We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
68
16
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
16
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mosquito net palm sugar open air bathroom his team south india tour over christmas nice pool two nights the cottages hot water simon keralan plantation mountains cochin jungle hillside
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2018

The Paradisa Plantation is a great location for a total chill out. The activites we were offered in our itinerary, except the walk, are all off site. After the long drive from Fort Cochin the last thing we wanted to do was get in a car again! The food and service were good, I agree there wasn't any choice of food but that wasn't a problem for us.

Lovely pool. One minor irritation - the mosquito net was grubby.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank homeOffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info p, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you for posting your review. We have taken note of your comments. We thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

In a spectacular location this quirky hotel is an interesting place to visit. If you are looking for an unusual experience away from the normal tourist trail this is the place for you. For me it charged top end prices but did not deliver top end facilities. The location and views are spectacular and the owner Simon has done very well to integrate the hotel into the mountainous setting. But given the price I was disappointed at a stained duvet and sheets, towels not replaced, no tea/coffee in room, no menu for breakfast or supper (food delicious but no choice), no yoga in morning as advertised, no local entertainment at dinner as advertised, very limited hot water (you have to ask when you want generator switched on). The outdoor shower was lovely but the integral. Garden very scruffy. All first world problems I know but when you are paying first world prices....

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info p, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you for your positive comments on the property. We are sorry that some things did not match your expectations. The company whose website you used to make your reservation has already been informed about many of the things you have mentioned in your review , like the fact that we follow a fixed menu, no room service etc. We have never advertised that we have yoga and entertainment programs everyday - the yoga master comes in only on request and with advance notice. We would have been more than happy to take care of anything you required, and we apologize for not having anticipated your needs as well as we should have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We had the choicest of rooms [ wife , child and I] it was almost like having a whole house to ourselves . We were also transported 100 years into the past , living in a wooden house with wonderful natural ventilation . Over the years the monsoon has become bursts of rain , at Paradisa I experienced 10 hours of wonderful , continous steady rain . The design of the rooms is such that we could sit in warm , dry ,comfort reading / chatting/contemplating around the nadumuttoms [ inner courtyards] with the rain all around us ! The warmth of the hospitality of Mr Simon and his staff with some delicious cooking rounded off a great experience.

Room tip: Ask for the cottages overlooking the valley next to the pool.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HariVelloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info p, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you for staying with us and glad that you enjoyed your stay, embracing the rain as part of enhancing your experience rather than seeing it as a damper. It is a pleasure to host guests like you and your wonderful family. We thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Absolutely superb hotel where we had the most wonderful time.

The plantation is in a beautiful location with panaoramic views and the soundtrack of the amazing jungle. The only other human settlements you can see are tribal fires at nighttime. The mist is magical and you really feel like you are in another world and definitely away from it all.

The facilities are beautiful. The rooms are renovated old houses which are beautiful and calming spaces where you feel at peace and very comfortable. The pool is fab and is always ready with towels and the restaurant offers wonderful views interspersed with beautiful pieces of art.

The food was delicious with a yummy high quality dinner and a fab breakfast. Each time offering a different menu and local products such as palm sugar, banana jam, homemade masala from the plantation and guava jam.

Finally, our stay was like nothing we have experienced. You don't feel like you are going to a hotel, you feel like you are staying with friends who are so attentive to your every need and do everything to ensure you have the best time possible. Simon was incredible - lots of fun and an extremely interesting and kind gentleman. He really went out of his way to make us feel welcome which included greeting us at the car, taking us for walks, having dinner with us and organising our trip in India (and calling hotels and taxis to get us a good rate). He organised a fabulous south India tour.

On top of all this, the staff supporting Simon are attentive, discrete and extremely dignified giving you personalised service and anticipating your every need before you realise it yourself.

The most fabulous place to stay and it really made our trip in India.

Thank you Simon and Jorji

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Your effusive praise leaves me at a loss for words. May I just say thank you for staying with us. I cannot take the credit for arranging your hotels, you did that on your own, and I am glad to know that the taxi and driver that I arranged for you served you well.
It was a joy to have you with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Mr. Simon a kind friendly and knowledgeable man has created a retreat that cannot be missed. The accommodations are tasteful and calming the food is outstanding and the setting and views make Paradisa special. We hiked, climbed to our guides favourite viewing place for the whole valley and had fascinating evening conversation

If we were to return to South India this would be one place we would revisit unequivocally

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Your kind words of appreciation are an encouragement to the team to continue to pursue excellence and thereby constantly improve our service. Thank you for staying at Paradisa and glad to note that you had a good stay. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us when you visit South India again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews