We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, had a nice time”
Review of Hyson Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hyson Heritage
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Kozhikode
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, had a nice time”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I visited Hyson Heritage Hotel at Calicut on 19th Oct and stayed for a few days as I was visiting Calicut for the first time on work and managed to spend some time walking around in the evening and enjoying local cuisine. It was raining in the evening and this was a pleasant respite from the sunny afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartpiscean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    42
    30
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
12
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kochi
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

A very good hotel. It is in a very good location. Just 1 km to beach. Restaurant was good. Room was small but good and had very good facilities. In short it was value for money

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aajk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai. India
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I stay here so often (for lack of better options in this city) but always wonder why no one realizes there is enormous potential for a decently priced business hotel.Rooms in this hotel are fairly clean, bathrooms tolerable, aged central air conditioners do their job and food is good (most times I eat only their complementary breakfast or their non vegetarian starters in the evening). Staff are friendly and Hotel is located in the center of the city. They do not serve alcohol but are helpful with accompaniments if one were to bring their own (only in the resident rooms).Overall this is a nice old hotel but nothing fancy. WIFI in the hotel is available for a fee. This property is right in the corner of a major traffic junction in this city and so easy to move around. They have a room converted into a Gym that opens at 0600 hours when the master comes in but there is nothing much there- couple of old tread mills.

Room Tip: Look for rooms between 01-05 in floors 03-05- they are larger and more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aylur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Was at the restaurant of Hotel Hyson with family & freinds on 11-Sep-11. The experience was over all low quality.
The table offered to us was not clean. Some cutlery 'not used' by those who used the table previously was retained. We had to insist them to bring a fresh set for us, which they did after three or four follow ups. The waiter told us that ala carte will take too long a waiting time and subtly pushed us to go for the dinner buffet. Once we agreed to it, didnt take too long to figure out that the mistake was done! The buffet table was under stocked and we had to repeatedly remind the attenders to refill one dish or the other. Which also meant that we picked a bread, but had to wait another 15 minutes to see some fish curry to go with it. And then you go for a second bread, but find that the bread basket is empty. Then you go hunt down an attender, remind him to refill and the bread comes finally in another 15 minutes. Over all, a very low quality experience. Taste of food was okay, but nothing great and not worth the Rs400/- plus per head in the 'calicut context'.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnoopPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kozhikode hotels

British in MEast
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

stopped over in calicut for a day. A fascinating indian dickensian dirty industrial port city with a strong muslim influence, and a very enjoyable experience exploring (in a thunderstorm). The hotel was OK, central, clean*, with the comforts*, though the polite and friendly staff not interested in the customers nor the hotel's reputation. The food there was very nice and very reasonable. However, the only literature in the room was a message saying that the customer is always wrong and if need be the hotel would sell our baggage! I asked for room service menu and any other information. They failed to deliver (several times) When I went to bed I found the sheet was smeared with blood. There was no hot water in the bathroom. Finally they brought me a bucket of hot water for my shave. I think I was unlucky and generally things were OK, just that the staff really did not care about the customer, and even tried to say it was my fault. Yes I would stay there again but would suggest the management make some effort to get their staff to care.
While there go and eat mussels at Pandoras

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMRA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kozhikode hotels
4.5 km away
Copper Folia
Copper Folia
#5 of 38 in Kozhikode
162 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Marina Residency
Hotel Marina Residency
#6 of 38 in Kozhikode
271 reviews
0.8 km away
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Park Residency
Park Residency
#10 of 38 in Kozhikode
98 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel King Fort
Hotel King Fort
#9 of 38 in Kozhikode
133 reviews
0.0 km away
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
#20 of 38 in Kozhikode
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyson Heritage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyson Heritage

Property: Hyson Heritage
Address: Bank Road, Kozhikode 673001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kozhikode District > Kozhikode
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Kozhikode
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,209 - ₹ 4,814
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyson Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, OYO Rooms, TravelGuru, Yatra, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Hyson Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyson Heritage Kozhikode, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing