We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place”
Review of Michael's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Michael's Inn
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Lucknow, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

1. The location was very good.
2. The place was very clean and the smell of fresh lemon(probably the dininfectant being used) immediately appealed to our senses.
3. The rooms were excellent - clean and well furnished. Provided extra bed(not just bedding) for the child. That was great !
4. The service was excellent.
5. The food was very good. The buffet breakfast was excellent.
Finally, for a 1 day stay, I couldn't have asked for more. Would recommend this Hotel to everybody as the Best Place at Thekkady.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank parthosahanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Guest,
We, at Michael's Inn, would like to 'Thank You' for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Thekkady. We are extremely delighted to learn that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Appreciation from guests are highly valued at our organisation and your comments has really made us proud of our Institution and staff. Sir, our motto is 'It is very personal' and we try to do our best to make the guest feel very much at home with our personal attention. From your comments, we gather that we have done justice to our motto to a certain extent. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you to the best of our resources and hope that you would continue to patronise us during your next visit to Thekkady.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    61
    55
    14
    18
See reviews for
86
61
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This hotel has good facilities, but the hospitality of the staff is terrible. The restaurant is a joke. They keep it open when they don't have service or food. Even worse, the guest don't realize this until they are seated in the restaurant. Not recommended for a family stay if you are expecting restaurant facility.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseMathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Jose Mathew,
We, at Michael's Inn would like to 'Thank you' for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. Sir, we are also extremely disappointed that you found our restaurant not to your liking. We have investigated the matter and found that indeed there was a mention of the particular incident in the log book for the day you stayed with us. On further enquiry we have found that you had approached the restaurant during a 'Buffet' dinner and wanted a' la carte service. Sir, although it was perfectly alright from your part to demand an a' la carte service at any point of time, due to a slight staff shortage issue on that particular day, we had gone in for a 'buffet only' dinner menu. I understand that our manager Mr.Chayichan had personally met you and apprised you of the situation and had personally seen to it that you were well taken care of during the alternate 'Buffet' dinner. Sir, I hope you understand our situation and forgive us for any short comings that had happened on that day. I further assure you that we will be at our best the next time you come over and make sure that you will leave with happier memories of our hotel.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

we had 1 day stay at Michel's Inn few days back.(26/12/2011).rooms are not spacious,are pentagonal/different type of shapes as per their convenience, after 10 pm u will not find anyone at reception,no lights/even dim lights in corridors.we r supposed to find switch & put lights on if we need . we found reception locked with dark corridors & finally security on gate called reception fellow who was not very coop as we woke him up at 10.30 PM.
next day we requested the cafe person to make little maggy for small daughter,we bought it specially at 8 30 morning ,twice went to see whether shop was open.small pack rs 10 only.The fellow in cafe told us that it will be rs 60/- to put it in boiled water.this was ridiculous.
on contarary some other hotel people were very nice & coop.hotels are not good if they have
poor hospitability even if they are five/seven star.

Room Tip: ask for bigger rooms with front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Guest,
We, at Michael's Inn would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Thekkady. From your review, we understand that you seem to have had an indifferent experience with us. Sir, I would like to take this opportunity to address the issues that You had mentioned. Firstly, you had mentioned that the room was not spacious enough for your comfort. We have 4 different categories of rooms and if you found a certain category of room not to your comfort, you could definitely have asked for an upgrade to the higher category room. We would have definitely obliged if you had put in a request, subject to availability. Secondly, you had mentioned that you did not find anyone at the reception at 10.30 pm. Sir, we are bound to operate a 24 hour desk and if you found that nobody was available at the desk at 10.30 PM, it is definitely a negligence on our part and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that it had caused you and will take appropriate action against the erring staff member after an inquiry into the incident. Thirdly, Sir, You had mentioned that the cafe charged you for cooking certain food article that you bought from outside. Sir, the cafe charged you within its rights, in accordance with the hotel policy. Food articles bought from outside are not encouraged within the hotel. We have a full service restaurant which would have gladly cooked and served you with the required food on request. I am sure that you are aware that most hotels follow this policy.
We hope We have addressed your issues regarding Michael's Inn and we assure you that we will do our utmost to serve you better the next time around. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thekkady hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This place is decent, the staff was as very nice and the rooms clean. Nothing special but fair value and a comfortable stay and sleep. What I would say is skip the Thekkady area all together. It is the biggest tourist trap I've seen in India. The Tiger reserve was a waste, you see more animals outside the park or driving from munnar to mysore via ooty.
If you do hit this area though this is a safe stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cozziad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Dear Guest,
We, at Michael's Inn, would like to 'THANK YOU' for choosing to stay with us during your Thekkady trip. We are also happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Sir, we appreciate your comments and would like to politely remind you that Thekkady, as a destination, is not just about 'sight seeing'. In fact Thekkady is more known as an ecotourist destination. Although Thekkady is situated in the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary which is famous for Tigers and Elephants, it is not too common to sight them. These animals are protected animals and the Periyar Foundation tries to conduct the tourism activities with minimal disturbance to the wild life. Moreover, Sir, in order to explore and appreciate Thekkady, one must try out activities such as Bamboo Rafting, Periyar Tiger Trail Trek, Border Hiking, Night Patrol, Tribal Colony visit and so on. Although there are a number of sight seeing places in and around Thekkady such as Chellarkovil, Paruthumpara, Kurushumala, Ramakalmedu,Gavi etc., Thekkady should be explored through its vast expanse of unadulterated and virgin forests. It is an ecological paradise. SIr, I am sure you must have missed out on these aspects of Thekkady, hence the different opinion about the destination. We sincerely hope that you would come back to Visit Thekkady with a different perspective and then you will definitely enjoy the place. Thank you once again for staying with us and do patronize us during your next visit to Thekkady.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Free wi-fi in the lobby, rooms ok, good breakfast, well located, lots of shops near by, walking distance to Periyar Reserve.
Be careful, shut your windows before you go out, otherwise the monkeys will get into your room and make a mess. This is not a joke. They are quick and bright.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzanno10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear Suzan,
We, at Michael's Inn, would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Thekkady. We are also pleased to learn from your review that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay with us. We have taken note of your apprehension regarding monkey trouble. We would like to politely remind you that Monkey's are common sight in Thekkady and they do roam about freely on the streets and in and around our premises. At Michael's Inn, we usually detail the guests about the monkey proximity at the time of check-in. Also every room is provided with a guideline which reminds the guests to keep the windows and doors shut whenever they are not in the room so that monkeys are not encouraged to venture into the rooms. More over Monkeys are protected animals, so we cannot harm to chase them away. We can only discourage them by not entertaining them or by keeping certain guidelines. I hope you understand our predicament regarding such a sensitive issue. Ms. Suzan, Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope that you will continue to patronize us in the future as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.4 km away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
282 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#28 of 43 in Thekkady
256 reviews
0.7 km away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#21 of 43 in Thekkady
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#29 of 43 in Thekkady
104 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Kumily Gate
Hotel Kumily Gate
#42 of 43 in Thekkady
24 reviews
7.4 km away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 43 in Thekkady
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's Inn

Property: Michael's Inn
Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,414 - ₹ 2,763
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Michael's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paradise concealed within the enigmatic spice gardens. Michaels Inn is the place where you want to stay in at Thekkady. Tucked away in the midst of verdant tea and spice gardens of the Western Ghats, Michael's Inn stands close to the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. Nestled in the very heart of a host of inspiring surroundings, Michael's Inn offers you the very best, with an elegant combination of native beauty, rural serenity and modern amenities. Let Michael's Inn look after you. Caressed by the nature around, this fine tavern helps you to discover Thekkady. Witness the pageantry of natural forces at work from a stage set in at a magnificent place by the name, Michael's Inn. Cradled in an exquisite altitude of the Sahyadris, Michael's Inn is sure to provide a different facet of nature to the discerning nature lovers At Michael's Inn our motto is 'It is very personal'. True to the motto we maintain a very personal experience to the guests visiting us. We provide a neat, clean and friendly environment at Michael's Inn. The guests can be assured that in trying to keep up with our motto and policies we are willing to travel the extra mile to meet their expectations. A weary traveller should always leave us with a refreshed and relaxed mind and body. Comfort prevails in our comfy rooms, roomy enough to house the fresh air. Nature and culture, ethnic and luxury, all these in several forms enliven lives at Michael's Inn. Life is a splendid affair in the company of virgin nature. Live in and revive your smile. All sorts of modern amenities accompany the 25 well designed air-conditioned and non-air conditioned rooms. Eat Inn - the rich taste of an enriching Kerala cuisine. The aromatic spices bring out a special flavour to the food varieties that's especially lip smacking. The multi-cuisine restaurant serves delicious food extending the excitement. The choice of food includes Kerala delicacies, as we've emphasised, Indian, Continental and Chinese. Let Michael's Inn treat your taste buds with the exotic aroma and delicious food that's specially prepared with lots of love and skill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Booking.com, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Michael's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael's Inn Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing