We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, rooms, and cool...”

Whispering Palms Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kottayam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whispering Palms Resort
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Beautiful location, rooms, and cool bathrooms.
Helpful staff and the best honey-ginger prawns we've ever had!
Gift shop is minimal. Themassage service makes up for any short comings- professional and knowledge able staff.
Also, much better value than some other spots close by!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XnthShy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2010

Very nice place to relax and unwind beautiful view of the back waters good food. No issues of bugs I am typing this from the hotel while facing the lake just beautiful!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahulras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Very relaxing. Stunning location.

Fantastic food. Never got sick over the course of our five days there.

Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were very helpful.

Loved the infinity pool overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank neal1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

This was our last stop on a 2 1/2 week blitz around India. I figured we would need a quiet peaceful place to unwind for a few days before the long trip home and this was definitely it. We were pretty bedraggled upon arrival and left refreshed and relaxed. We had a lake facing room near the pool which got rather noisy on the last day but everyone was having a good time. Our private backwater cruise picked us up at the dock and took us to Kumarakom where we visited a temple and a family who lived along the waterway. We were treated to a fresh coconut he chopped from the tree behind his house. I had a spa treatment and lounged by the pool. A welcome change from the fumes and noise of Delhi and Kolkata, exciting and interesting as they were. Other reviewers stated there is not much to do but you can get a tuk-tuk and go anywhere you want, if you can tolerate the bumpety-bumpety road.
If you have read The God of Small Things, it is set on this road and you can see the History House at the Taj a few kms down the road. I just happened to pick it up before I Ieft on the trip, not knowing I was actually going THERE, so that was a real treat. I kept expecting to see the Paradise Pickles truck on the road! I finished the book swinging in the hammock outside our room.
We enjoyed the food very much. We opted to order a la carte once in a while and the portions were huge. Their dessert bar is very tempting, especially the ice cream and kulfi. The wait staff was very friendly and tried to be helpful. My husband went through Diet Coke withdrawal, though. No diet drinks per se though they will mix some concoctions up for you if you ask.
I can see getting a bit bored over a longer stay ...staring at the beautiful lake and all the houseboats cruising by but we did not reach that point.
The hot water tank is quite small which necessitated quick or widely-spaced showers. But some places we stayed had none so we were pleased with it.
Odd thing...it seemed like the gift shop was selling used clothes! I saw a top from the Gap! Maybe things guests have left there?
The security seen all over India was here, too. There is a guard at the gate and one at the dock. No bugs or other creepy things. A beautiful egret visited each morning and evening and took care of any that were around.
The staff was very accomodating when we learned our flight was cancelled. They let us keep our room past check out and fielded calls from our agent in Cochi as we got our plans rearranged. The trip home was very long and stressful so I was even more grateful for having experienced the peace and calm of Whispering Palms.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigsister1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2008

I agree with the other reviews, and would add that we got our driver to take us to the Bevco to pick up some Kingfishers, so we could enjoy drinks on the patio.

Also our room was actually a small villa in a bamboo compound - spacious and comfortable, and with the curiosity of an outside shower, toilet and sink. Also had a plunge pool and pretty garden.

If you want something to do, just walk up and down the adjoining road and meet the locals, but there are not alternatives to dining unless you visit the other resorts on the same road.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank chrissiedxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kottayam
0.0 km away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#3 of 28 in Kottayam
183 reviews
0.0 km away
The Windsor Castle
The Windsor Castle
#5 of 28 in Kottayam
180 reviews
0.0 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Lake Village Heritage Resort
0.0 km away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#2 of 28 in Kottayam
184 reviews
0.0 km away
Kalathil Lake Resort
Kalathil Lake Resort
#4 of 28 in Kottayam
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Palms Resort

Address: New Nazareth Church Road | Lake Resort Kumarakom, Kottayam 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Price Range: ₹ 7,232 - ₹ 15,245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Whispering Palms Hotel Kottayam
Whispering Palms Resort Kottayam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing