We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit.........”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kottayam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kalaketty Estate Homestay
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Our second visit.........”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This time we stayed for three nights and Kurian and Anuja are the most delightful hosts. As in previous reviews the food is superb. We again walked with Kurian around part of his estate, saw the local bee keeper and tasted his wonderful honey, took a tuk tuk ride around the local village and visited the nearby Benedictine school. If you enjoy being in the Indian countryside, eating the most delicious food and enjoying the company of your hosts, do stay at Kalaketty.

Room Tip: Two rooms only, both equally delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We recently experienced a two night stay in this beautiful home. Our hosts made us feel so welcome; their kindness, thoughtfulness and hospitality were evident throughout our stay. Whilst there we learnt about Kerala's architecture, plantations and tasted its delicious food. Anuja is an outstanding cook and her meals are presented beautifully; each dish was a subtle delight.
We were also able to meet the local children whilst they were attending their Sunday school, and we were so impressed by the care and devotion they received from the nuns. We were particularly pleased to meet Sister Lucy and Father Francis.
We only wish we could have stayed another night. We thoroughly recommend Kalaketty but would strongly advise at least a two night stay in order to experience it fully.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 665Glenys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I am glad that I am not staying more than two days as I would come away far bigger than I am now. Anuja and Kurian are great hosts and the food is superb with lots of Keralan dishes to try. Breakfast this morning was lovely with string hoppers, local honey, steamed bananas, and tapioca with a light chili sambal, together with toast and freshly made banana jam.
The Homestay consists of two very large rooms in the original plantation building - beautifully decorated in Keralan style - high ceilings, shutters, huge rooms, slow undulating fans reminiscent of L'Indochine. Large modern bathrooms are attached to each room with plenty of hot water. Last night our host, Kurian, took us to visit the local beekeeper, and this morning we have been on a walking tour of the rubber plantation (most enjoyable), and then a tuk tuk ride through the local village. Lunch was again a wonderful meal. If you are coming to Kerala then this is a must do - so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koko1australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Shortly after arriving at Kalaketty we were taken for a tour of the property and our gracious host Mr Kurian who explained the workings of a rubber plantation. Then the heavens opened but that did not deter us as the atmosphere is amazing.
We had the best experience staying in one of the two beautifully appointed rooms (almost apartment The bedroom cum lounge also has a small study or reading room and bathroom) The lower level room looks onto a beautiful lawn while the upstairs apartment has a view over the vegetable garden. The rooms are exceptionally clean and spacious.
Meals are a treat of Keralan food and Anuja and her chef treated us to delicacies we never found again.
Mr Kurien and his lovely wife Anuja were very informative about the area and culture and it was wonderful to have the privilege to have dinner in their lovely home and share stories.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annalize T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

For two days we were welcomed in to the hosts family. In this beautiful part of Kerala we went for morning walks with them, toured their rubber plantation, and visited the countryside. They made us feel like part of the family. For foodies such as us we were amazed by the home cooked Kerala cuisine that was truly delicious. This place is out in the country where you will not hear a peep all night and have an absolutely restful sleep.

David

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Hot_Fudge_Sundae99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kottayam hotels
0.0 km away
Kuttickattil Gardens Homestay
30.3 km away
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
#1 of 28 in Kottayam
675 reviews
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 km away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#4 of 28 in Kottayam
180 reviews
27.8 km away
Homestead Hotel
Homestead Hotel
#14 of 28 in Kottayam
17 reviews
27.8 km away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#2 of 28 in Kottayam
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalaketty Estate Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaketty Estate Homestay

Property: Kalaketty Estate Homestay
Address: Pottamkulam, Kottayam 686508, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Kottayam
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,500 - ₹ 11,500
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Kalaketty Estate Homestay Kottayam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing