We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A FIND IN THE RUBBER PLANTATION”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kottayam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kalaketty Estate Homestay
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A FIND IN THE RUBBER PLANTATION”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Shortly after arriving at Kalaketty we were taken for a tour of the property and our gracious host Mr Kurian who explained the workings of a rubber plantation. Then the heavens opened but that did not deter us as the atmosphere is amazing.
We had the best experience staying in one of the two beautifully appointed rooms (almost apartment The bedroom cum lounge also has a small study or reading room and bathroom) The lower level room looks onto a beautiful lawn while the upstairs apartment has a view over the vegetable garden. The rooms are exceptionally clean and spacious.
Meals are a treat of Keralan food and Anuja and her chef treated us to delicacies we never found again.
Mr Kurien and his lovely wife Anuja were very informative about the area and culture and it was wonderful to have the privilege to have dinner in their lovely home and share stories.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annalize T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

For two days we were welcomed in to the hosts family. In this beautiful part of Kerala we went for morning walks with them, toured their rubber plantation, and visited the countryside. They made us feel like part of the family. For foodies such as us we were amazed by the home cooked Kerala cuisine that was truly delicious. This place is out in the country where you will not hear a peep all night and have an absolutely restful sleep.

David

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Hot_Fudge_Sundae99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

We arrived to a warm welcome from Anuja and shown around their beautiful home. The room we had was amazing, huge with a wonderful wooden ceiling with a study off, facing the vegetable garden. The food was out of this world, we were there for two days and felt we had been given a tour of Keralan food - exceptional! Kurien showed us around the estate and took us to the local Benedictine monastery where we met the abbot who was busy mucking out the chickens, he asked us if we knew Ampleforth which we had just been talking about, he had been there twice.
This was a wonderful stay, Anju & Kurien are a quiet and very interesting couple, we very soon found common ground to talk about. This is an ideal place to relax and rewind the batteries from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarcutta, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Having stayed in a number of very good hotels, guesthouses and clubs in a three week odyssey around Kerala and Tamil Nadu, Kalaketty Estate stood out as the best of the best. If you are looking for a peaceful retreat with welcoming and very generous hosts; clean, spacious and well appointed accommodation which reeks of history; superb meals (quite the best we experienced in South India) then you will not do better than Kalaketty Estate. Kurian and Anuja are a delightful couple - urbane and insightful, we enjoyed getting to know them over our four day stay and through them learning about many aspects of Indian life and culture. We look forward to a return visit sometime in the future. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Exceptionally spacious and comfortable accommodation set this property apart from your typical hotel. Beautifully appointed homestay with fantastic food. Adjacent to the family home and overlooking the estate, was interesting to learn about rubber production. Absolute peace and quiet was a welcome retreat from everyday life. For this reason would suit couples wanting to unwind and relax with not much to do. The stream across the old paddy field was a pleasant and refreshing surprise.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Straddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kottayam hotels
0.0 km away
Kuttickattil Gardens Homestay
30.3 km away
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
#1 of 28 in Kottayam
675 reviews
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 km away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#4 of 28 in Kottayam
179 reviews
27.8 km away
Homestead Hotel
Homestead Hotel
#14 of 28 in Kottayam
17 reviews
27.8 km away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#2 of 28 in Kottayam
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalaketty Estate Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaketty Estate Homestay

Property: Kalaketty Estate Homestay
Address: Pottamkulam, Kottayam 686508, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Kottayam
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,500 - ₹ 11,500
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Kalaketty Estate Homestay Kottayam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing