We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$ 13
PricelineUS$ 13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
62
37
5
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
62
37
5
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee garden tea plantation spice garden periyar national park homestay kumily balcony trees
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2019

The best thing about Mickey Homestay are the views of the coffee plantation from the balcony and hostess, Sujatha. We loved staying there, felt at home, safe, and secure. The homestay is close to the Forest Reserve, lots of shops, cafes, markets, and restaurants. An absolutely lovely place..will stay again and highly recommend.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svetlanabaghawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The owners are very friendly, and the rooms are great for the price. Ours had an absolutely brilliant balcony with a bench and a swing. I loved staying here to read. It's also very close to Periyar National Park, and there are good restaurants nearby. The rooms are basic, but comfortable enough.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Aggie19842014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Micky’s Homestay for three nights. The rooms were clean but basic so exactly what we paid for. We were welcomed warmly being shown to our room after arriving unannounced, explained our budget and were given room prices accordingly.
The Homestay manager organised our border trek and even took us to the office to book it, taking no commission. The owner offered tea and coffee whenever we needed it and helped us with journey plans.
Micky’s is situated on a quite back road of Kumily where there are restaurants and cafes.
If you are looking for clean and friendly place to stay this is it!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank IzzyUpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in the budget double room which was good value for money. The location is great, very central but quiet.
The star of the show is Suja, now my Indian mother! They are a fairly hands off host couple but happy to help when needed and we shared coffee and tea with them in the evening, learning about local life, making friends with the cat and having a laugh. We would come back again for the company if nothing else.
Around sunset sit on the balcony and watch the bats fly overhead.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank spongepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We were 3 families about 15 people and they the rooms were comfortable enough to accommodate all. The location was nice, in the middle of the town but overlooking a coffee estate so it was very peaceful away from the crowd in the main roads. The hosts were very courteous and friendly. Right from the day we checked in to the day we checked out, they ensured that our stay was enjoyable. They had arranged for home-made food for us and it was simple and delicious.

If you are someone who likes to stay in comfortable hotels with all amenities, then this place is not for you. The rooms are very basic, but you get the experience of staying in a typical house in Kerala, eat local food and enjoy the hosts hospitality. You wouldn't get this in a 5 star hotel.

Room tip: The one with the balcony facing the front of the house is the best
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sash747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews