We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“genuine ayurvedic way wellness program”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“genuine ayurvedic way wellness program”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife and myself went there to try out remedy for our osteoarthritis and waistline obesity problem.Being allopathic physicians we were well aware what allopathic medicine has to offer.We also had a very hectic 3 weeks at Kathmandu,Kolkata and Ranchi.
So these two weeks gave us everything we needed for rejuvenation.
Rural area away from usual largely populated Indian city-no loudspeaker noise,no disel fumes.
Large size rooms with mosquito screens in windows,funtioning a/C,hot water.
Most important was medical(ayurvedic care)The physician ,s diagnostic acumen,management skill was superb.His daily visit-never rushed ,supervision of massage therapy aspect-all these made us feel good at the end of two weeks.
Diet followed the rules of Ayurvedic treatment(classical)-no caffeine,no sugar totally vegeterian for all in my case somewhat more restricted and modified-we liked this total approach.
We are seriously considering a stay for couple weeks every couple of years just for maintenance and tune up.

Room Tip: any of the cottages along the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dipubuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    94
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
111
123
343
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ascoli
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I have been to India on several occasions to receive ayurvedic treatment. This year (2012) my preferred centre couldn't accommodate me on the dates I required so I cast around and found Athreya Resort. Wow - did I land on my feet. This location is the place to make you feel at home whilst you are having your treatment, Dr Sreejit immediately sussed out my problems, worked out the treatment required and before I knew it I was on the table in the hands of the therapists. The obvious care and attention of the doctors, the skilled work of the therapists, the kindness and attention of the reception, catering and domestic staff was first class. The location is tranquil and green, the accommodation comfortable and private and all leading to a pleasing outcome. Above all though is the skilled, dedicated and effective medical attention provided by Dr Sreejit and his wife Dr Jayalakshmi ,

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kobrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondicherry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

What a lovely experience! The place itself is laid back, quiet and peaceful. Just the birds in the mornings--- I used to love hearing them while taking my morning walk. No horns or any other noise at all. We would have our yoga class at 8 am which was very good and relaxing. This was followed by a yummy breakfast of traditional Kerala food- my favourite meal of the day.
The treatments would carry on through the day, each guest going through 2 or 3 sessions according to their needs. The doctor couple running the centre are wonderful. Very committed and sincere.
I did not feel alone or bored for even a moment as I had a great deal to do, read and just chill!
The treatment has helped me and I plan to return there next march.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nimi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Out of my expectation on the lovely and organic settings of the whole resort. DR Sreejit and Dr Jaya its been great help to bring one back to good health. The staff are warmth and friendly and the treatments are great. Fully equipped with all amenities and yet surrounded by nature paddie fields lovely villagers and of course yummy healthy Ayurvedic food. Keep up the good work and sure will return with my families.. All the best

PHPC, Malaysia

Room Tip: All rooms are unique with or without ac
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was my fourth visit in the past 4 years and this time I stayed for 5 weeks. Dr. Sreejit as usual was wonderful. His wealth of knowledge, energy, personal care and friendliness always amazes me. My diabetes was under control the whole time I was there. He also used a special oil burn treatment to get rid of a nodule in my shoulder blade that was irritating me for the longest time. I had a similar thing done on the back of my knees last year and to this day, there is no pain in that particular spot. The staff was wonderful and the cook is a lovely elderly lady that takes pride in what she cooks. The food was delicious.
Now the sad part:
There seems to be a general lack of care and maintenance around the place. small items that were not working or broken a year ago were still in the same condition. Once identified, they were rectified immediately. However there does not seem to be a check list of items to check i.e. the A/C in the room, the door handles, the toilets in the treatment room.
The unkempt treatment room is not acceptable. Constantly had to ensure that they were using clean towels. They were definitely short staffed to handle the number of people there. The treatment rooms were short of basic amenities like enough towels, pillows etc. It appears that the emphasis is on cutting cost on staff and basic amenities. It appeared that the screen in the treatment room had not been cleaned for a year. They need to ask themselves as to why there is such a staff turn over.
A word of advice, if you are planning to visit, I suggest you arrange your own transportation as it is cheaper than going through the clinic. The same goes for arranging a boat ride in the back waters. Not sure if the extra money charged by the taxi drivers is for the taxi drivers or for the clinic.
I have identified the above items to Dr. Sreejit and have no doubt that he will make the necessary changes as the place has tremendous potential if the organization does not get too greedy for small commissions and small amounts as opposed to concentrating on repeat customers.
I will keep in touch with Sreejit to find out how the place is progressing and will base my decision on coming back based on what I find.

Room Tip: If you are going in Dec or Jan, you don't need a room with A/C. You may save some money that way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank firozpirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kottayam
25.6 km away
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort
11.0 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
713 reviews
13.4 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#4 of 28 in Kottayam
179 reviews
12.0 km away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,711 reviews
11.2 km away
The Zuri Kumarakom
The Zuri Kumarakom
#6 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athreya Ayurvedic Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athreya Ayurvedic Centre

Property: Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
Address: Pakkil, Kottayam 686001, India (Formerly Athreya Ayurvedic Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,332 - ₹ 17,305
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Athreya Ayurvedic Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athreya Ayurvedic Hotel
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre Kottayam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing