.
The bungalows are spacious and furnished in a home-like manner, and it is all very welcoming.
The bathroom too is nicely designedThere is wood everywhere, and so many framed pictures that common rooms are delights for curious people like me.

The resort is very green, and the design has been kept beautifully concise. To be in the garden is a wonderful experience, it is so green! That, coupled with the birds chattering in the background makes it a very easy and sweet place to willingly lose track of time and do nothing.

Yet it is a chic and cozy place, and the nature, the staff, and all the comfort provided makes anyone feel welcome. The hotel often uses organic processes in its functioning, and it is a nice consideration from them, being settled in what i would call one of God's earthly heavens, Kerala.

The hotel offers or provides informations about loads of nature-related activities, such as visits to the Spice Gardens or to the Periyar Tiger preserve, Jungle safaris, boat-ride in the Animal sanctuary, elephant rides, and also cultural happenings.

The place is very calm and relaxing, so i would recommend this place if you want to be pampered in Kerala, and to enjoy the beauty and rhythm of nature.

The food served in the restaurant, local and other cuisines, is tasty, and overall, a good experience. It sometimes might be too spicy but one can always ask to get a less spicy meal when ordering.

Wi-fi connection is available in the restaurant and in the rooms closest to the restaurant.

This place is definitely good and while some might find it overpriced or overrated, I believe that the ratio price-quality is more than fair and if I ever have the opportunity to come back, I am sure I will take it!

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
Thank Ashok R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Spice Village Hotel reminded my husband and I of Disneyland; we loved it though! The grounds are gorgeous and the buildings are bungalow style with thatched roofs. The service here wasn't quite as impeccable as at Brunton Boatyard or Coconut Lagoon, but the experience was still nice. We loved the location, right in the heart of town, because we could walk to so many things (perfect since we were visiting when the state of Kerala was on strike and no one could drive anywhere). The highlight of our time at this hotel was planning Snooker (think billiards); one of the hotel staff member, Francis or Franbis or Frandis (we didn't quite catch how to spell his name) taught us the game of Snooker by playing along with us. My husband and I were terrible, and Franbis had fun laughing at us, yet remained patient and seemed genuinely sad when we said we were ending and going to sleep for the night. Prices at this hotel - food, drinks, and even the room itself, are comparable to Western prices, so we were a little surprised; we enjoyed our time here anyway.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleCobleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Spice Village is one of those places that gives you a wonderful, cozy, homey feeling. Rooms were very nice and clean, staff very attentive. Location is very convenient, lots of restaurants nearby walking. Periyar Tiger Preserve is close and very worthwhile. The only issue is the price - very expensive, and the most expensive Snooker that we played in India for sure. Still, would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingMoshavnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews