We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Surprisingly Good”
Review of The Windsor Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Windsor Castle
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Reviewed 6 February 2012

First, you cannot beat the location. That alone could be a reason to stay here.
Second, the service was uniformly and consistently of a high order, including genuine warmth and caring.
Third, the biggest surprise was the food..... very authentic with leanings towards the South Indian cuisine, and excellent variety and choices.
We had a great holiday & wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to our friends -
& other Trip Advisor devotees... We would definately go back.
Hats off to a very comfortable and pleasant stay.

May be some preview writers have some vengeance on the hotel management or something in similar lines,

Ignore the moaners - go here

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ravinder_sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 134 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

We had planned to get together with college buddies for new year bash. Our aim was to stay in the room, just enjoy some chitchats and get a good room service so that we dont need to go out for drinks/food. But the experience we had was terrible. We had come in our own car - 6months old punto of my friend. They asked us to park inside their compound in some place. Then we checked in. The treatment from the front desk itself was horrible. Every room service we ask for will take minimum 1hour with multiple reminders. We were frustrated with the first request itself. We asked for 2 additional glasses and it came after 1 hour with multiple reminders. We asked for coffee, they brought it without sugar cubes that too after same horrible delay. Overall room service was pathetic. The only thing good about the service was room cleaning though that also was delayed. We went to the poool and it was not so clean. But with our other experiences, our expectation was only that. The worst experience came when somebody scratched on our new car with key or some sharp object. When we asked about this to the front desk, they told just write the complaint and leave. Instead of receiving a comfort answer their approach was dirty. And other horrible thing was there was no one responsible for us to talk to. The GM is always in meeting and the manager doesnt come out as well. These hotel persons dont have responsibilities for anything happening there. So below are my suggestions

1. Dont ever go to this hotel.
2. Room service is terrible
3. Front desk people are arrogant and they dont know how to behave to people.
4. If you have a car, dont imagine to go there even for a drink
5. If you are a foreigner, be careful because they dont have any responsibility for anything happening there.
6. Complementart bouffet is horrible as well.

This was me and my friends one night stay experience. God only knows what would have happened to whoever is staying for one week or so.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank munch81ekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

No professional maintenance, dirty bathrooms with potholes and patch works and pot holes. dirt in the hallways and front foyer. Bed with bedbugs and bedsheets with spillage marks. Cannot sleep with itching. Not a classical star hotel at all. Good location hence real poor management. Do not expect a clean place here. Nasty detol smell all over front reception area. The lake behind is with dirty and smelly water. I can't stay there anymore and i will not recommend this hotel to anyone for staying overnight.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 911yellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Very poor service. Do not expect a clean place. Toned and not comfortable bed with bed bugs. I cannot sleep well because of bed bug bite and itching. Bathrooms with potholes..hallways with dirt and annoying smell. location and landscaping good, hence no regular maintenance. Backwater seen is good, however cannot tolerate with smell of dirty water with mosquitoes all around the yard. I stayed there 5 years before and at that time the place was good. Now it is so bad due to very low maintenance and poor management.

Room Tip: Look for a better hotel with clean rooms.. There is a new one near Mathrubhumi - I believe the name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ponnamma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed at The Windsor Castle for two day. Located at a nice place, near to the river, not far from the town also. Have nice view from the room of the lush greens, which was spectacular.

The Hospitality extend to us by the staff was excellent, particularly the Front desk and Restaurant staff. Food was Excellent especially the the South Indian Dishes.

The candle light dinner provided by them in the riverside restaurant was a
different experience to us.

Overall, an excellent place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for east or west side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RAM r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kottayam hotels
1.7 km away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#3 of 28 in Kottayam
183 reviews
2.7 km away
Chrysoberyl
Chrysoberyl
#6 of 28 in Kottayam
52 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#2 of 28 in Kottayam
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Orchid Residency
Orchid Residency
#22 of 28 in Kottayam
68 reviews
24.0 km away
Hotel Olive International
Hotel Olive International
#16 of 28 in Kottayam
32 reviews
1.7 km away
The Lake Village Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Castle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Castle

Address: Kodimatha, Kottayam 686039, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Price Range: ₹ 2,997 - ₹ 6,581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Windsor Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
District. The town has been in the forefront of modern education in Kerala from the nineteenth century. Kottayam is a very tropical area with many IsA downtown Deluxe Hotel, located in Kottayam, Kerala. It is the gateway to Kumarakom. The most sought after tourist destination in Kottayam. Situated in the most picturesque surrounding of the Vembanad Lake, this leisure hotel stands above the rest in style, class and luxury. Set on a sprawling 20 acres of lush foliage and landscaped lawns this leisure hotel provides the ideal getaway for a relaxed and enriching experience. Complementing the imposing façade of the exteriors, are the equally inviting interiors. Right from the atrium to the rooms, all are done elegantly, pleasantly merging with the modern comforts that the hotel imparts. Kottayam is a city and a municipality in the Indian state of Kerala. An important trading center of commercial crops and a publishing centre in Kerala, Kottayam is also the administrative capital of Kottayam lands and Backwaters. The village of Kumarakom is a cluster of little islands on the Vembanad Lake in Kottayam. Accommodation at Windsor Castle Kottayam, Kerala, India Standard Room Standard Rooms provide cozy comfort and charming view with basic, standard amenities and furnishings and round the clock room service. Deluxe Room Deluxe Rooms provide ultimate comfort and charming view of surrounding area coupled with their round the clock room service and all modern facilities. Being situated far from the madding crowd of city and surrounded beautiful sceneries, the rooms provide peaceful stay. Suite Room A suite offer with more space and furniture than a standard room. It included a living area with sofa set . The smartly designed rooms and suits offer warmth and personalized service which are hallmark of Windsor castle hospitality . The rooms are designed to provide the right ambience and comfort for a relaxing stay for the traveler . Dining at Windsor Castle Kottayam, Kerala, India Lake Paradise A multi cuisine restaurant and coffee shop serving different cuisine like Chinese, Indian and continental . With its exquisite ambiance and its scenic view of the lake, it is one of the most luxurious fine dining restaurant in Kottayam. Nalukettu Located by the side of the lake, Nalukettu is built in traditional Kerala architecture. The only star classified authentic Kerala restaurant in town, serving delicacies like Kerimeen pollichadu, Kappa, Meen Vattichadum, Appam, Duck Roast etc. The Club With the stock of finest spirits, the club is one of the finest executive bar in Kottayam serving a variety of Cocktails, Mocktails and many more. The Cake Shoppe A variety of sweets, desserts and cookies awaits you at this cake shop, you can order the cake of your choice for any occasion in wide variety of favors and shapes. Pool Side ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, Agoda, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your The Windsor Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Castle Hotel Kottayam
Windsor Castle Hotel Kottayam
Windsor Castle Kottayam
The Windsor Castle Kottayam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing