We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't recommend this place higher”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mickey's Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mickey's Homestay
Ranked #21 of 112 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Santa Eulalia del Rio, Spain
Level Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Couldn't recommend this place higher”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

(Stayed in JAN 2011)

When travelling with a friend last year we stumbled across this place after reading a review in our 'travel bible' (Lonely Planet). The owners couldn't of been more welcoming, helping us organize our trip into the Wildlife Park which was fantastic. We had the room which you see if numerous pictures that faces the coffee plantation with a cosy bamboo chair on the balcony. the whole place really is surrounded by greenery which is welcoming after the hectic and concrete cities that seem to crowd India. To be honest the room wasn't cheap and the shower was cold but to be honest that didn't matter. After having three months in India what I found to be one of the most important things is a safe and welcoming place to leave your items and to come back to when everything can get a bit too much....which it can! The only thing that is stopping me from giving this place 5* is that the the Owners were quite forceful when getting us to organise activities in the Wildlife park, other than that great place!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AManInEivissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    30
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
35
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Spent a week at Mickey's after staying three nights at the Periyar House in the park.
Had the front room with the balcony. Lots of birds and naughty monkeys to watch in amongst the coffee plants. Loved the great value, family ambience, the short walk to restaurants and services. Sujatha suggested some touristy things to do (elephant ride, spice farm, etc) and gave us easy to follow directions so we could do it all on our own. Very relaxing, clean and friendly. I just wish she did breakfasts, as the aromas coming from her kitchen drove me mad every day!

Room Tip: get the balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drifter14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The hotel is located in the middle of Kumily, close to the entrance to Periyar. It is a relatively quiet location on the smaller bypass road. It is charming and small with only three rooms that we could count. Our was the front room with a very nice balcony for sitting, watching the traffic, and staring at the coffee farm across the street. Breakfast was decent. We had our own bathroom but it was a very public, open-air three meter crossing. No hot water. Good fan and mosquito net (though we didn't see many mosquitoes). The staff were very friendly and helpful. Bring your own toilet paper, available for sale at very nearby roadside stores. Careful going up and down the stairs. It looks like it would be a mess if you missed a step.

Room Tip: Front room had a nice balcony for sitting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilacs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Murali and Sujatha are the PERFECT hosts - I felt instantly comfortable and at home at Mickey Homestay. The room itself was spacious and very clean - and I had a little outdoor area with a bench and swing-chair, very cute! Also a fantastic location for exploring Periyar Tiger Reserve - highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paperdavid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed at Mickey's for 2 nights while in Kumily, it was one of the best homestay we stayed in in South India, the owner is very friendly and makes you feel at home, the rooms are clean and have nice peaceful outside space, very relaxing after a trek in Periyar National Parc.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lliline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.0 km away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#12 of 42 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 km away
Panthalams Homestay
Panthalams Homestay
#6 of 112 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.0 km away
Stay Melody
Stay Melody
#5 of 112 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Thekkady Homestay
Thekkady Homestay
#17 of 112 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 km away
Kerala House
Kerala House
#8 of 112 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.0 km away
Dean Dale Cottages
Dean Dale Cottages
#9 of 112 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mickey's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mickey's Homestay

Property: Mickey's Homestay
Address: Periyar Park Bypass Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,285 - ₹ 2,441
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Mickey's Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mickey's Homestay Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing