We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculous process for ticket buying!”
Review of Periyar Lake

Periyar Lake
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$ 606.00*
and up
4-Night Best of Kerala Tour
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mumbai
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ridiculous process for ticket buying!”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

So, gear up for the drill and the race that booking a ticket for the boat ride on the Periyar Lake entails! We decided on a boat ride at dawn as the option of the 4-5 other time slots during the day that were available. The drill began with the discovery that the hotels can't book/ procure tickets for guests as directed by KTDC. One has to arrive in person an hour ahead of the scheduled time, stand in queue for the supposed verification and ticket procurement! and it does isn't as simple and civilized as it sounds, might I warn you:)
The lake is inside the Tiger Reserve and requires an entrance ticket to begin with, so that becomes the first spot in the queue. The counter opens at 6am and the gates allow visitors in the forest reserve starting 6:30am. Once in, begins the completely "needless" car chase through the lovely winding forest road towards a drop point beyond which cars are not allowed. From that point, folks actually begin to run/walk briskly towards the boat ride ticket counter. One is handed forms to fill out ones contact details and then waits till the official manning the counter has fed in the info from the form into a computer, after verbal verification! Once done, then a walk to the boat brings one to the pleasant discovery, (ironic for those who run and rush in my opinion) of the seats being allocated by number and the seating thus being reserved in a manner of speaking. The beauty and the calm of the forest and the early hour is harshly shattered by this chase and drill that the process has induced. To add to it, the impatience of the folks visiting, makes it worse! Oh BTW, the Periyar Lake is lovely and the boat ride can be pleasurable if one is lucky to not have high pitched co travelers! Phew!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Wonderlust0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    511
    292
    90
    53
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very bad management”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I had heard that the best boat trip is the very first in the morning and made it a point to do it. I left for the lake and by 5.30 AM we were waiting at the entry point. Here you need to purchase your entry tickets and car ticket if you intend to take one inside which I am sure you will since its a long way to the jetty point. The counter opens at 6 AM and there was already a long line of vehicles waiting in the queue. Once I bought the entry tickets, we waited for the gates to open which is around 6.30 AM. And then the race started. The gates opened and it was race of vehicles to the jetty pier with autos and taxis jostling for space. As soon as we reached the car park I saw some people jumping out of a running auto rickshaw and running down the road. Our driver parked and told us to run as well if we want to buy the boat tickets for the first ride. It was a mad dash for the next 1 - 1.5 kms with everyone running towards the boat ticket counter. Tough luck for senior citizens or people who cannot run a marathon. Why the hell the boat ticket can not sold at the entry point is beyond me. There are two operators - Kerala Govt and KTDC. KTDC boats are bigger and have around 6 - 8 seats per row which means the guy in the middle gets to see nothing. The Kerala Govt boats have a 4 seat per row configuration which is much better. We managed to get on the first boat - there are actually a total of 4 boats that left at the same time (2 KTDC and 2 Kerala Govt.). I got the seats for the upper deck and the front row which was wonderful. Lately the tickets have started mentioning seat numbers and deck and people are not allowed to venture from lower deck to higher. There is also a partition in between meaning everyone can not move to the same side and topple the boat. You also have to wear life jackets which are bulky and mostly don't lock. The boats make a huge racket and any there is hardly any chance to spot any wildlife in such noise. But if you consider this as a simple boat ride then you are in for a treat. The views are great and provide for some great photo opportunities. Its a 1.5 hr long ride which acts as a small balm on the horrors faced before.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PramitM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A luck by chance trip”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

It is located near the city Kumily only so you don't have to travel long to get into the boat, but yes people who can't walk should not opt for it as it has got a long from car park to boat.
As far as boat ride is concerned, there are two different operators so look at both the options before deciding. The fees are same but the size of the boat may vary.
The boat ride is generally very noisy one and you only get to see wildlife if you are lucky enough otherwise its just a normal boat ride.
I was a bit lucky to be able to see an elephant near the river.
Not an adventurous experience

Binoculars would be a very useful thing to carry.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank rahul_upadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful but buying ticekts are painful!”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Perriar Lake was beautiful. Getting the tickets can be painful- try to get your travel agent to book them in advance if you can. After buying the tickets the line for but a ticket for your camera- why it can't be done at the same spot and add to efficiency is beyond me! In terms of wild life- deer, cormorants, wild pigs and elephant if you are lucky- tigers are impossible to see in this dense vegetation. Do try and take a spice walk in Thekkady- our girls got bored but we found it informative.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank MathSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“boat trip”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Enjoyed a very pleasant morning trip around the lake We were told later that the best tme to go to see the wildlife was late afternoon. However we were lucky enough to see an elephant come down to the lake and swim across so we were more than happy.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ian528789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Periyar Lake also viewed

 
Thekkady, Idukki District
 

Been to Periyar Lake? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing