We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Gateway as usual” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Kozhikode
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Gateway as usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

overall it feels like the gateway brand experience in other cities. though it says beach road, you have to walk a little to see the beach, i guess some rooms do have a sea view.green and clean, away from the crowded and noisy part of town where most of your other business hotels are located which is a big relief.looks like this is where most of the airline crew rests.not sure about how kadavu or kappad resorts are but all in all this hotel is the safest bet in Calicut town.

Room Tip: if you ask you might get a direct sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jissbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    153
    70
    20
    8
See reviews for
106
49
18
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

On my recent visit to Calicut in June'12, I had stayed in the Gateway.

It was a brief and short stay. I had checked in late in the evening and checked out early morning. However the checkout took place only after the breakfast, which was the highlight of my stay. The hotel really have a big menu for the breakfast and if 1 tries out all the items on the buffet, i m pretty sure, there would not be much room left for trying a 2nd helping. All the items on the menu were tastefully made and were equally delicious.

Coming back, the check in was quite smooth and the faces of the staff said " ready to help" in bold letters. The room was a little small, which I didn't mind as the stay was very short. it was room on the top floor, facing the Swimming pool. The ambiance of the room was calm n cozy, which really helped me relax after a hectic day. The bathroom fittings however were a little dated and 1 can make out easily that they have not been changed for a long time. Overall the bathroom is an area which seems to have been neglected in terms of revamping by the Hotel management.

In the morning. I came to know that the hotel is very near to the beach, and i took a short walk to the beach and it really refreshed me.

The checkout too was smooth.

Overall it was a good experience, whereby the hotel staff is efficient and this is what makes all the difference. Looking forward to visit again and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HMIS4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Good standard quality business hotel nothing outstanding but great facilities, wide ranging buffet and very nice little bar tucked away upstairs

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBurns1847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Two years ago when I was visiting Calicut, I wanted to stay here but could not get a room. This time around I was lucky. I was driving down from Kochi and after my work, we, me and my wife checked in. The first impression was good. A calm locality with very little traffice noise.A nice lobby area a bit dark due to wood panelling. Checkin was smooth with smiling faces and the room was ok even though dated especially the bathroom. The fittings are old and creaky and if you look closely there are a lot of patches where paint has peeled off and repainted. The room is spacious enough and we had a room with a view of the pool and the beach. The pool was undergoing repairs around and not in a condition to use.

Since we were tired after the drive we opted for roomservice which was prompt and the food was acceptable especially the appam and vegetable stew my wife ordered.

The double bed appeared to be a little less wide than normal.

The breakfast buffet was acceptable. It was made a little more enjoyable by the chef Johnson. I was happy to hear from him that his father runs the well known Navjeevan Trust which provides food free of cost to poor patients and their attendants in Kottayam. I promised to meet his father next time I am in Kottayam.

Overall a pleasant experience except for a small incident. My car was dirty after driving through the rain. The door man promised to get it cleaned..the charge Rs.200 (which I pay a month to get my car cleaned)!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank monCochin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Close to beach, clean rooms, nice bed, nice pool. Ample parking.
GAD Food Service needs to be polished, food options & seating was limited.
Overall found the property a bit dated, but nevertheless efficient. Would recommend for a hassle free stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MK_GK_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kozhikode hotels
5.3 km away
Copper Folia
Copper Folia
#5 of 37 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
14.1 km away
Park Residency
Park Residency
#9 of 37 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Marina Residency
Hotel Marina Residency
#6 of 37 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
#22 of 37 in Kozhikode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.3 km away
Malabar Palace
Malabar Palace
#14 of 37 in Kozhikode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel King Fort
Hotel King Fort
#8 of 37 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut

Property: The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut
Address: PT Usha Road, Kozhikode 673032, India (Formerly Taj Residency Kozhikode)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kozhikode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kozhikode
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kozhikode
#2 Business Hotel in Kozhikode
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,195 - ₹ 8,305
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spices and History. Beaches and Business. Calicut has it all. The Gateway Hotel keeps you close to the city centre while providing a smart retreat. Step out into this historic city and when you're ready, back to modern comfort tucked away in lush greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Hotels.com, TravelGuru, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Expedia so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Kozhikode
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut Kozhikode, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing